Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read
At Risk... A Perfect World is a really enjoyable read, with colourful and compelling characters and a plot which keeps you turning the pages right through to the end. The book is well paced and increasingly gripping as it works up to an action packed climax, accompanied by lots of imaginative detail throughout.

This is not a genre of fiction I would normally...
Published on 4 Oct. 2012 by ceejay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book from an upcoming author
Like most modern novels this book is character led and this is one of its strengths. Affrity is a powerful and well drawn villain. We can feel his hatred, anger and frustration, his violence and malevolent attitude. This does beg the question is it easier to create darkness than light. Omigali is the opposing force of goodness, but she is rather insipid as a...
Published 20 months ago by Tracey Madeley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative and well-written story., 7 Nov. 2012
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Many will find this imaginative and well-written story a great read. Those who enjoy this genre of Sci Fi fantasy should be turned on by this fast-moving, adventurous tale which includes battles between good and evil. It is also thought provoking about the meaning of life.

This is the first of a trilogy so enthusiasts will enjoy the knowledge that there is more to come. It should appeal to a wide range of readers from teenage upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 4 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
At Risk... A Perfect World is a really enjoyable read, with colourful and compelling characters and a plot which keeps you turning the pages right through to the end. The book is well paced and increasingly gripping as it works up to an action packed climax, accompanied by lots of imaginative detail throughout.

This is not a genre of fiction I would normally read, but having been given it by a friend I found myself convincingly transported to another world. I would recommend it to readers of all ages from teenage upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of action, wisdom and imagination, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Full of action wisdom and imagination, I was transported into the world of Harmony, her friends and their amazing civilization. The characters are really believable and full of fun and surprises. I found the action scenes very exciting and wanted to just read and read. Most of all I loved Graham Smiths Idea that causes all the trouble for our heroes I won't spoil it for you. I can definitely recommend this book to people who love science fiction and to anyone who likes a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting read., 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It is exciting, with plenty of drama and intrigue, yet what I like most is that the characters are real. Although they belong to a super, utopian race, they are not saintly and holy. They like to party and enjoy life. Above all they are innocent. Yet when their planet is threatened they are able to cast peace aside and fight, using advanced technology. The ending, and the gradual build up to it, is very exciting indeed, and I was unable to put the book down. I recommend this to people who like adventure sci-fi with plenty of action, yet with a magical, philosophical side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book from an upcoming author, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Like most modern novels this book is character led and this is one of its strengths. Affrity is a powerful and well drawn villain. We can feel his hatred, anger and frustration, his violence and malevolent attitude. This does beg the question is it easier to create darkness than light. Omigali is the opposing force of goodness, but she is rather insipid as a character.

Sool appears to elevated as a special character, there is this myth that she is somehow unbeatable in battle, but it would have been good to see more evidence of her skill. Harmony is a little dipsy and her backwards speech reinforces this idea and it is a good technique used to great effect.

Pol is the pilot, the chancer, but again there seems to be too little evidence of risk taking. I realize the trip to Kelepsion was very daring, but this is not enough. It is better to show him doing this than telling the reader.

The Marleseen are a wonderful creation, mischievous, loving and full of fun. They add to the non-violent and peaceful atmosphere of the place. In contrast they are hated by the dark side as they lack order, being spontaneous and fun.

Scarleen is the shape shifter being able to take different forms. The special relevance of this gift becomes apparent towards the end of the book when he needs to convince the guards he's someone else.

Being quite a novice to science fiction I was puzzled by some of he terminology - SL's, Skins, holo's (holograms?) and implants. The writer does not explain what they are, or give much details about their function.

The words Salvation and Glory Town conjure up a wonderful image of a magical planet, but we do not see the characteristics of what makes this world truly special. Perhaps the author wants to emphasize the fact that the people make it special, not its geography

Action scenes appear to be very difficult to create and unfortunately I am still looking for a good example to recommend. TV makes it look so easy due to the visual nature of the media, but the written word is more complex. Good use is made of flashbacks to talk about their time on Kelepsion, but there are not too many as to confuse the reader.

Overall this is a good read with some interesting characters and it promises to be a great series. How original it is in terms of the science fiction genre I am not experienced enough to tell, but I think this is a writer who will keep on growing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect World, 29 Jan. 2013
This review is from: At Risk... A Perfect World (Worlds At Risk Series Sci-Fi Action/Adventure Metaphysical/Visionary Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a great book. It was very imaginative and insightful. This author takes the art of writing to a new level. I would recommend it to anyone. I look forward to his next work. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews