Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent print quality, clever but quirky
This printer has a remarkably small footprint, making it suitable for home or small office environment. The photo quality output is excellent. It also has the rare capability to print thicker paper thin card (about 200 gsm max) if you use the single sheet slow manual feeder at the back, but leave room to access it. The automatic sheet copy-feeder on top is a useful...
Published on 17 Jan. 2013 by art on the moon

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Frustrating Experience...
I've owned an XP-850 for a few months now, and am becoming increasingly frustrated with it.

Let's put the good stuff first - when it's working properly, as a photo printer the results are excellent. And, it scans well enough.

Purchased because my second Canon in ten years had suffered an apparent print head failure and a possible repair bill higher...
Published 15 months ago by R. J. Bowman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent print quality, clever but quirky, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
This printer has a remarkably small footprint, making it suitable for home or small office environment. The photo quality output is excellent. It also has the rare capability to print thicker paper thin card (about 200 gsm max) if you use the single sheet slow manual feeder at the back, but leave room to access it. The automatic sheet copy-feeder on top is a useful addition. However, I advise updating the printer driver during set-up, as earliest manufactured models have a driver bug. The wireless connection seems rather weak. Connection cannot be guaranteed unless your wireless hub is nearby and obstacle-free, and unless you have a higher-speed connection it can take an inordinate amount of time to download larger files for printing. USB connection is far quicker and more reliable. The printed sheet collection tray opens forwards automatically, so make sure there is enough clear space in front of the printer. Oddly, the tray doesn't automatically close again when the printer goes to sleep, which seems an unnecessary design oversight. Instead it has to be pushed it back manually against a somewhat resistant mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
Tried to set up with iMac using wifi and struggled to get full functionality. It would not report supply levels for example. Switching to USB connection was much more straightforward. The biggest problem however was that after setting time and date etc, when turned off and back on it gave a screen saying date & time reset to default. Annoyingly this happened every time and required date and time setting each time! Even using Epson chat support did not solve it and guy said he had not seen this problem before, gave up and told me to go back to Amazon.
I spent most of the day trying to resolve. On mac the loaded software is not so obvious and after reading the full manual (supplied as pdf ) I was alerted to the supplied software and found Download Navigator. On running this it came up with numerous software updates which included a Firmware update. Lo and behold this solved the problem! But how come the Epson guy didn't know this???
Now working correctly I am very, very impressed with this product. It's compact and really neat the way all the features and functions are built into this product. There are two paper trays. I have plain paper in one and 4 x 6 gloss photo paper in the other. It seems to know which to use, sent a photo for printing from iPad and it used the 4 x 6 automatically as this cannot be set from the iPad.
The photo print quality is excellent. There is full range of printing including stiff papers by a third feed point at the back, scanning, copying, fax, 2 sided, multiple page feed. Copy CD artwork, print onto CD,s to create. Connect and print straight from your camera or plug memory cards straight in.
Printing is pretty quick too. All functions can be done from connected/remote computer or on the unit itself through extensive menus on the built in LCD screen.
I guess it's quite a new product but setup problems were annoying but anyone buying ENSURE YOU UPDATE THE FIRMWARE.
Despite all this I highly recommend this product, very impressed so far. My main want was a decent photo printer, to get this in an all in one is awesome. But for the setup problem this would have been a solid 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epson XP-850, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
Best Epson A4 Pinter at the moment. Pity that the inks are small and do's not last very long. So I got the XL Inks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Frustrating Experience..., 16 Feb. 2014
By 
R. J. Bowman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
I've owned an XP-850 for a few months now, and am becoming increasingly frustrated with it.

Let's put the good stuff first - when it's working properly, as a photo printer the results are excellent. And, it scans well enough.

Purchased because my second Canon in ten years had suffered an apparent print head failure and a possible repair bill higher than the cost of replacement so decided to push the boat out because I wanted wired Ethernet connectivity and fancied the ADF to speed up scanning. And a change from Canon.

So, what goes wrong?

A minor frustration with Epson's scanning software which insists on appending a sequence number to filenames. I know what I want to call the file, why does the programmer need to impose their own ideas?

But the bigger issues are with the printing side.

Sometimes there's a stripiness to the print - as if head alignment is required. But then sometimes it's fine - seems that it works best with full/new cartridges.

If I've scanned a document, next print job spews out a blank first page instead of the required print.

Fussy about "compatible" cartridges - putting out little warnings that need a response. Maybe this is the fault of the cartridge makers not doing a complete job of making their cartridges 100% equivalent.

Then prints start to look bad - nozzle check shows colour completely missing. Have to do a head clean - and that seems to involve cleaning all colours (using all inks) rather than just the bad one. Sometimes that fixes it, but not always. Because although the ink levels are showing as "lowish" - what it really needs to make things right is a cartridge change.

Then it'll decide not to recognise a cartridge (a genuine Epson cartridge) - well, the ink level was reported as low (but not "out"). Replace the cartridge.

And it likes to do a part-print every so often - spit out a photo that's half-printed. Sometimes it'll do the other half on the next sheet of paper. Again - these things seem to happen when it's low on ink - but not "out of ink".

Beats me - I suspect that there are bugs in the firmware (although it's fully updated). Epson's own ink is so pricey - but had bad experience with "compatibles" for Canon and I'm seeing this printer less temperamental with Epson inks (have they deliberately set up bad behaviour if "compatible" cartridges are detected?). Only tried one "brand" of compatible so far.

I have a feeling that if/when it gets worse and/or out of warranty it will not be replaced by another Epson.

I'd like to pay an honest price for a printer and an honest price for ink - not this silly structure that all the manufacturers seem to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not without problems, 22 April 2014
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
The quality of this printer is first class. Photos are excellent, text is crisp and clear, and CD's are great.
The scanner is good, and the copy function is useful. With functions such as scan to email etc, it becomes a really useful device, although it is a pity that it needs to connect to the Epson web site in order for some of these functions to work. It would have been much better if you could just give it the address of a mail server.
Where the problems start showing themselves though is with the paper handling. So if you want to print a photo on to heavy photo paper, you open the back and drop a sheet in (fiddly in itself due to the design of the rear paper tray) You then send the job to print, and get a step by step guide on the screen of the printer telling you to open the rear tray, put in paper etc. etc.
It then feeds the paper straight through the printer, so you have to put it in again. A simple sensor to detect paper is present and skip all the unnecessary hand-holding would make a huge difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
A first class product - easy to set up and does everything I and colleagues want as a network printer & scanner and also copier - although I haven't had to set it up for fax yet. Woul recommend it for small office and home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my honest opinion, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
The simple fact was I wanted something efficient and easy to use that updated and surpassed my old style 880 model that I gave to someone, on both counts I have found the XP-850 does all of that , with lots of up to date high tech features incorporated that are easy to use, in a nutshell, I am chuffed to bits with my purchase , and very happy I stuck with Epsom, and choosing to go for an upmarket model that was within the price range that I wanted to pay, Simples.... :-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
Having previously had an Epson I decided to get this model as its replacement. Unfortunately it was not as good as I hoped, after three months it developed a problem with blocked nozzles, even though I was using Epson ink. It also developed a paper jam fault that would not allow any paper through, mostly from Microsoft Office programmes. After removing the blockage for the umpteenth time I decided enough was enough and contacted Amazon for a refund.
This Epson model has a very small footprint, but I wonder if too much is being squashed into such a small space and leading to problems.
Sorry Epson but I now own a Canon printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars XP-850, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
This A4 photo printer from Epson was purchased to replace an old Epson printer that had done years of sterling work. I bought it because it offerred better photo production as well as scanning / copying / fax all in one package. There is also the facility to print from a phone via Wi-Fi or another device that I have not tested yet. My first impressions were that it was smaller and neater than the previous model and is well designed. Installation on a Windows Vista computer was straight forward and without any issues. Printing documents is very quick and the text is nice and sharp. My main concern was the production of photographs and this process has a number of advanced settings that can be used according to your personal taste. I have printed a number of images now onto Epson photo glossy paper and the results have been very pleasing indeed. I have not tested the Wi-Fi system on it, so I cannot comment on that. The next week will show whether that works just as well as the rest of it or not.

Overall I am delighted with this printer and I do not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a neat A4 printer that is versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far I love it, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Photo XP- 850 photo printer with Claria Photo HD ink - Wifi, touch panel and ADF (Accessory)
Too soon to give it 5 stars, but having had it 2 weeks it has not put a foot wrong. The photo quality, using premium gloss paper, is outstanding. I was very surprised and impressed.

Setup (manual in my case as I knew all the router details etc and thought it would be quicker) was a piece of cake and I had no problem with wi-fi or router (or have since).

Scan speed is average (not blisteringly fast). Copying in BW and colour is fast. The duplexer works well and is a real bonus. For speed I also love the little touch screen! But you get a lot more control of print and scan settings though by using the PC interface rather than doing it from the touch panel.

I am hopeful that the rear paper feed can be used for long "panorama" paper by setting a custom paper size. It looks as though it should work but I have not found anything to confirm this by searching the web or actually tried it yet.

Ink usage seems fair - I have used about half of most colours in 2 weeks, but to be fair I have been playing with it a lot and printed 10-12 A4 colour prints on Best quality too. I have bought a set of compatible inks from a supplier in Seaford, who offer money back guarantee if probs or not happy, and will update this review once I get to try them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews