Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent authentic instrument set of Haydn Symphonies, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
This 32 CD set of Haydn Symphonies is excellent. The Academy of Ancient Music with Christopher Hogwood have done a great job with these period instrument recordings.
There is clear attention to detail in authentic sound.
Recorded over many years, the Symphonies sound fabulous in the hands of Hogwood and the Academy of Ancient Music. There are the familiar symphonies of course, but also here we get to see the brilliance of the earlier works. All of the Symphonies are fantastic and this extensive set takes us through the works in correct order of composition. Even though the Symphony numbers do not run Chronologically. This is mainly down to publication of the compositions.
We get to see the progression of compositional style as we work our way through the recordings.
The attention to detail and the sound recording is excellent.
Each disc is in a light card sleeve,and all of the discs are housed in a smart card box that is about 2 and a half inches thick.
This is an ideal way to collect most but not all the Symphonies by Haydn and you cannot go wrong with this release. It is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Webster's detailed programme notes downloadable., 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
As others have already confirmed, this is a very welcome gathering of the late Christopher Hogwood's l'Oiseau Lyre recordings of Haydn symphonies (bar 76 and 77 which were later released as a BBC Music Magazine cover disc). I have but one thing to add, and that is to repeat more prominently a point I made in a comment to an earlier customer review above, that is that James Webster's excellent detailed notes which were not included in this re-issue can be found in pdf format at http://christermalmberg.se/files/pdf/musik/verkkommentarer/haydn_joseph_the_symphonies_volume_1-10.pdf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished monument and well worth exploring, 3 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because DECCA refused to finish the project, one of the more shameful episodes in the scaling back of the production of CDs at the end of the 1990s CD boom. Honestly, if they had even sanctioned the completion up to the start of the Paris Symphonies - three more discs- they'd have been doing us all a favour (plenty 'period' performances of the symphonies after that). Symphonies 76 and 77 were recorded, at least, and were released on a very valuable BBC Music Magazine cover disc a few years back, so its a shame they haven't apparently been included in this re-release (another reason for withholding that other star).
I'm sure listeners have different tastes in Haydn performance, but these are by and large absorbing performances, with fascinating sonority even if you are used to more turbo-charged playing in, for example, some of the Sturm und Drang examples. All repeats are taken, which means some slow movements in particular are very extended, the symphonies take up more discs than usual, and perhaps they lose some of their accepted character as shortish and fun as a result. Here many of them are as long or longer than most of the Beethoven symphonies and Hogwood forces us to hear them differently, whether we like it or not, as extended (and of course entertaining) artworks rather than as frothy entertainments, precursors of something more serious and elaborate.
The original issues included very interesting and detailed notes by James Webster that I don't think you'll get here. Perhaps the length and care going on in this project preclude some of the excitement you might get elsewhere, and there is some controversy over the forces used for the earlier symphonies (quite small, and some would prefer firmer bass-lines than this makes possible). Haydn might of course have preferred larger forces for all his symphonies up to the ones numbered in the late 70s (the first for public performance), but this set takes the line of trying to do them with forces plausibly available to the composer in his real performing life.
I notice that Mr Hurwitz on Classicstoday has written a typically arrogant and derisive review of this set already. To my mind some of his own preferences in Haydn performance are distinctly odd, or at least arguable, but his churlishness at such bounty reminds me of the context of the 1990s when this set was originally cancelled. It was a time when so many discs were being recorded by everybody that most people didn't see the writing on the wall for beautifully documented products by the then major labels. So a great deal of nit-picking ensued of many discs we would be lucky to have issued now. A few years later, after the demise of several Haydn series, Adam Fischer's set on Brilliant classics was, correspondingly over-praised as a complete Haydn symphony set suddenly seemed like an improbable luxury.. Go figure. I like the Fischer set and have it, but it has some serious problems of its own. If Hogwood released all of this now as a complete set, I'm sure reactions would be rather different, if of course still mixed. If you like Haydn, I'd suggest this is pretty essential, as you will have other recordings, but not so many that realise the full potential of their scale and of course for many of them without that period sonority. I should add, as some find this essential info, there is no harpsichord or fortepiano continuo. I prefer it this way, as does Hurwitz, funnily enough, but others may not. Anyhow, its a classic of the supposed crisis of the classical music industry back then, so it is a historical set in more ways than one....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars mr Hogwood, 2 stars Amazon, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
Christopher Hogwood's Haydn recordings in 80's/90's were always the choice for me, still have the LPs. But surely you wouldn't buy this set without knowing what's in the box. Luckily amazon italia had the sense to list: http://www.amazon.it/Symphonies-Hogwood-Christopher/dp/B009LNI0T0/ref=sr_1_2?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1353495836&sr=1-2&tag=umusic-classic-21 . Some glaring admissions as other reviewers point out. At least 100 is there, a personal favourite. A heck of a bargain at the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hearing is beleiving and Thanks Amazon, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
I ordered this box set and find out that cd 1 and 15 have the same cd and the replcement cd has the same fault.I contacted Amazon and gave a generous of 20 percent if I still want the Box set which I did.Now I am impressed first with the sound of the recording and also the way it was conducted.It is joy to listened to these symphonies and it is highly recommended to those who was put off of Haydn symphonies in the past.Buy it and it is an investment for life.The price that Amazon offered is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haydn Symphonies - incomplete :(, 14 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
Fabulous playing throughout this cycle but this is NOT the completed symphonies as the project was cancelled :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
Beautiful music played wonderfully, no less than would be expected from Christopher Hogwood and the academy of Ancient Music. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best boxed sets of Haydn Symphonies available, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
markason (Port Orchard, Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
Christopher Hogwood and the Academy of Ancient Music have recorded a wonderful set of Haydn Symphonies. Even though it contains 32 CDs it is not quite "complete" -- because cost-cutting measures prevented the project from being finished -- but it is still my favorite among the recordings that observe performance practices appropriate to Haydn's era. The Academy musicians are superb and play these symphonies with spirit. Everything is recorded in immaculate sound that is clear, natural and balanced. This set seems to be going out-of-print and is likely to become scarce. If you have an interest in this collection and are able to find it at a good price, you may want to buy it soon.

As of December 2014, Italian Amazon [Amazon.it] is offering this set at 44.08, which at present currency rates is only £35.00 or $55.00 USD. Since I'm not able to read Italian I can't provide much helpful advice on navigating your way through a purchase on Amazon.it, but it would be well worth the effort, since this is the lowest price I have seen anywhere at any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
Excellent recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: Symphonies (Audio CD)
excellent box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haydn: Symphonies
Haydn: Symphonies by J. Haydn (Audio CD - 2015)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews