Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just A Pretty Face
I was a teenager when I first watched Clueless on VHS and at 27, I still love it. You might not think that a film about a rich teenage girl living in California sounds like a classic, but I assure you, you're wrong. This film is simply one of a kind. No film has been made since Clueless that even comes close to it. It is loosely based on Jane Austen's Emma, a premise...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by Luce

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whatever edition?
I enjoyed the move 'Clueless'.

However, I was duped when I bought the 'Whatever!' Edition! It has the end cut off and finishes too early, compared to the original movie.

Buy the original not the 'Whatever!' edition just because it has a 'cool' title and pretty pink box! Get the full movie.
Published on 3 May 2012 by THMS


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just A Pretty Face, 19 Oct 2009
By 
I was a teenager when I first watched Clueless on VHS and at 27, I still love it. You might not think that a film about a rich teenage girl living in California sounds like a classic, but I assure you, you're wrong. This film is simply one of a kind. No film has been made since Clueless that even comes close to it. It is loosely based on Jane Austen's Emma, a premise that you might think sounds bizarre in an American film set in Beverly Hills High, but it actually works quite well. Alicia Silverstone is 15 year-old Cher, a girl who thinks she knows everything. She successfully plays matchmaker to two lonely teachers, while kindly takes new girl Tai (Brittany Murphy) under her wing and gives her a makeover while attempting to set her up with one of her friends, Elton, who has a thing for Cher himself. Then there's her relationship with Josh who is about as different from her as can be, and her best friend Dionne, who constantly has guy drama in her life. Somehow, this film doesn't look dated in spite of the passing of time since it was first released, though of course some of the fashion has. But in a weird way, it sort of works.
What makes Clueless stand out has a lot to do with the wonderful characters and of course the script. It's much smarter than most films aimed at 'young' audiences today but it doesn't try to be. Clueless makes me feel safe. It's a world of sunshine, palm trees, shopping sprees and friendships in which nothing bad really happens. Watch it, escape and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful, very enjoyable, very clever film, 20 Feb 2007
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clueless [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
'Clueless' is an adaptation of Jane Austen's 'Emma', transferred to an American high school. It is beautifully scripted and directed (by Amy Heckerling), and all the main elements in the book are very naturally and convincingly paralleled. There's a first-rate central performance from Alicia Silverstone as Cher, the well-meaning but naive and managing Emma equivalent with Paul Rudd a good foil to her in the Knightley role. Special mention for Dan Hedaya as Cher's Dad, a high-powered lawyer putting in a lugubrious but in the end kindly portrayal. But the whole cast are good and there's some very nice ensemble playing. It's something of a feel-good film - nothing wrong with that - but genuinely witty and fresh. Very enjoyable, well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Anniversary Re-release for a modern classic, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I can't get enough of Clueless, despite recently being told I shouldn't like it because it's a "girl film". It's right at the top of the teen movie pile alongside Dazed And Confused and The Breakfast Club. What little story there is (courtesy of Jane Austen) is padded out with great dialogue (the film has an exceptionally high rate of gags), hilarious characters and plenty to identify with, if you live in California in the nineties and are rich. That cheap criticism aside, seriously, the film's classic, a really rewatchable comedy, so if it's £4 or so, definitely pick the DVD up.

Ah, the DVD. 10th Anniversary or thereabouts equals new interviews are retrospective featurettes on everything from casting to vocabulary (much maligned since, remarkably fresh at the time) with input from all the key players except for, predictably, Alicia Silverstone, who was presumably busy filming...er...Excess Baggage 2? Seriously though, based on her performance in this film alone, Silverstone should have been a HUGE star, but one bad choice led to another and soon enough she was fighting Arnie alongside Bat-Clooney and hasn't made anything noteworthy since. Director Amy Heckerling (female Tim Burton) has plenty to say, as do Breckin Meyer, Stacy Dash (28 when filming!) and the rest, plus there's plenty of archive footage if you need your Sliverstone fix.

This movie is an easy watch for obvious reasons, and the extras on offer manage to remain informative without slipping into "he's so great, she's so great" territory. A great few hours' entertainment then, even if it is a "girl film".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great combination, 22 Jun 2003
I thought this combination of films was great for all lovers of romantic comedy. Clueless tells the story of a rich girl in Beverley Hills, who, along with her well to do friends, learns a lesson or two in life and love, and eventually, inevitably finds true love herself. Clueless had me laughing all the way through, and is worth watching over and over again.
Save the Last Dance is another feel-good film, with a wider range of emotions drawn in. It stars Julia Stiles, playing a ballet dancer who has to move to Chicago following her mother's death. Away from the life she has known, she vows never to dance again, until she meets someone who teaches her not only to dance, but to love as well. This was a fantastic film, with great music and cool dance moves. Some moments I laughed, others I cried. Definitely a must-see movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adaptation, 22 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Clueless [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
A wonderful up to date retelling of Jane Austen's, 'Emma'. Cher (Silverstone) has a privileged life, she goes to a great school and is popular along with her good friend Dionne (Dash).
She lives with her widowed father (Hedaya) and the only pebble under her perfectly manicured feet is her ex step-brother Josh (Rudd).
Cher loves to play matchmaker and can't resist the challenge when she meets the new girl in school, Ty, who isn't exactly 'popular' material at first glance. Having taken her under her wing and given her a complete makeover, Cher then tries to match her up with various boys.
This is alright until Ty takes a fancy to Josh and then Cher suddenly realises that she has feelings for him herself - but who will get the man?
Silverstone is absolutely fantastic in this film. She handles the difficult role SO well and you can't help but really like Cher and want her to get the man of her dreams for all her obvious flaws.
Add a brilliant combination of comedy, both oneliners and visual, and the fact that it's literally such a colourful movie and you've got yourself a film that will leave you smiling for ages afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Teen movie combo!, 21 July 2003
Who can ask for more with the classic comedic activities of Cher and Dionne with their makeover magic and the more intellectual film Save the Last Dance to create an unstoppable combination.
Starring Alicia Silverstone, Clueless shows how seemingly materialistic and popular teenager girls actually have a heart of gold.
Save the Last Dance, by far the best of the two has several themes running through the film regarding racism, tolerance and acceptance and how determination means you can achieve your dreams.
Why have you given it four stars I hear you say?
Well, I would however say that these films (Clueless in particular) are aimed at the female population though I'm sure if the men had their girlfriends cuddling up to them they wouldn't mind what they watched, even if they really would prefer Die Hard or Terminator!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Anniversary Re-release for a modern classic, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clueless [DVD] (DVD)
I can't get enough of Clueless, despite recently being told I shouldn't like it because it's a "girl film". It's right at the top of the teen movie pile alongside Dazed And Confused and The Breakfast Club. What little story there is (courtesy of Jane Austen) is padded out with great dialogue (the film has an exceptionally high rate of gags), hilarious characters and plenty to identify with, if you live in California in the nineties and are rich. That cheap criticism aside, seriously, the film's classic, a really rewatchable comedy, so if it's £4 or so, definitely pick the DVD up.

Ah, the DVD. 10th Anniversary or thereabouts equals new interviews are retrospective featurettes on everything from casting to vocabulary (much maligned since, remarkably fresh at the time) with input from all the key players except for, predictably, Alicia Silverstone, who was presumably busy filming...er...Excess Baggage 2? Seriously though, based on her performance in this film alone, Silverstone should have been a HUGE star, but one bad choice led to another and soon enough she was fighting Arnie alongside Bat-Clooney and hasn't made anything noteworthy since. Director Amy Heckerling (female Tim Burton) has plenty to say, as do Breckin Meyer, Stacy Dash (28 when filming!) and the rest, plus there's plenty of archive footage if you need your Sliverstone fix.

This movie is an easy watch for obvious reasons, and the extras on offer manage to remain informative without slipping into "he's so great, she's so great" territory. A great few hours' entertainment then, even if it is a "girl film".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Clueless [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
I love this film. It's just so totally great. My best friend at College and I got a terrible reputation for wondering around going "whatever" and "I totally love that....".And yes, Cher is daft as a brush, but you can't help liking her. Shallow can be good.And let's not foget the adorable Josh - now you KNOW why you don't date high school boys. There are so many brilliant moments it's hard to pick a few out, but how about:Cher's Dad to Christain:"If anything happens to my daughter I've got a 44 and a shovel. I doubt anyone would miss you."That smile that Josh gives her in the car, which you get a slo-mo of later on. And when Cher goes off to the party in the little white dress and Josh looks sick with jealousy.Watch it, buy it, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're the kids in Beverly, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Light as a cupcake but capturing, in its carefree way, the 90s zeitgeist, Clueless is probably what a lot of teen films aspire to be. It succeeds where many fail because it has a smart, witty script and kind approach to its characters. Its only real flaw is that it ends just as it's beginning: it's mostly first and no second act, so just as the story's problems are developing - soured friendships, work crises etc. - it immediately resolves them to have a nice scene before the credit roll. But despite that, Clueless is an excellent piece of escapist comedy. Those who allege that it's too superficial miss the point. Like Jane Austen's Emma, which it borrows its basic narrative from, Clueless seeks humour and romance in an insular world, and in my opinion finds them.
Alicia Silverstone plays Cher, a Beverly Hills high schooler who lives in luxury and doesn't have sharp eyes for consequence, but is a charming girl whose shallowness hides intelligence. Her best friend is Dionne (Stacey Dash), and together they "adopt" a socially clueless classmate, Tai (the late Brittany Murphy), to turn her into a popular girl. This charitable endeavour is inspired by Cher's newfound matchmaking abilities, though she doesn't seem to realise a budding affection in her own life, between herself and her idealistic ex-stepbrother, Josh (Paul Rudd).
Silverstone is perfect as Cher because she manages to balance adorability with silliness. Cher's a sheltered rich girl, but she's sweet and clever in a way which a lot of similar characters from other teen films aren't. Her dad (Dan Hedaya) is a gruff but deeply caring man and Josh is capably played by Rudd, who's made a career playing flawed nice guys. Murphy was a gifted comic actress, so watching her, in the light of her death, is somewhat bittersweet. Breckin Meyer plays a kind stoner, and Jeremy Sisto a popular boy. Donald Faison, best known as Dr. Chris Turk on Scrubs, plays a similar but broader character here; he's Dionne's boyfriend. Noted actor and playwright Wallace Shawn shows up as a lonely teacher, and is typically great.
Plenty of delightful romantic confusions keep Clueless rolling, like Cher's doomed "seduction" of a handsome classmate (Justin Walker). The script is packed with dialogue much subtler and funnier than it needs to be, as when Cher says: "Isn't my house classic? The columns date all the way back to 1972." At its core Clueless is a gentle satire of 90s teenage culture, just as Emma was a satire of early 19th-century middle-class culture. It's featherlight almost to a fault and doesn't care about drama so much as funny lines spoken by nice people. Sometimes that's all I want from a film. There's a great, unspoken misunderstanding that romantic comedies need to be stupid. Clueless, which is smarter than a new pin, proves that notion wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is 'way cool!', 24 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. Sheryl Andrews "A customer" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clueless [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This film is absolute genius!!!! There is simply nothing bad I could say about it. I watched it last year with my 15 year old and my two 12 year old daughters - they absolutely loved it!!! As did I, even their dad, who is sooo not into chick flicks enjoyed it.
Alicia Silverstone sparkles as Cher, the match making 15 year old high schooler who has shopping and boys on her mind!!! With a great supporting cast including Stacey Dash a Cher's best friend, the popular and funny Dionne, Brittany Murphy as a dowdy transfer student, Tai, whom Cher and Dionne give a total make over to, Jeremy Sisto as Elton, Tai's love interest who holds a torch for Cher, Paul Rudd as her 'Baldwin' ex stepbrother Josh and Dan Hedaya as Cher's scary but well meaning lawyer father.
The whole cast are absolutely brilliant, they are play their parts absolutely spot on perfection!!!
The outfits are fab-u-lous and the script is sharp and clever, you just can't help but laugh out loud from start to finish!!!
Even if you don't like chick flicks, you'll find it impossible to resist this!!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clueless [VHS]
Clueless [VHS] by Amy Heckerling (VHS Tape - 1996)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews