Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is one of the best books avaliable on the Rhodesian war. Couldn't put it down, it's well written and i would recommend this to anyone.
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Mr. N. Glover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten conflict
Interesting worth reading if u do not have any knowledge of this forgotten war
Published 1 month ago by simon payne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. N. Glover (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books avaliable on the Rhodesian war. Couldn't put it down, it's well written and i would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOCKINGLY HONEST, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Nico (Australia) - See all my reviews
I ended up reading this book when I became aware that a relation had fought in the Rhodesian Bush war. I have to admit to knowing little about the conflict prior to reading this book. Despite being quite shocked by some of the content and events described I had to admire the authors courage for telling it how it was from his persceptive. The book is nothing if not shockingly honest and certainly worth reading if you want to know more about the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in the Rhodesian War, 19 Nov 2007
By 
A. McCulloch "AJK" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very personal and moving account of a young man's experience of war. I could not put it down and found it graphic and deeply honest. There is no rosy glamorising of conflict. This is a great book about a forgotten war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
A great book of seemingly total honesty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reality of War, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
Not totally politically correct - but a worthwhile read, and covers a brutal war very well. I'm very happy to have bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing yet gripping read, 29 May 2013
By 
Philip King (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
Having developed an interest in the Bush War I soon found that this book was a 'must read'.
It gripped me from the start, from the harsh training regime through to the even harsher realities of bush warfare.
The author manages to convey a sense of what it must have been like to have been there, from black humour to war crimes, nothing is spared from the reader.
If you have any interest in Rhodesia and the Bush War, this is highly recommended, the only down side is numerous grammar and spelling errors, a common theme with Kindle books in my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent must read, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book and well worth a read .
It may offend some people in places along with comments but the author pulls no punches and says is as it was
The was a war situation and sad fact of any war things happen that would not occur in peace time situations .
I think Chris gives a very good insight as to what actually went on with no additional padding to make it sound like a cowboy and Indian affair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So that is how it was!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
As someone who "took the gap" early in 1970 I am more disinterested in the lives of those who did not. Chris Cocks has written in a way that touches the heart of any "Rhodesian" and describes the futility of that war. John Cronin`s "The Bleed" adds to this account and gives a more strategic angle to the story. Brave men and good soldiers both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account of real war, 18 Mar 2013
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
The Rhodesian war ended only in 1980 but is now almost forgotten outside Southern Africa· The men who served in the Rhodesian Army, black and white thought they were fighting to save their country from communism, anarchy and dictatorship· History will be their judge as to what has happened since in Zimbabwe· This is a brutally honest account of the bitter bush war and what life was like for a young man in the elite Rhodesian Light Infantry· It becomes apparent towards the end of the book that for many of the teenage boys and young men who served in this unit, the mental scars of this war in which they never lost a battle but ultimately lost their country, will never heal·
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A First class account of life as a combat troop., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireforce: One Man's War in The Rhodesian Light Infantry (Kindle Edition)
FIREFORCE is a must read account of personal combat experience. Brutally honest it pulls no punches of the authors feelings during contacts, the aftermath, and the boredom of barracks life.
A must read for anyone interested in Rhodesia and a must read for any British combat troops deploying on COIN operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews