Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect but?
I already had the Born to die Cd which is an incredible album, beautiful vocals, powerful music with some punchy lyrics delivered in a way that makes you sit back and really listen to the song/story, its not an album you drop on your player for background music, if you do it will soon stop you in your tracks & make you take notice. The tracks on this cd Paradise are...
Published 9 months ago by phillip stewart

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Alright
Doesnt have many tracks, personally i would buy "Born To Die" much better album.

Of you already have that album, this is a great addition of course, a classic Lana Del Rey album.
Published 19 months ago by darius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect but?, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
I already had the Born to die Cd which is an incredible album, beautiful vocals, powerful music with some punchy lyrics delivered in a way that makes you sit back and really listen to the song/story, its not an album you drop on your player for background music, if you do it will soon stop you in your tracks & make you take notice. The tracks on this cd Paradise are equally as beautiful, powerful and enjoyable, my disappointment? nothing with the actual CD or the songs, BUT..Don't waste your money on this single CD edition, as you can pay the same amount for the special edition Born to die/the paradise edition, you will get ALL tracks from both CDs having said that I would highly recommend you take the time to listen to Lana Del Ray she makes other artists look poor in comparison, she can write incredible music/lyrics and has the vocals to blow you away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in a noir paradise..., 6 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise [VINYL] (Vinyl)
First of all I'm not interested in the controversy surrounding Lana Del Rey because this woman is highly talented in my eyes anyway.
I love this album just as much as Born to die-maybe a little bit more to be honest as some of the BTD tracks sounded like one another yet on the paradise edition each track really dose sound different to one another.I like the fact that she sounds so much different to the major *artist* today and it's really refreshing.Anyway here's a track by track review.

Ride.10/10.This is really the best track on the album.Dark and cinematic.Del Rey makes me picture of a life of loneliness and living on the open road.

American 6/10. I sort of look at this as Video games part 2.So if your looking for another VG like song look no further.One of the weaker tracks but still worth a listen if not just for Del Rey's performance.

Cola 8/10.Quite a bubblegum track and a killer first verse.Some Critics say this song is vulgar and pointlessly dirty but that's there opinion.I personally love it.The song is basically about a home-wrecking gold digging lady.Lana gives one of her best performance to date and the orchestration on it too is amazing.

Body Electric 4/10.Based slightly on Whitman's poem "I sing the body electric".I really don't like this track but the Arabian strings are very good.It starts with a very good opening nearly pricks up again in the bridge but really sizzles out in the end.Not very fond of it sadly.

Blue Velvet 9/10.This is a cover version made for Lana's H&M campaign but none of less she really dose own this and she sounds like this song was made for her too.Her vocal performance is mind blowing and yet again the orchestration come up trumps.Not a filler at all.

Gods & Monsters.10/10.Another song some say is pointlessly vulgar but I've got to disagree.The imagery Lana conjures up in my mind is very striking.Lana's shakiness on religion appears alot on her songs but not so vividly as this.Very very good. Brilliant beat too. Defiantly dirty but in a classy way.

Yayo 8/10. The last two tracks are unjustifiably looked as no more than mere fillers and this opinion is very wrong.As the last two are in my opinion anyway are highly personal to Lana and show her in a new some what fragile light. Yayo is a simple,beautiful. track with just basically her singing and the piano playing in the background.The song reflects on her trailer park days and how she desperately wanted to make it big. Sometimes though every now and then whilst I'm listen to this track I feel like i am intruding but that might be because it's so very personal.Still i love it to bits.

Bel Air.9/10. This song on the face of it anyway is a tale of redemption and asking forgiveness but it is reportedly about her love affair with Axl Rose from guns and roses due to some of the lyrics but I'll leave that up to you to decided. This song really makes me think of heaven,redemption and forgiveness.The orchestral arrangements aren't as good as they are like on the other tracks on the album but the lyrics redeem this song along with Lana dreamy-state like singing.All in all a good track to end on.

All of these tracks have a retro feel to them and sometimes like american for instance focus heavily on american symbolism and ideals so if your looking for something different from Born to die then your looking in the wrong place sadly.However if your not put off by this and appreciate new talent and something a little alternative go and buy this album straight way.I promise you you'll won't be disappointed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lana del Rey, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great additional tracks Lana is in a league of her own. Great value added to this deluxe album Cannot wait for further cd's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Dirty, Del Rey, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
This is the follow up to Lana Del Rey's hit album "Born To Die" (2012). The album or EP "Paradise" is amazing.

The album opens with lead single 'Ride', a nice and slow track. This then blends in to the second track 'American' almost a sequel to Video Games. However from here it changes track 3 'Cola' is the beginning of a darker, more dirty album with the hook 'My Pussy tastes like Pepsi-cola'. In the song Lana sings about escaping to Paradise with another womans husband and having sexual encounters. The track was chosen as the 2nd single from the album. Next is 'Body Electric' another dark track showing that she can do better than Born To Die. Track 5 is a cover of the 50's hit 'Blue Velvet' and was released as a promotional single for Lana Del Rey's fashion range in H&M. After the calming sounds of Blue Velvet we are hit by 'Gods And Monsters' in which she sings about sinning. (This track like Cola is sexual and explicit). The mood is becoming lighter as she reworks a previous recording 'Yayo' originally recored for her debut album 'AKA Lizzy Grant' which was cancelled. After the high pitched Yayo the mood is lifted and we appear to be back at the start of the album with 'Bel Air' a song that is extremely similar to 'American'.

If you are a first time buyer I recommend you buy 'Born To Die: The Paradise Edition' the album contains 2cd's both Born To Die (deluxe) and Paradise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
I love this album! This may be my favourite of Lana Del Rey's stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
This CD is made for all Lana Del Rey fans. I didn't think it was possible to create a deeper and darker album than born to die, however this album proved me wrong. It has a depressive feel which anyone could fall in love with. The album is very different from the first album, but its equally as good. The songs on this album are the sort of songs that you feel nervous to breathe when you are listening to. PURE BRILLIANCE, very well done Lana Del Rey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just for fans, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Paradise [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Even though released as a complimentary piece for born to die it may stand alone as an entirely new mini lp. Hopefully Lana will remain just as lovely in het forthcoming works. Looking forward to them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Del Ray, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
Classic Del Ray. Haunting and slutty with the ever present tinge of heartbreak. Would have liked more tracks. There's no-one like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise [VINYL] (Vinyl)
As the headline suggests nothing to fault and a tremendous service.I can only recommend this site to everyone who is looking for excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise (Audio CD)
brillant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise
Paradise by Lana Del Rey (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews