Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy eligibility verification (from a .edu domain); many features...
...and largely the same as version X.

First, the technical discussion:
Even with many free or low cost .pdf creators available, ultimately these Acrobat alternatives are all trying to do what Acrobat Professional does, and sometimes the workarounds stop being worth the effort.

My principal uses of Acrobat are:
-importing documents from a...
Published 17 months ago by North American Technology Consumer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good seller but the worst ever support from a software company!
The seller tried their best and refunded without any problems.
Adobe however was an absolute nightmare!
For installation the product requires serial number that needs to be applied for from Adobe.
Online system did not work. I spent hours on the phone with Adobe sent proof of eligibility several times by email. Never received the serial number. Gave up and...
Published 19 months ago by Rainman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy eligibility verification (from a .edu domain); many features..., 5 July 2013
By 
North American Technology Consumer (Mid Atlantic, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
...and largely the same as version X.

First, the technical discussion:
Even with many free or low cost .pdf creators available, ultimately these Acrobat alternatives are all trying to do what Acrobat Professional does, and sometimes the workarounds stop being worth the effort.

My principal uses of Acrobat are:
-importing documents from a scanner
-shift content between Word and .pdf formats
-a virtual printer for my laptop when traveling
Acrobat does all of these functions nicely. While I'd have to deliberate for a long time on the regular retail pricing, for my purposes the academic license price is worth it,as Acrobat delivers these functions in ways that are reliable, predictable and intuitive.

Downloading and installation was problem free. Remember not to confuse the Amazon product code (provided by Amazon at time of purchase) with the Adobe product key (provided by Adobe *after* confirmation of your educational affiliation). After installation, you can ignore the initial prompt for the Adobe key: instead launch the 30-day trial version, and enter the Adobe key later (after Adobe has confirmed your academic pricing eligibility).

Amazon provides detailed instructions on how to establish eligibility for the academic version. Your experience may vary, but mine was easy. Since I used a .edu email domain for registration with Adobe, no other documentation was needed (although I was prepared with both a faculty ID card and a recent pay slip). Academic status verification with Adobe via my .edu address resulted in immediate delivery of an the Acrobat product code and confirmation of eligibility.

Finally, although this pricing is certainly far better than the consumer version: always check with your own institution to see if they have arrangements with Adobe that can make it available for your personal computers at even deeper discounts (my school does, but for this product availability is via DVD...and at near-future date that is still TDB).

Licensing for this version allows installation on two computers. While Adobe's registration servers clearly enforce this, contact with a customer service via a toll-free number took less than 10 minutes to resolve a situation where I was unable to uninstall from one computer due to a hardware issue. Pretty easy...

Finally, if you are already using Version X, I'd skip this one (unless you just have a "current version" jones!) there are no significant changes to the interface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good seller but the worst ever support from a software company!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
The seller tried their best and refunded without any problems.
Adobe however was an absolute nightmare!
For installation the product requires serial number that needs to be applied for from Adobe.
Online system did not work. I spent hours on the phone with Adobe sent proof of eligibility several times by email. Never received the serial number. Gave up and returned software for a refund.
Now downloaded a public domain package for free and it was installed in minutes and works fine.
Acrobat 8 is available for free download on Internet provided you do not have Win 7 or 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acrobat XI, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
A great improvement over previous version. The ability to transfer from PDF to Word and other formats is worth the money alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very supple software, 11 Dec 2012
By 
deano (leicester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
after converting from CS2 to CS5 i was disappointed to find acrobat was not included and had to buy it separately. money apart though it is a great improvement on the old one. file conversions are better with total editing without the need to go through illustrator. if you have the need to mess around with PDF's then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best way to buy, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
Got me out of a hole without having to spend a fortune. If you are eligible the student/teacher is the way to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Registration process was a nightmare, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
We found it very hard to navigate the website and resorted to the HELP CHAT ! Even now 5 days later we have not got approval and been supplied with the final product reg code!! Even after submitting all the correct proofs as required!! We will send it back if we don't hear in the next 24 hours from ADOBE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Program but restricted to certain groups., 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
Excellent program provided you are a Student or Teacher but you must prove you are genuine to the satisfaction (online) of Adobe.com. Certain Registered Charities are also acceptable subject to Adobe's satisfaction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value. Does what it says on the box, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
Good value. Does what it says on the box. It was a bit of a hassle to get the code needed to install it from Adobe, but once I did, downloading was easy, and it works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product. Great price., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
Worked without any problem for me.
Just had to get the serial number from Adobe by an online chat & attach a copy of my staff card. Brilliant price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win (DVD-ROM)
This software does what it says on the box.
There are a lot of features and as I was website building it was perfect for my needs.
Would definately recommend this software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win
Acrobat XI Pro Student + Teacher (Online Validation) Win by Adobe Systems Inc. (Windows 2003 Server / 7 / 8 / XP)
£75.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews