Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars368
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

When this film was released back in 96' We'd already seen
the early 'Star War' movies, which had impressive graphics at that time.
When they came to make 'independence day' film makers
were experimenting with new technology which at that time
was pretty realistic and set a 'benchmark' for future film
makers to improve upon.( we all know they have )
At the time the 'special effects were more than impressive..
The film -
'Giant' alien craft hover above significant locations
around the globe,they are hell- bent on wiping out both life
and the infra-structure of planet earth.
Attempts to communicate with the uninvited visitors proves
futile.
'Wlll smith' as Captain Steven Hiller to the rescue with a little
help from 'Randy Quaid' as 'Russell Casse'
Seriously this is a fast moving and very enjoyable movie
experience, plenty of, sometimes tongue-in-cheek action
sequences.
Blu-ray upgrade is pretty good.
A Sci-fi adventure always worth re-visiting occasionally.

INDEPENDENCE DAY - INCLUDING 'RESTORED' THEATRICAL AND EXTENDED VERSION (released 30/5/2016)
(Two-Disc)
Well worth the investment whether like myself you already own the original Blu-ray release....
The picture quality upgrade (restored) is superb.
Ahead of the release of 'INDEPENDENCE DAY'- 'RESURGENCE' (a preview of which is included on -board this
release) this, certainly worthy of a re-watch.
FEATURES (Disc One)
ID4 Datastream Trivia Track (Theatrical Version)
Commentary by Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin (Theatrical and Extended Cuts
Commentary by Oscar-Winning Special-Effects Supervisors Volker Engel and Doug Smith (Theatrical and Extended Cuts)
(Disc Two)
All-New 30 Minute Documentary - INDEPENDENCE DAY : A LEGACY SURGING FORWARD
Gag Reel
Creating Reality
ID4 Invasion 'Mock-Umentary
The Making of ID4
Combat Review
Monitor Earth Broadcasts
Gallery
99 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Although I already have a Blu-ray version of Independence Day it only contained the Theatrical version and almost no special features. I am very pleased to have obtained this version as it contains both the Theatrical and Extended versions plus a whole load of special features including a recent look back at the making of the movie. Plus it was a whole lot cheaper. One sad note since the movies original release two of the main stars are no longer with us. James Rebhorn who played Secretary of Defence Nimzicki died in 2014 and Robert Loggia who played General Grey died in 2015 both will be sadly missed. I highly recommend this version even if like me you already own the other.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Folks . .this is incredible . it looks like it was filmed yesterday. the film is incredible .. glorious colours and sound. I can't recommend it enough .. it out does the last bluray version by miles and for only £7 it's a steal. If you've ever wanted to see a Earth v aliens film .. get this one ..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Independence Day is arguably one of the greatest SF disaster movies of all time. With REM’s ‘It’s the end of the world’ sampled near the beginning of the movie, you definitely know that Roland Emmerich’s view about alien encounters is more akin to War of the Worlds than E.T. Filled with stunning special effects, stirring music, unpretentious sentimentality and laced with good natured humour there is no need to bemoan the lack of character development or obvious narrative coincidences. There is no pretence at being a great cinematic masterpiece examining deep philosophical themes. This is a two hour long, ludicrously enjoyable, preposterously pompous, unbelievably incredible ‘backs against the wall’ slice of SF fantasy which still entertains after numerous viewings. Having just watched this again a few weeks after watching Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar I had to smile when I noticed that President Bill Pullman and senior NASA scientist Michael Caine both quoted or paraphrased Dylan Thomas’ “Do not go gentle into that good night”. Highly recommended for a first or repeat viewing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Terrific new release of an old favourite!

Two discs containing the two versions of the film (which I never understood why the extended cut was missing from the original Blu-ray release anyway), with the commentaries which are present on the original release and the data track, plus a second disc which from memory contains most of the material on the older 'Definitive Edition' DVD Fox put out a few years back, and also a new 30 minute featurette (which in fairness is mostly talking heads from those cast members returning for 'Resurgence' and isn't worth getting on it's own).

The film looks and sounds tremendous on Blu-ray (now remastered although it looked great on it's previous Blu-ray release anyway), and although I've seen and enjoyed it as a great big old slice of B movie nonsense for years, I'm just happy to have the extended version finally.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Great picture, but sound a little disappointing considering this is digitally remastered - needs more volume and punch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
This is not a review of the film itself but the disc. First of I have the Sony BDPS370 player and this disc won't play. It freezes as soon as you select which version of the film you want to watch. I bought a copy from Sainsbury's and then exchanged it for a new one and the same problem again! I've done some digging and found the way that 20th Century Fox have produced the disc is causing problems for a lot of Sony blu-ray players. Untill they fix the issue I'm not going to bother with any more Fox titles..

Does anyone else have these issues then please shout.
77 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2007
Independence Day is made in the style and tradition of the 50's B-movies like "It Came From Outer Space". It's not supposed to be a deep philosophical discussion about Man Against The Universe, nor an attempt to seriously visualize the possible consequences of alien invasion. It's meant to be good fun, watching Our Heroes struggle valiantly against The Evil Alien Hordes. This is brain candy, not brain food. Accept it as such and enjoy it. If you're looking for Proust in film form, you're doomed to disappointment. If you're not, then you should be able to enjoy the White House being blown up, a jarhead fighter jock gloating as he gets to drive something really cool, and yes, even the cheesy reference to 2001: A Space Odyessey" and the concept of a Powerbook being able to bring down an alien computer network should not dampen your enjoyment. Take it for what it is - fluff made on a big scale.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Arrived in good time and excellently packaged (as always with Amazon), love Will Smith so loved this film, it has everything, humour, great effects, love interest and action scenes, this is a great film to watch with family or friends, would highly recommend!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
The best bluray transfer and great movie. Watching this when young, own VHS Tape. Took 20 yrs to own on BD. Time stand still the best movie ever. Thank you Amazon.uk for making this movie available in region free with lowest price than local store.
review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.