Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I love every song! The man is a genius, I'm looking forward to his next album already, will have it on pre-order!
Published 14 months ago by Ms Sarah L Stokes

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive, happy pop
Company is essentially just inoffensive, moody pop as the cover suggests, it depicts Burrows in a brooding manner, posed in black and white for a morose effect. The musical side of things is fairly depressing with its soft acoustic guitars, mellow piano accompaniments and Andy Burrows' comforting voice that croons forlornly throughout.

Title track `Company' and...
Published on 18 Nov 2012 by ktvowles


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
I love every song! The man is a genius, I'm looking forward to his next album already, will have it on pre-order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this download after hearing a track on the radio., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (MP3 Download)
Bought this download after hearing a track on the radio and before realising that Andy Burrows had written the soundtrack for the new Raymond Briggs short movie. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 28 Dec 2012
By 
S. Crofts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
Well worth the purchase. I love listening to this beautiful music. Never heard of Andy Burrows before but will be buying more of his music in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive, happy pop, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
Company is essentially just inoffensive, moody pop as the cover suggests, it depicts Burrows in a brooding manner, posed in black and white for a morose effect. The musical side of things is fairly depressing with its soft acoustic guitars, mellow piano accompaniments and Andy Burrows' comforting voice that croons forlornly throughout.

Title track `Company' and `Shaking The Colour' are huge nods to Burrows' I Am Arrows days and their sound is almost identical to any track from Sun Comes Up Again. However, `Maybe You' is a delightful number featuring bells, tambourines and other interesting percussion which keeps the steady beat throughout. Burrows' gorgeous voice layers over the top in a beautiful melody and towards the end comes a 30 second jazz interlude. This features clarinet, brass and piano instruments amongst others which all at one point take centre stage providing an exceedingly charming twist to Burrows' usual guitar pop.

`Hometown' is a triumphant track full of swelling strings and emphatic drum beats which showcases Burrows' rich, deep vocals whereas `Because I Know That I Can' is cutesy folk, complete with wispy falsetto and a higher than high harmony line. `Somebody Calls Your Name' is one to listen out for as it has a solid hook that's bound to capture the public's heart. `Pet Air' begins with a slightly off-key acoustic guitar and vocals before tambourines, harmonies and swirling strings are added. Andy Burrows is making good music there's no doubt about it, it just doesn't break any boundaries.

Company is an attractive combination of mature vocals and folk inspired melodies that won't fail to charm. In some respects this album seems good, very good, in fact it has all the components of a respectable album and more. But some may argue it's just not adventurous enough to make something of itself. Andy Burrows has been sticking to the same formula throughout all his projects and this album is nothing new. The thing is, it really doesn't need to be, it's great as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is definately good 'Company'., 28 Jun 2014
By 
Sarah P (Malvern, Worcs. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
Andy Burrows has a great voice, and the musical arrangements on this album are beautiful - 'If I Had A Heart' is a beautiful track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
Quite possibly the best album I've heard in the last 5yrs. It will be considered a masterpiece in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
a quite simply lovely album, intriguing , meaningful, so much so that I'm doing this review-I normally don't! I highly rate this, great sounds & will look forward to his next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My new favorite album, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (MP3 Download)
Such a lovely album, can listen to all the tracks over and over! Smooth voice, and relaxing tone to the entire album, glad I have this on my Ipod for those rainy, hot-chocolate days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - buy it, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (MP3 Download)
This was being played a fair amount on Radio 2 during 2012/13 and liked the singles so brought the album. Have played this to death and it still get regularly played now about a year since buying it. Saw Andy at the Fleece in Bristol last year and it was great to hear this in a small venue like that and the quality of the material stood out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Audio CD)
It has all his latest singles on it and other great tracks too. Easy listening pop. I look forward to more stuff from Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Company
Company by Andy Burrows
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews