Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2011
I have always enjoyed psychology, and most of these theories are familiar, but without studying it formally I didn't have an opportunity to understand the roots of some theories I hear about. This book is so digestible, which is incredible considering its deep subject matter. A few theories just before dozing off is a lovely end to the day. In addition, the book is lovely, hard back, well illustrated and a joy to handle
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Don't expect ant real depth but the blurb is correct when it states it will give an overview. Probably more use as a springboard for further study on the pieces that catch your eye
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
I've been studying Psychology for 7 years and I was still drawn towards this book. Suitable for beginners to Psychology or for experts in their own field (by the time you start to specialize in an area you may have forgotten about some of the key thinkers and studies you learned about at the beginning- well I did anyway!)

I plan to buy the other books in the "30 second" series. It has a really aesthetic cover and the graphics inside are great- maybe I can finally get my partner interested in Psychology??

Would make a good gift.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This book, whilst not a manuscript for the inner functions of the mind and the way we behave, introduces the armchair observer to the world of Psychology. If you have ever thought that you may be interested in reading further into the human mind then this book introduces you lightly to many ground-breaking theories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Gives a very basic introduction to many different areas. A little dull and doesn't exactly get you hooked. If basic knowledge of subject is what you want then this is okay.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
I bought this book on the strength of other excellent reviews, and was not disappointed. It's very comprehensive, well set out, and tells you what you need to know about all the different theories and ideas in psychology to fill in the blanks in your knowledge and to enable you to talk knowledgeable to others. Recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I have a much greater interest in philosophy than psychology but found this book an interesting, concise, summary of a variety of psychological theories
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Excellent introduction to the subject and not complicated at all. Would recommend to anyone interested in psychology but not sure where to start.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
If like me you are just getting interested in psychology this is a good little book. It gives you a brief idea of the many different avenues to explore without getting heavy and I would say it is an interesting read and gives you ideas to explore in more detail.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having obtained a psychology degree in 1971 as a break from studying medicine, I was attracted to this as a refresher and amazed at the breadth and depth of information it contains. The contents are logically organised into sections with a welcome glossary of terms preceding each with illustrations. This should appeal to anyone with an interest in the understanding of behaviour on older theoretical but, more importantly, scientific grounds.

Subjects such as child development, social interaction, nature versus nurture, abnormal (disturbed) mental states and therapies whether analytical or cognitive are abundant in the media and conversation. It seems a greater grasp of these would be enlightening. My old books are long gone. The most noticeable development in emphasis has been the 'cognitive revolution'. Useful index and further reading advice. Excellent. Pick up and read at leisure. A bargain.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)