Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Tropico!
Although very similar to it's previous versions, Tropico 4 does have differences which in my opinion makes it a worthwhile purchase

- Campaign mode follows a storyline rather than random missions - less danger of getting bored halfway through the mode since it's a pretty insane story. You also have to make more interactive decisions that correspond with the...
Published on 11 April 2013 by Jelly

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great game but broken
You can't load your saved games. You can not even complete a mission unless you do it in 1 sitting on the xbox version as saved games fail to load and just crash the console. Shame because it is a good game but this makes it unplayable. I contacted support and are aware of the issue but seem to suggest it can't be fixed and that the xbox is not good enough to play...
Published 13 months ago by RiversideChris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great game but broken, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
You can't load your saved games. You can not even complete a mission unless you do it in 1 sitting on the xbox version as saved games fail to load and just crash the console. Shame because it is a good game but this makes it unplayable. I contacted support and are aware of the issue but seem to suggest it can't be fixed and that the xbox is not good enough to play it.

Here is the reply:

Some customers are experiencing issues when trying to load particular savegames of lengthy playsessions but unfortunately, we were unable to reliably reproduce the problem ourselves.

The error should typically affect specific savegames, keeping your overall campaign progress and player statistics intact. You can always restart previously unlocked campaign missions from the "New Game" option in the game's main menu.
The error is most likely caused by the console hardware struggling to process the ammount of data and variables that savegames with big cities and a large population contain.
The only solution to this problem would be to drastically simplify the game resulting in more player limitations, lower population numbers, smaller islands and fewer options to build and shape your cities.

Kalypso Media wishes to apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the ongoing support.

Best regards,

--
Kalypso Media Group GmbH

I should point out I did not have lengthy play sessions nor did I have a big world and I was just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Tropico!, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Although very similar to it's previous versions, Tropico 4 does have differences which in my opinion makes it a worthwhile purchase

- Campaign mode follows a storyline rather than random missions - less danger of getting bored halfway through the mode since it's a pretty insane story. You also have to make more interactive decisions that correspond with the story - far better than the same old questions you always get asked in T3!

- You have more choices to make (e.g creating your own ministry, changing your import threshold) which will be fun to mess around with for life-long fans of the series. There are also a bunch more edicts too!

- Better graphics but not in any outstanding way, just a slight improvement

- Modern times campaign mode - also follows a different storyline but with the Modern Times Buildings included

- The Modern times buildings when unlocked replace the old style buildings (e.g apartment blocks will get replaced with Modern counterparts) - these are always improvements from the previous ones. Only bug-bear is you don't have the choice between the two when unlocked. Generally in campaign mode (unless otherwise stated), when you start a new chapter the building types will reset and you will have to unlock them again during gameplay (which just happens automatically after enough time has passed).

- Sandbox mode is enjoyable as ever, when you turn 'on' modern times buildings, the game expects you to unlock them, again when enough time has passed. I personally bypass this with a cheat because i'm impatient but you'll not be able to collect achievements in cheat mode.

Challenges are similar to Tropico 3s; mostly easy-medium level of difficulty with a couple of really tricky ones

Some Modern times buildings examples are: Shopping Malls, Supermarkets, Diamond Cathedral, Rollercoaster, Aqua Park, Stock Exchange, Bio Farms, Nuclear Power Plant, Wind Turbines, Solar Power Plants, Aerodrome, Rehab Clinic, 7 Star Hotel & Car/Electronic/Weapons Factories to name a few. Industry and Tourism become a lot more fun with the new additions. You also have the addition of a Fire station, Grade School, Horticultural Center and Academy of Science!

I love this game; my only harsh criticism is that Tropico DLC is AWFUL - seriously guys, is it too much to ask for new missions/buildings now and again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars El Presidente's review is in, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I do like the game but having played it for a while now I think I prefer Tropico 3. It's still a good game though and worth a go, but it seems more repetitive than the previous edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
H. P. Scholtens (Utrecht Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
really nice game, great interfaces for Xbox. 1 drawback: no xtra DLC in gold edition, only modern times. Play on !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun game, 30 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I had this game when it first came out, it was fun then and its fun now :) it came quickly and its the gold edition so it even has the modern buildings on too :) i have hours of fun playing this game in the mornings before work :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this is 1 off the best games i have ever played it offers hours of fun for all ages but under the 12 age limit it might be abit confusing for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Presidente!, 20 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played Settlers on the PC from 1 to, oh I think it was 5 or 6, I always remember the simpler versions the best - 1 or 2. Later ones just tried to improve the graphics and forgot the gameplay. On another point, Civilisation on the PC is a master piece but hugely time consuming. So when that came out on the XBox I wondered how they would pull it off, but pull it off they did.

It's easy to think that when you lose the mouse you lose the chance to play these sort of games, but Tropico like Civilization Revolution actually pulls it off with bells on. Loads of fact menus to access, you can pinpoint individuals on the island to find out what they feel and are up to, nice zoom in and out. Once you get used to it you are whizzing over the island, pulling up menus without a thought - JUST how it should be.

And to call it 'simple' is wrong as it can get very deep in terms if what you are doing, but overall the game is simple to play, just hard to master. Early levels have you winning elections, making money for your Swiss bank account and improving tourism - and that is how it works on one part of the game, technically 'missions'.

You can forgo all that though for a sandbox mode, but all in all this is a terrific game for the console owner wanting to dip their toes into this genre of game.

It won't convert everyone. But for the current price of under £15 it is hard to not justify adding this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greta game!, 1 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Real fun with hours of playtime. If you like games such as sim city with a twist you will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a so good review -.-, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like the game , although after a while it stopped working and frozen up when i tried to load a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a trip down memory lane,it reminds me of the fun I had on pc games like Masters of Olympus and Ceasar.It is basically a God game and balancing budgets ,building resourses,staying out of debt ,keep your interest for hours.Great fun and reasonably priced.My 11 year old Grandson saw me playing it and had a go.I now think I need to buy myself a second XBox,he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360)
Tropico 4: Gold Edition (Xbox 360) by Kalypso Media (Xbox 360)
£12.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews