Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another winner !
Since first reading Mr Platt's and Mr Wright's ground-breaking Yesterdays Gone I have looked forward to further futuristic dystopian zombie infested drama and entertainment from this great writing duo ............... and boy was I to find all of that with this new serial !!!
Loved it to pieces and gorged myself on yet more great storytelling, great work guys, I...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Mr. S. Urry

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Bad
This is really rubbish. It a rip off of hunger games but with some "zombies" thrown in. There is no real character development, the writing is poor and the story doesn't conclude in any way, it just says to stay tuned for "season two". Total cop out.
Sorry I spent the 99p. Don't waste your time.
Published on 19 May 2013 by miss a


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Bad, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is really rubbish. It a rip off of hunger games but with some "zombies" thrown in. There is no real character development, the writing is poor and the story doesn't conclude in any way, it just says to stay tuned for "season two". Total cop out.
Sorry I spent the 99p. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Generous one star - lazy lazy authors, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Authors note was nearly right - unfortunately a lazy mish-mash of all the good bits from the walking dead, running man, 1984, and pretty much every bad 80s sci-fi film made, thrown together for the twilight generation.

Why think of your own idea when you can just take a little piece of everyone else's?!

Massively disappointing - if I could have given 0 stars I would have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rip-off of a rip-off with Zombies, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As other reviewers have said, this is too much like Hunger Games with zombies, and Hunger Games itself is just a poor-man's Battle Royale.

That said, the writing was OK but I don't really see the point. At least it was only 99p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hunger games similarity, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the Hunger Games years ago, this is closely based on the same type off premise - for all that it's not a bad story and the characters give a strong blend that keeps you reading to the end. Will read the follow up when it's available,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written and a shameless rip off, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Got it for 99p and only made it to the end as it is a quick read. A poorly written, predictable, and clichéd text, combined with empty characters and world make for a lacklustre book.

Amazon's author info states "Sean Platt and David Wright are Kings of the Serial, with their ambitious schedule of releasing a book per week in 2012" and it really shows, but not in a good way. This book is in severe need of an edit to clear up the text and fix the many glaring grammatical and consistency errors, in addition to clearing out chunks of text that add nothing but meander on anyway. The simplistic and brief writing style makes it feel like a childrens/young adult book, but as it goes on it tosses out increasing number of swear words and sex references.

The book claims to be 'in the spirit of The Hunger Games', what it means is it is that it changed the word 'hunger' to 'darwin' and replaced Susanne Collins' engineered mutants with zombies (not that the zombies add anything other than a sales gimmick to excite the walking dead crowd). Everything else about the games is almost literally identical (an equal number of contestants from each city start next to a pile of weapons and supplies, can get them or flee, physical events are controlled by the games directors to increase the public interest, and so on) with the odd exception of some fairly standard dystopian secret police vs underground rebellion type elements. That said The Hunger Games gives the protagonists and districts some depth and character, something that is rather lacking in z2134.

The Amazon product details actually explains more about the world than the book ever does. The immersion and depth would have been dramatically improved with even a brief few hints at what happened, and how the current somewhat novel situation came to be. But no there are simply a few cities and some zombies, and that is that. While each district in the hunger games is unique and has some character, in z2134 City 6 is a cliche faceless dystopian city, no idea of size, how it supports itself, or even a basic description of the oft mentioned walls around it.

The characters too lack any depth, actual character, or even a basic description. Even when they are described it is messed up - the daughter somehow goes from 98lb to 114lb in the space of a few days of hardship (about that need for a good edit....).

You get the feeling they bashed the whole thing out as they went along without checking back or bothering to reread the entire book before publishing, which for a 296 page book which is currently listed as £9 for a paperback is pretty disgraceful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Seemingly lacking any original ideas of its own., 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In the authors note there is a lovely quote "we never chase trends" I spent the whole book thinking this feels like hunger games with zombies and along side the "we never chase trends" pearl of wisdom it turns out "hunger games" + "zombies" is exactly what they were aiming for.I'm not sure how their trend chasing policy is working out, maybe it should have read "we don't chase trends, we combine them"

I may be a little jaded having recently read another "walled city" story in the form of Gemma Malley's Killables but this must be one of the most mediocre books I've ever read.

There is nothing particularly dislikable about the book itself but it lacks its own original concepts to define it as anything other than a amalgamation of stolen ideas and lacks enough flair in doing so, to be seen as a worthy successor any of the books it borrows from.

The sad fact is the book would have been infinitely better book if they had removed the "darwin games" as the distraction it was and not tried to cash in on the hunger games bandwagon. Ignoring the "Darwin games" it fails as a zombie novel, they don't really add much to the story and are recycled and used as the blandest of bland plot devices and could easily have replaced by almost anything else.

The characters are pretty well developed for such a short book and the plot is good enough to keep you interested but sadly feels incredibly rushed in places. Being moved forward at one point by a character basically saying "because I say so".

There is enough here to prevent it being a truly terrible book and the annoying thing is it ends with enough unanswered questions that I will probably continue with the series a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another winner !, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. S. Urry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Since first reading Mr Platt's and Mr Wright's ground-breaking Yesterdays Gone I have looked forward to further futuristic dystopian zombie infested drama and entertainment from this great writing duo ............... and boy was I to find all of that with this new serial !!!
Loved it to pieces and gorged myself on yet more great storytelling, great work guys, I can't wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just bad, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Poorly written, poor plot, weak characters. Most of the ideas and plots were a poor rip off from the hunger games. Whilst I appreciate that there are few original ideas in writing these days, if you're going to use someone else's idea for the premise of your own writing, at least put thought into other areas such as character development etc. Certain parts of the story didn't make sense and required too much stretch of imagination to make it work.
Overall I feel that no real thought has been given. Was further disappointed to find that, having struggled through to the end (and struggle it was, as I hate to leave a book unfinished), the story is in no way neatly ended and there is to be a part 2. Even if they give it away, I wont be wasting any further time on this. Not even if they paid me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Glad I only paid 99p.
Too similar to Hunger games and the running man film.
I gave it 1 star as it got slightly interesting at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but thin in parts, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In books like this it is hard to get a balance between the storyline and the action. In places the action takes over at expense of the storyline. Also as the first book on the series it lacks some background, how did we get to this time, what happened to bring society to this point. Some of the main characters are a bit lacking in substance. Overall I enjoyed the read but had I not already bought the next book in the series I probably would not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Z 2134 (Z 2134 Series Book 1)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews