Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest compilation albums I've ever heard, in any genre
The Weeknd is an unconventional RnB singer (similar to artists like Drake and Frank Ocean) who came to the music scene around the start of 2011 by offering a free mixtape to the public, titled 'House of Balloons'. It was a rather unknown release at the time, but word of mouth spread about this eerie but hauntingly beautiful body of work. As a free album the production...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by D. Diep

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One good CD, changed compared to original.
Out of all 3 CDs, only the first one is worth listening imho. And it's changed comapred to original mp3 released for free on the internet. I liked original versions better.
Published 23 months ago by P. Olchowik


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest compilation albums I've ever heard, in any genre, 12 Nov 2012
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
The Weeknd is an unconventional RnB singer (similar to artists like Drake and Frank Ocean) who came to the music scene around the start of 2011 by offering a free mixtape to the public, titled 'House of Balloons'. It was a rather unknown release at the time, but word of mouth spread about this eerie but hauntingly beautiful body of work. As a free album the production values were just as good, if not better, than a commercial album, and its themes of betrayal, sex and drugs over hynoptic, indie-sampled beats combined with arguably his strong asset - his clear, resonating falsetto - made for one of the best rnb releases in recent memory. This is an artist that has set out his own genre and redefined it to create his own beautiful, haunting sound. Two more mixtapes later, and an increase in hype and popularity, we now have this new reissue containing remastered versions of all the songs in his mixtapes, as well as three brand new songs. In general the remastered versions are very nice indeed, and if you've already treated yourself to his free mixtapes, you'll find that the songs sound fuller, without ruining the feel of the original versions.

Since 'Trilogy' is essentially three albums with three new tracks, I will review them individually and then as a complete body of music. This is so that those who have never heard of the Weeknd's music can get an understanding of his music. However, I highly recommend you listen to this album from start to finish; it's sheer brilliance and creativity is something that new listeners will be taken aback to. It's unlike anything you've heard.

House of Balloons - the first mixtape and arguably the best in terms of scope, roundness and originality. The album starts off with 'High For This', which is a strong way of introducing what music is to come. When the dubstep influences come in, you can't help but feel this 'high' that he is channeling to us through his music. 'What You Need' brings this back down with a chilled feel, and its slow, spaced-out beat is relaxing. 'House of Balloon/Glass Table Girls' is a rather bouncy track with erratic-styled sampling and its transition halfway is unnerving and unexpected, but works so well. 'The Morning' makes you feel exactly that - waking up from a wild, drug-fuelled night. The synths and the eventual beat during the chorus is lovingly hypnotic. The centrepiece of the album is by far 'Wicked Games', a desperate, bass-guitar heavy track about a girl who cannot love him. What makes the track so brilliant is the extremely dark, obsessive lyrics hidden within the undeniably catchy chorus of harmonies. Sampling Beach House, 'The Party & The After Party' is a beautifully long track with perfectly timed beats and singing. 'Coming Down' is a reverb heavy track that sounds just as intoxicating as its title. 'Loft Music' is another favourite of mine that also samples another Beach House track. The melody is used wonderfully, with a head-bopping beat. However the best thing about this is the outro, consisting of haunting, hallow whines and painfully emotional singing. You can feel how passionate he is throughout the whole thing. It lasts for a good 3 minutes, but you just don't want it to stop. 'The Knowing' is a great final song, and The Weeknd sings as though it is near the end of the world. It's deep but powerful at the same time. Bonus track 'Twenty Eight' fits like a glove at the end of this album - "I'm so wrong, I'm so wrong...to let you in my house" - as the chorus is so disturbing but you can't help but appreciate how intelligent these lyrics are. Heartbreak is an issue that the The Weeknd can express so well, almost too well in relation to his songwriting.

Thursday - The second mixtape in his 'Trilogy', begins with 'Lonely Star', which is quite rocky in nature but still manages to capture his sound. It's a very harsh track to listen to. I love the ending of it, where he just sings so softly into the next song on the album. 'Life Of The Party' starts with a girl saying quietly, 'I love the guitars', and then we are unexpectedly shoved into this creepy track with a great chorus and melody. 'Thursday' makes me think of a rainy, depressing day - but the Weeknd's singing really shines on this (although his singing on every other track cannot be understated in any shape or form). 'The Zone' is a beautifully layered track that does not sound too dissimilar to production from The XX. It has an almost heartbeat-like quality throughout - it's one of his best songs. The highlight though goes to when the song starts to fade but then Drake comes on to give a brilliant verse. It's timed so masterfully that I can't imagine the song without his feature. 'The Birds Part 1' is a monster of a track, with a chant-like chorus and marching beats. This is led to 'The Birds Part 2' which is radically different to Part 1; there's a utter sense of emergency throughout it: "Now she bleeding, she's on the floor...she's on the floor"; but this is offset by the playfulness of the song. 'Gone' is a long track filled with techno/electro influences and has an transition in the middle where the beat changes but it still manages to attract your attention in this 8 minute long track. 'Rolling Stone' is the highlight on 'Thursday'. It's simple, minimalistic production, with a guitar melody and occasional, rapid drums leads to The Weeknd's vocals taking center stage - you can really hear how powerful his falsetto sounds towards the end. It's rich in tone and beautiful to listen to. 'Heaven or Las Vegas' is a nice, if a little unmemorable, way to end 'Thursday', although yet again his vocals steal the show. The bonus track 'Valerie' at the end of this album is another example of his utter complexity and brilliance - his vocals in many parts sound exactly like the late Michael Jackson - and I don't say that often, if at all.

Echoes of Silence - his last mixtape and a fitting way to end the trilogy. It starts with 'D.D', and before you are left wondering what this title stands for, it hits you that he is covering an MJ song. It's a terrific take on a classic and he makes it his own. Again, he sounds like MJ - it's like he is channeling his voice from the dead but put his own modern twist to it. It leads on 'Montreal' - a melodic, breathy track with a strong beat and a french chorus. It's so listenable. It transitions perfectly to 'Outside', a oriental-sounding track and a great eerie chorus. 'XO/The Host' is another song that contains essentially two tracks - dark, funky, synth-ridden, but things get even darker when The Host comes on. But it's a great way to introduce the next track, 'Initiation' - possibly The Weeknd's most uncomfortable song to listen to (but in a brilliant way). The song is filled with unexpected pitch changes and unsettling production, and is unlike any other Weeknd song in terms of production. 'Same Old Song' has a chilled feel to it, but is a bit weak compared to standard he's set with other songs. Thankfully this is forgiven by 'The Fall' - Clams Casino did a great job with production here - the creepiness positively leaks at every second of it - the handclaps make the song extremely dark and its undertones are disturbingly good. The ending of the song is nice too. 'The Next' is depressing song but represents the Weeknd as strong as he's ever portrayed himself as. It ends with 'Echoes of Silence', putting the album on a retrospective downer. But it shows his true emotion in his voice - which is ultimately his main asset and strength. The bonus track 'Till Dawn (Here Comes the Sun) is another awesome bonus track that also fits with the feel of EoS - it proves his unique voice and cements him as one of the strongest new artists today.

As a whole body of work, this is an essential listen and purchase. It's not just for RnB fans but fans of music in general. If you can't appreciate how good this collection of music is (at a very respectable price of 30 songs), then it's highly likely that you have very poor taste in music. If you've never listened to him, just start from the beginning to the end. The amount of emotions you will go through - sadness, happiness, euphoria, loneliness, redemption - represents a rare musical journey you will not feel with many albums these days. It's extraordinary, relentless and an obviously bold music statement that everyone should get the chance to listen to.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 2 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
Incredible songs by an incredible artist. This is basically the only thing I listen to after falling in love with the weeknd earlier this year, I recommend everyone listen to the album because you won't regret it! There are also many rumors and signs that there will be another album released soon so keep checking for it! XOTWOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece. Yes it's The Weeknd's three mixtapes put together but nevertheless it's just amazing. Best album I've listen to in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 9/10, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
This album has 3 CD's of 3 mixtapes by The Weeknd which have being mixed and remasterd and sound alot better than the originals, The Weeknd is a highly rated artist in America who is becoming more known around Europe now from working and touring with Drake.

Their is 30 songs in the trilogy, 10 in each disc. Each CD is very different, and each song has a story behind them, well most of them! The Weeknd is rated very closly to Micheal Jackson due to his voice & music. So if you're a fan of MJ, you'll more than likely love The Weeknd! If you like Frank Ocean, Drake or John Legend I would give him a listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
Remastered versions of all of Abel's tunes, noticeably crisper on some tracks than others but I would highly recommend, sick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
Great, probably not as good as Kissland which I just can't get enough of, but still much better than anything else out there. Love this guy, his career has just begun and I can only imagine what amazing albums he will release in the future...very talented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, best album I've heard over the last 5 years!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
A. Mistry (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
Excellent trilogy, whilst I like quite a wide range of music, the type that hits me the most is big bass lines, atmospheric soundtracks and beautiful vocals, these three CDs have all of that in bucket loads. I've just gone through rating each song on my computer, mostly 5s and the odd 4 out of 5, nothing drops below that.

The only gripe could be that it's all a bit samey, however, I like this kind of music. I'll be listening to it every day now for a while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars there's something on this for everyone, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
I can't say enough good things about The Weeknd. This is One (well 3) of the best albums I own. His voice is amazing and his songs are just beautiful. Songs like 'Rolling Stone' and 'Twenty Eight' are just amazing. And there is even a MJ cover on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. N. A. Rose "Nick R" (luton, beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
Properly good, and nicely all-over-the-place.

Suppose the strongest 'hit' songs could be put on one CD. But thats not the point of this collection, more of a personal journey than a wham bang thank you mam.

Amazing voice with songs full of passion, emotion, talent and creativity.

A nice treat was hearing Siouxsie And The Banshees 'happy house' and MJ 'dirty diana' remixed.

My personal faves:
CD 1 - T5 wicked games, T6 The party, T7 Coming down
CD2 - T4 The zone featuring drake
CD3 - last 3 tracks are amazing, for me the best part of the whole trilogy. T8 next, T9 echos of silence, T10 till dawn

Only negative is some songs have gimmicky tricks which detract from the rawnesss and purity, for example the nig*a word feels shoehorned in for no real reason, and 'in fashion' sound/vocal effects which does kinda kill the some songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trilogy (Audio CD)
great album. a lot of good tracks: the morning, the zone, house of balloons, high for this, coming down, wicked games, valerie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trilogy
The Trilogy by The Weeknd (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews