Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars early sixties gritty realism
As a genre it was reminiscent of films such as Saturday Night and Sunday Morning (DVD +Blu-ray), Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] capturing very well the post war societal and economic doldrums of British society. Though I think to really enjoy the film it would be necessary to have some period understanding or it could seem a bit weird.

More about Ginger than...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by gerryg

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "But we are different, you dream of everlasting love. Not me." (Contains minor spoilers.)
Hiroshima and the sixties Britain are the background of this short story of best friends, Ginger and Rosa, coming of age, in different ways. They smoke their first cigarettes together, iron their hair, experiment with the religion and join the Ban the Bomb movement.

But while Ginger (who is also, understandably, a poet) is full of ideals about better world and...
Published 11 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars early sixties gritty realism, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
As a genre it was reminiscent of films such as Saturday Night and Sunday Morning (DVD +Blu-ray), Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] capturing very well the post war societal and economic doldrums of British society. Though I think to really enjoy the film it would be necessary to have some period understanding or it could seem a bit weird.

More about Ginger than Rosa, (though her story is well told too) it's the struggle of a young woman in a dysfunctional family in bohemian circumstances, trying to extract some meaning from life at a time when it thought that imminent nuclear war was a likelihood and the future seemed bleak. (The Cuban missile crisis and origins of CND featured)

Some great character roles played by an interesting cast, including the amazing Timothy Spall and Annette Benning both delivering depth creating background roles, and for me, Christina Hendricks actually displaying acting talent.

It's an elegant film that captures something of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, beautifully shot and exceptionally acted., 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
Against the background of the cold war in early 1960's London the tensions in a family are exposed through the eyes of a young girl. Does not sound that exciting. No car chase, no CGI monsters! But this is a film to watch. Watch it for the story and for the questions it raises about the tensions between responsibility to ones self, to the word around you and to the people you love. Watch it for the atmosphere and scenes of 1960's London. For the beautiful soundtrack. Most of all watch it for the acting. A brilliant cast but Elle Fanning (at 13 cast as 17 year old Ginger) shines above all in this film. Her acting is outstanding in this. The depth of emotion she portrays and the skill with which she does it deserved far more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "But we are different, you dream of everlasting love. Not me." (Contains minor spoilers.), 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
Hiroshima and the sixties Britain are the background of this short story of best friends, Ginger and Rosa, coming of age, in different ways. They smoke their first cigarettes together, iron their hair, experiment with the religion and join the Ban the Bomb movement.

But while Ginger (who is also, understandably, a poet) is full of ideals about better world and worries about the missile crisis and the fatality of the world as we know it, Rosa's heart (full of teen hormones, I'm sure) takes her a different way. There won't be any spoilers here if I say that Rosa becomes romantically involved with Ginger's pacifist father (I guess the nihilistic ideals appeal to some 17 years old). You see this coming from the first scenes of the film and this is no big surprise.

And here you have it: both girls coming of age. 1 hour and 20 minutes after the film started.

I was expecting quite a lot from this independent production, and in truth am quite disappointed. Elle Fanning's acting is superb, but you get tired of her being on the verge of tears most of the film, and compared to Elle's character Ginger, Rosa (played by Alice Englert) gets too little screen time. The talent of Christina Hendricks is also somewhat wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someday You Will Come Along, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
'Ginger & Rosa' is a coming of age film, not my coming f age and not yours, but Gingers and Rosas'. Teenagers in The late 60's in London, during the 'Ban The Bomb' movement, they become involved because it is in their genes.

Thisis a quirky film, trite at times but very true. Ginger played byElle Fanning is an exquisite young woman of 17. She lives with her parents, Anoushka, played by ChristinabHendricks ( a strange choice ) and her father, Roland. Roland is an teacher and artistic sorts and a protestor by choice. He is also unfaithful, multiple times it appears, as the parents separate many times. Rosa, played by Alice Englert, is the daughter of Anouska's close friend, father left at an early age. Ginger and Risa grew up together, and they are best friends. Haddad their first smoke roger, hitchhike to the protests together. They are always together until something pulls them apart.

Ginger's parents are part of a left wing group,which includes a gay couple played by Timothy Spall and Olver Platt. Another friend, in a very bitartrate, Annette Bening, plays a rigorous leftist. A strange pairing, and why these
actors chose these bit parts in this simple film is a question. The protests pay a major part in the film, but it is really the relationships of these young girls and their coming out parties, so to speak. Rsa becomes more interested in sex, and Ginger moves on with her protests. The relationship of the girls suffers as does Ginger's parents. Not good role models., as they come to realize.

This film dragged for me in parts, and I was anxious to see what would occur. What I I'd discover is that Elle Fanning is a beautiful young woman at the age of 13, and a terrific actress. The rest of the cast where fine, but a motley crew. Interesting film, but not one I would recommend.

prisrob 08-23-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really moves me, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Exceptionnal actresses performances. When you see a movie by Hitchcock, each plan starts with a good photography and then the play moves inside the frame. In Ginger & Rosa each frame is a pic of the year. So visually one gets enough beauty... So I found everything perfect except maybe Sally Potter has a chip on her shoulder with intellectuals from the sixties. Unfortunately I was there in 1962 and there were no demonstrations because nobody knew what was going on. I think maybe there is an Elle Fanning effect to movies making. Suddenly the whole team wakes up and creates a masterpiece, like in Super 8 and Somewhere. So I over expect Maleficent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking out., 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
Ginger and Rosa are two teenage girls finding their paths in 1960s England. Conveying the naivete of growing up in the 60's, where all things seem clear cut, this film examines the freedoms and risks of the generation. The contrasts between the two characters, childhood friends, are jarring, as they often are in real life. Whilst Ginger looks like the one who is going to challenge attitudes, it is actually Rosa's behaviour, and that of Ginger's parents, that rap hard against the prevailing conservatism of the day. At times inspiring admiration, at other times inspiring disappointment, these two central characters, and the fantastic supporting cast, will certainly make you think and feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ginger and Rosa, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
This should have been an intriguing tale of two youngsters' relationships. In fact it became a little lost in unreal love situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coming of age drama., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
Unusual story, which I enjoyed, but not entirely my cup of tea. The two young leads look destined for greater things though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Friend Review, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for a friend's birthday and she loved it.

She text me saying she watched it and said it was wonderful and it made her cry lol

The product itself landed on mu door in good time and in excellent condition.

:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elle Fanning shines. She's never been better, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Guruka S. Khalsa (Sunny New Mexico, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger & Rosa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is what I'd call a chamber piece. Its a small but powerful bitter-sweet coming of age story with great ensemble acting and an absolutely knockout performance from Elle Fanning who acts with amazing depth and feeling for a young woman of her age. Though just 14 when this was made, she is acting a 17 year old character. Best thing she has done since "Phoebe in Wonderland" which I loved as well.

This is not a "great" film by any means but well worth seeing for her performance alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ginger & Rosa [Blu-ray]
Ginger & Rosa [Blu-ray] by Sally Potter (Blu-ray - 2013)
£11.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews