Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acid winter days with your weird uncle
Right from the galloping start of "The Chase" this album takes you on a lysergic maelstrom trip where the weather seeps in and blows through you ("Mellowing Grey", "Winter", "The Breeze"). Songs observe the strangeness of ordinary events (Never Like This, Hey Mr Policeman, See Through Windows) and lead you on a journey through love and time (Voyage, Peace of Mind, 3 X...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by squashh

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not Repertoire
This is a magnificent album without a doubt. However,this Pucka reissue PUC701 claims Super 20-Bit Mapping but I dare anyone to find a soundbite on this reissue which improves upon the See For Miles issue SEECD100. Repertoire/Esoteric this album deserves, and we need, your remastering skills! Just take a listen to the clarity, power and presence of Family's Bandstand...
Published on 26 May 2011 by chrispaulandrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acid winter days with your weird uncle, 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
Right from the galloping start of "The Chase" this album takes you on a lysergic maelstrom trip where the weather seeps in and blows through you ("Mellowing Grey", "Winter", "The Breeze"). Songs observe the strangeness of ordinary events (Never Like This, Hey Mr Policeman, See Through Windows) and lead you on a journey through love and time (Voyage, Peace of Mind, 3 X Time), the tracks swirling into one another with snatches of sounds already heard and sounds yet to come phasing in and out of the mix, imperceptibly taking you to a dark, still place and then returning you to earth thinking 'What the f*** was that?'. It also perfectly evokes the experience of winter days and nights in a mind altered state, accompanied by Roger Chapman as your weird uncle. Perhaps the most inventive album of all time and a must for all psychedelic meteorologists and for people who have been to their girlfriend's house for tea while out of their heads. It is so good that you'll only bear to play it twice a year and your friends will say 'it's a bit scary' then laugh nervously. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Great Classics of the Late 1960's, 16 May 2010
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
Family first album "Music In A Doll's House" is one of the albums, which must not be ignored. With Traffic guitarist Dave Mason as producer, the group recorded a very exciting album which is both innovative, melodic and bearing Mason's obvious Traffic imprint.

Group's original line-up included, besides the three regular Family members Roger Chapman, John Whitney and Rob King, also bassist and violinist Rick Grech and saxophonist Jim King. The line-up allowed a diverse instrumentation and the group took great advantage of this oportunity. Moreover, the songwriter-team Chapman / Whitney shines, with many fine compositions.

"Pscychedlia" is probably what you first think when you hear the opening track "The Chase"; the number has a fine melody and an instrumentation that can lead the mind towards both the Move and King Crimson.

The acoustic melodic approach is also found on the album, not least the beautiful "Mellowing Grey" and the airy "The Breeze" - both fine examples of this. "Never Like This" was written by Dave Mason and it clearly shows - sounds almost like a "Hole in My Shoe - 2". The grandiose of the opening number returns with "Me My Friend" - interesting change on lead vocals with Chapman taking care of the chorus while Jim King takes care of the verse. More pscychedelia on "Winter" - sounds almost like Creation.

The group's roots in R & B are revealed on "Hey Mr. Policeman" and "Old Songs, New Songs" - both tracks could have been Yardbirds numbers. The intro of "Peace of Mind" was later reused by David Bowie; the song is one of the major highlights of the album and a number that would become one of the group's live favorites.

At no time in this very seamless album, one senses idling, and you may easily find yourself subsequently go humming some of the fine melodic themes.

The original Family line-up released the year after another album "Family Entertainment" on which they actually managed to surpass themselves. Both albums by two great classics of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer '67, 4 July 2007
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
Its strange which past groups & artists get remembered & respected, & who gets overlooked. Family were an absolutely awesome & successful band in their time, but you'll look in vain for any mention of them in taste-arbiters like Mojo or Q. Ok, its great that most of their cd's are still available & Roger Chapman just keeps on going, but they deserve more. This album is an absolute classic of English psychedelia - and other reviewers are right to point out its very English flavour. Roger Chapman's voice isn't for everyone, granted, but here he adapts well to the more melodic, spacier trax as well as his more strident sound on the likes of Hey Mr Policeman & Me My Friend. The group play up a storm & producer Dave Mason throws in the kitchen sink of Pepper-era special fx, without overdoing the phasing etc. Once you get past the sumptuous joys of the music, the lyrics are rather good, too. Its one of those albums that just seem to be a perfect whole, from the cover art to the way the trax join together, themes drifting in & out of view. I'd have no hesitation putting this alongside Piper at the Gates as a true psychedelic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me,the greatest album ever, 20 Sep 2011
By 
B. J. du Cille (West Bromwich, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
i bought this when it was first released and almost wore it out. I used to go and see Family play live and they were never less than fantastic. How they never made it really huge escapes me - I guess the critics never knew quite what they were - rock, pop, blues,jazz, psychedelic. Family were all those things. The succeeding albums never lived up to Doll's House for me. I was delighted when I was able to get it on CD and still play it 42 years on - it still makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up and gives me goosebumps. Dave Mason did a fair job producing this but it is the songs and performances that make it stand out, even now. Roger Chapman should be a national treasure - there was an incredible performer -if you stood too close to the stage you were in serious danger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music in a Doll's House, 25 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
It's 1968 and the British underground rock scene in the UK is making waves. Family, one of the many bands gaining widespread recognition and now 'above ground' getting recording deals, issue their debut 'Music in a Doll's House on the Reprise label.
It's a curious album; a mix of late 60's production, (with flanged and phased guitars of John Whitney) matched against the powerful and utterly unique vocals of Roger Chapman, the saxes of Jim King, Ric Grech's bass and Rob Townsend's drumming. Grech went on to join Clapton, Baker and Winwood in Blind Faith, whilst Chaman,bleating like a slaughtered lamb, underpinned the 'band sound' before moving on to form Streetwalkers with Whitney.His vocals are engaging throughout and yet, never reach the heights of the 'Weaver's Answer' on the next album, 'Family Entertainment'.
Whilst feeling somwhat dated at times, thia album defines much of the feel of the decade's twilight years. It's a great piece of British band/ musical history and for me, brings back memories of halcyon days of parties, trippy laid back summer evenings, John Peel's Top Gear, and the sheer originality that so many bands at this time offered.
I still have the old vinyl copy of this album. The CD is a 'must have', whether for fans of the period or fans of the band. Or for people like me, who just want to listen to a decent copy in their car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lost 60's classic, 5 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
This album and in fact this band are unique. No one else sounds like them and they never repeated themselves on any track throughout their short lifetime.

As stated in other reviews, Roger Chapman's vocals are an acquired taste. In some of the band's later recordings they grate at times but in my opinion he is on top form throughout the album.

Particular highlights for me are The Chase, Peace of Mind, The Breeze, Mellowing Grey and Old Songs for New Songs.

Anyone who loves 60's music and doesn't have this is missing out-a lost classic like Love's Forever Changes and The Zombies Odessey & Oracle.

A very underrated band but despite the core of the band-Chapman, guitarist John Whitney and drummer Rob Townsend all still being alive at the time of writing, seemingly there is no chance whatsoever of a Family reunion.

If you enjoy this, the follow up Entertainment, Fearless and Bandstand are all worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, atmospheric music., 3 Mar 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
Not a bad track on the album, all very atmospheric. At 16, I used to skive off games afternoon and play predominantly this, whilst washing down a couple of bottles of Strongbow. Unfortunately about a year later I saw Family at the Buxton Festival (1973 ?), and Mr Chapman, made to play very late indeed due to mismangement by the organisers, was rather rude to his audience. It wasn't our fault Roger, but perhaps after 35 years it's time to forgive and forget, and take another look at the Family back catalogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All for one and one for all!, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Mr T "meltcity" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
From the hunting horns and "tally-ho" of the aptly-named first track, "Chase", to the blast of "God Save the Queen" right at the end, this is a very English album. It's more than a little eccentric and shows definite signs of a Pythonesque sense of humour. It is, however, a serious composition, and I use the singular advisedly. The songs segue from one to the next with perfect smoothness. This really is an album that has to be heard all the way through. I'm particularly fond of the feedback-laden "Voyage" and have tried it on a few mixtures. It just doesn't have the same impact without the context of the tracks leading up to and away from it. For me, that's a sign of true craftsmanship. This isn't a collection of pop songs, like many psychedelic albums. It's a complete whole, like a prog rock concept album, of which many cite Music in a Doll's House as an early example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect acid winter sounds, 2 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Music in a Dolls House (Audio CD)
Right from the galloping start of "The Chase" this album takes you on a lysergic maelstrom trip where the weather seeps in and blows through you ("Mellowing Grey", "Winter", "The Breeze"). Songs observe the strangeness of ordinary events (Never Like This, Hey Mr Policeman, See Through Windows) and lead you on a journey through love and time (Voyage, Peace of Mind, 3 X Time), the tracks swirling into one another with snatches of sounds already heard and sounds yet to come phasing in and out of the mix, imperceptibly taking you to a dark, still place and then returning you to earth thinking 'What the f*** was that?'. It also perfectly evokes the experience of winter days and nights in a mind altered state, accompanied by Roger Chapman as your weird uncle. Perhaps the most inventive album of all time and a must for all psychedelic meteorologists and for people who have been to their girlfriend's house for tea while out of their heads. It is so good that you'll only bear to play it twice a year and your friends will say 'it's a bit scary' then laugh nervously. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not Repertoire, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Music In A Doll's House (Audio CD)
This is a magnificent album without a doubt. However,this Pucka reissue PUC701 claims Super 20-Bit Mapping but I dare anyone to find a soundbite on this reissue which improves upon the See For Miles issue SEECD100. Repertoire/Esoteric this album deserves, and we need, your remastering skills! Just take a listen to the clarity, power and presence of Family's Bandstand REPUK1081 for an example of what could be done for Music In A Doll's House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music In A Doll's House
Music In A Doll's House by Family (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews