Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly beautiful
I'm no good with words and have never felt compelled to comment here before, but with the lightest, most achingly beautiful touch Phildel just blew the rest of my music collection to pieces. Five stars is nowhere near enough.
Published 13 months ago by Matthew Hynett

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice voice shame about the song writing
Just felt I had to counter some of the slightly over the top praise this is receiving its a case of nice voice shame the songs are so repetitive and all sound the same. Its like one good idea/chorus/line spread over an entire album which is ok if you like that kind of thing personally I have very wide tastes musically and like variety this sadly doesn't really offer much...
Published 4 months ago by byekitty


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Birth Of Distant Memories, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Girl (Audio CD)
It's past is full of mystery and it's presence holds beauty. It maybe a resting place, a home, a smile to anyone who gazes upon it. A purpose of a greater good.

The album `The Disappearance Of The Girl' is a `Chef-d'oeuvre' (masterpiece) with soft vocals resonating over drums, piano keys, strings and backing vocals that beautifully merge together the most powerful album I've ever heard. The powerful lyrics brings a story to life.

I give this album an easy 10/10 and my album of the year, without a doubt. I can't imagine my life without this musical masterpiece. "Dwfmedia"

Album review ----> [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phildel at Bush Hall, 15th May 2013, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Girl (Audio CD)
Phildel's debut album, The Disappearance of the Girl seems to captivate all those who encounter it. Her haunting voice and ethereal style escape the traditional definitions of popular music and manifest themselves in an artistic creation of immense strength and poignancy. It was for these reasons that I was so curious to see how these attributes would translate to a live stage.

Bush Hall, a former ballroom in Shepherd's Bush, immediately proved to be an excellent backdrop to the visual delight of Henrietta Ludgate's designs as a assemblage of maypole dancers emerged to skip and flow around the pole placed in front of the stage; an enchanting introduction indeed.

Her band already present, Phildel soon emerged in a ghostly white dress and appropriately opened with the album's title track. The sheer power and high quality of Chris Young's syth, along with the pulsating drums and eerie backing vocals and violin was immediately evident, though none could distract attention from the focal point of the evening, Phildel's exceptional voice. Proceeding directly into arguably the strongest song on the album 'Storm Song', before steadily working her way through her portfolio of tracks, she excelled both at commanding the gloriously powerful accompaniments, and at capturing the audience's attention in deeply emotional solos with just a piano for company.

Her voice barely strayed from the perfection of the album's recordings, but when it did it was with a kind of softly-torn imperfection that not only accentuates the depth and honesty of her lyrics, but also adds a level of fractured beauty to her music that is rarely found in the popular artists of recent years.

She displayed great humility when engaging in cheerful banter with the audience, and her playful performance of 'Mistakes' revealed even more of her light-hearted character - a side of her personality perhaps less evident in the album.

She ended in a mini-encore with 'Holes In Your Coffin', another great thumping track that displays the wonderful contrast between the deep syth and drum work, and her high-soaring voice. The cheering audience where not quite ready to leave yet however, and prompted another cracking performance of 'Storm Song', sung with the passion and delight of an artist who noticeably takes as much pleasure from performing her songs as her fans do from hearing them.

A standing ovation from the audience moved her to tears and rounded off a stunning performance from a breathtaking talent. Let's just hope she gets the wider publicity and industry recognition that she rightly deserves.

Review by Bruce Buckland
Twitter: @brucebuckland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut album from a gifted musician, composer and lyricist, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Girl (Audio CD)
I've recently ordered Phildel's album and I must say that I'm very happy I did. It's simply stunning.
I personally have trouble finding artists whose music I can connect with these days. Phildel's music is so intimate and beautifully crafted that I found a home in it.
This is exactly the type of artist that I tend to gravitate towards, someone who composes their own music, plays their own music (yes, she plays the piano), writes their own lyrics and sings their own words. Her voice is velvet and her compositions beautiful.
The booklet comes with all the lyrics to all the songs which I always find a HUGE plus as I like to sit down with my cd's, listen to the music and read the words.
Even though the entire album is stunning and very consistent, the highlights, for me, are:

-Stormsong
-Dare
-Afraid of the Dark
-Beaside You
-Switchblade
-Union Stone
-The Disappearance of the Girl
-Moonsea

Very recommended album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of songs from a fabulous new voice., 18 April 2013
By 
A. Burton (Up me bum on second shelf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Girl (Audio CD)
I saw Phildel on the BBC breakfast a few weeks ago and immediately headed over to Amazon and bought her album. It's a very interesting mix of songs, Phildel's voice would certainly be suited to singing folk songs, and there's evidence of the genre here, but there's a whole plethora of other influences as well. Listening to the album she reminded me at times of Kate Bush, Joni Mitchell and a couple of dance tunes are reminiscent of Kosheen too. It was apparently four years in the making, it certainly sounds well produced, like love and attention has been thrown at it in spades.

Whoever plays the piano is also worthy of a special mention, I really loved the piano work in all of the tracks, absolutely beautiful and compliments Phildel's angelic voice perfectly.

A highly recommended album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice voice shame about the song writing, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Disappearance of the Girl (Audio CD)
Just felt I had to counter some of the slightly over the top praise this is receiving its a case of nice voice shame the songs are so repetitive and all sound the same. Its like one good idea/chorus/line spread over an entire album which is ok if you like that kind of thing personally I have very wide tastes musically and like variety this sadly doesn't really offer much if you've heard one song you've heard them all some people like that and that's fine but me I ask a little more the phrase that keeps lurking in the back of my mind is this generations Enya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

The Disappearance of the Girl
The Disappearance of the Girl by Phildel (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews