Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all 'baby boomers'
I well written book that simply takes you back to your 1950's childhood and teenages and then the rest of your life to date. It is a book that you find yourself saying, "oh yes, I remember that!" The downside is, it reminds us of just how old we are getting!! Thoroughly recommended and a reminder of just how great the 1950's were. We 'baby boomers' are very lucky...
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by Mr. K. Heap

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better.
Although quite interesting, I didn't find this a satisfying read. I eventually grew tired of the constant repetition of "we"/"us"/"our" when there was a big discrepancy between the author's experiences or opinions and my own. Though we are the same age, Mr Feeney's London boyhood seems more like my grandparents' era. I was born in a mining...
Published 2 months ago by Sunnydays


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all 'baby boomers', 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. K. Heap - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I well written book that simply takes you back to your 1950's childhood and teenages and then the rest of your life to date. It is a book that you find yourself saying, "oh yes, I remember that!" The downside is, it reminds us of just how old we are getting!! Thoroughly recommended and a reminder of just how great the 1950's were. We 'baby boomers' are very lucky in that, I very much doubt, the world will ever see such a wonderful decade ever again. It was a period of true history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at it's best!!, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Feeney certainly knows how to revive old memories. An excellent read, especially for us post-war baby boomers as the author describes us. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It bought back lots of memories for me, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose the rating because it was well written, and factual I have also bought one for a friend for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Back my Childhood, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its lovely brings back a time when things werent so available and life was much more simple a more relaxed time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pocket view of present day history, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Ration Book to ebook: The Life and Times of the Post-War Baby Boomers (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it brought memories of my life to the present day and reminded me of what has happened during my 70 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ration Book to E Book, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book which took me back to my childhood. Have already loaned it to a few of my friends. Will look for more in this style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trip down memory lane, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Ration Book to ebook: The Life and Times of the Post-War Baby Boomers (Kindle Edition)
I LOVED reading this book! As a child of the early 1950's by the time I was born rationing was just ending. However it was a very memorable time for my Mother who was a young wife and Mother to be. As she is registered blind I found myself reading passages to her from the book. The first half of the book it was HER smiling, nodding and saying "oh yes I remember that"
The second half of the book it was ME! Beautifully written, what a talented story teller Paul Feeney is. Only wish I had a picture of the book cover to go with it as it is a perfect picture of children of the day. I know I shall be reading this book many times.
Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Ration Book to ebook, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Ration Book to ebook: The Life and Times of the Post-War Baby Boomers (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I am a child of the 1940,s and remember having lots of freedom to stay out for whole days during the long hot school holidays without any worry from parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT read !, 25 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Ration Book to ebook: The Life and Times of the Post-War Baby Boomers (Kindle Edition)
I haven't quite finished this book yet but so far I have been riveted. SO many things remind of my childhood and so many things brought back memories of times I had forgotten. If you were born/lived during these times then I would say this is a book for you. Its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let's twist again..., 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Ration Book to ebook: The Life and Times of the Post-War Baby Boomers (Kindle Edition)
Being one of the post war baby boomers referred to in this book was my reason for reading it. I was perhaps hoping for too much from it, in terms of insights of why things were the way they were, but it is sadly lacking in any substance. It is little more than a catalogue of material possessions, trends and fashions for each of the subsequent decades since the end of the war. I am not sure of the target audience for this history, since I can remember most of what it covers, although it did correct some of my time-frames. I would suggest it would be of value if you are interested in what everyday life was like for your parents or grandparents if they are of the post-war baby boomer generation.

So why have I given it a four star rating? When reviewing a book, I believe you should always judge it by what the author was trying to achieve rather than what you are looking from it. In this case the author has created a reasonable trip down memory lane for those whose memory needs jogging, but an in-depth social history it is not. Sadly lacking are illustrations of the products and fashions mentioned in the text for those not familiar with the same. There are however around thirty plates at the end covering street and work scenes over the decades covered. The author has seemingly wrung good milage from the subject matter as he has written around seven books which all appear to cover the same ground judging from their titles, although I must admit this is the first of his books that I have read but it has not engendered me to go on and read any of his other titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews