Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2014
Really interesting - some of the meanings/sayings/words are quite well known, others are not. Worth a look if you are interested in classic ships or the English language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
A brilliant book that explains the origins of many of the phrases we use in every day life but never consider where these sometimes odd phrases originate!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I bought this book as a present for a young friend about to join the Navy. He loved it, as did his parents and thought it was informative and fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
excellent book as descibed and very good service. very enlighteniing and informative for those enquiring the origin of english words and phrases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
i brought this book along with another one as a gift the person was very happy with them and said they would recommend these books to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Not bad, interesting in places; missed out 'crossing the bar', to signify death !

A good stocking filler, for an old sailor !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Very informative book, and a very very good read. A lot of the content was unknown to me, and I enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Bought for a sailing man but have a copy ourselves and find it fascinating reading even if you are not into boats
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
My husband is ex navy and loved this book.Good little stocking filler for Christmas, if you are stuck for ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Very interesting and informative, I bought it as a gift but flicking through I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)