Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend still brings surprises and emotions
Yes I'm a Malmsteen fan since 20 years now and I like everything he's made in his 30 years long career.
I don't understand why many haters around and nostalgic always repeat same things. Yngwie today cannot be the one who broke out with his *Rising Force* and *Marching out* he's not 20 years old yet and yes, sure those albums are still legendary and explosive. BUT...
Published 19 months ago by BadBlood

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what is going on here?
The man is a master, however, this is not a classic by any means......and way back in time I worshipped the man......roll on a few decades and......there is nothing new here - same old runs but badly produced - the drums are particularly poor and where is the bass in the mix? You cannot fault the guitar for technical abilty but this is faded and past in terms of tune...
Published 19 months ago by D. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what is going on here?, 11 Dec 2012
By 
D. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Album-Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
The man is a master, however, this is not a classic by any means......and way back in time I worshipped the man......roll on a few decades and......there is nothing new here - same old runs but badly produced - the drums are particularly poor and where is the bass in the mix? You cannot fault the guitar for technical abilty but this is faded and past in terms of tune. Maybe the man is finally done........RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No progress, sadly., 27 Dec 2012
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spellbound (MP3 Download)
I'll start by saying that Yngwie is one of my favourite guitarists. When I first heard him back in the 80's I couldn't comprehend what he was doing, but I loved it. And I bought everything he recorded.

However, over the years things have turned sour.
Yngwie seems to have forgotten how to write a proper song. Choruses have disappeared to be replaced by a repeated single line, melodies are re-hashes of past tunes, gone are the hooks (remember I See the Light, Rising Force, even Heaven Tonight?), and instead we have metal.
But not that good metal.
The revolving door for vocalists has continued.
And the insistence of doing everything himself doesn't help either.
At least in the past he's use an external producer, mixer, maybe get the vocalist to help with lyrics or melodies.
But not for some years now.
And it shows.
The last album I'd say had a decent collection of songs was Face the Animal, apart from the occasional moment (Bogeyman on UtF).
And now Yngwie's decided to ditch the whole band and do everything himself, even sing.
So the drums sound artificial - which they are.
The production is poor. The mixing ain't great either. And the vocals...Yngwie's a reasonable singer (his backing vocals live are perfectly decent), but lead vocalist he isn't. He doesn't have the power or the range for the type of stuff he writes normally.
At least there are only 3 vocal songs here, but the vocals are buried, over-produced (and the layering of harmonies is very poorly done) and he needs serious guidance with his phrasing.
Elsewhere we have a collection of neoclassical instrumentals (with a few nylon string moments) that are OK in isolation, but not as a full album.
I assume there was a financial reason for coming up with an album like this. It'll probably do OK, especially in the Far East, where he has a decent fan-base, but it certainly won't gain him any new fans, and there's no way Yngwie can perform his older material without a proper vocalist live.
I've listened to the whole album, and this'll be the 3rd one in succession I won't be investing in.
I'd still see him in concert, but he badly needs guidance before he disappears completely up his own derriere.

Sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe some of his finest playing but as usual,nothing new., 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: New Album-Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
He is still out front on his own in this style but he cannot find anything except variations within it. I keep hoping for another Trilogy or Attack but I fear those heady days are past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend still brings surprises and emotions, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: Spellbound (MP3 Download)
Yes I'm a Malmsteen fan since 20 years now and I like everything he's made in his 30 years long career.
I don't understand why many haters around and nostalgic always repeat same things. Yngwie today cannot be the one who broke out with his *Rising Force* and *Marching out* he's not 20 years old yet and yes, sure those albums are still legendary and explosive. BUT he's still there his music has evoluted, his guitar (incredible to say) is still growing, his playing became like a talking, a language; guitar speaks. NO it's not all for everybody probably you've to arrive to listen and understand today's *Spellbound* after that you know most of Yngwie's music. Today his playing is more instinctive, solos are less *sit down and write music* and probably it's more difficoult to follow him; it's like the difference between a novel and a poetry - it's sometimes less understandable at first but more deep and when you can get it, it's totally amazing and enjoyable.

About *Spellbound* yes, he did it. Beauty, speed, technic, emotional playing - everything is there for every taste. Guitar sound comes direct, strong, bright like never before and yes it may even cover the rest - but who ever said that you want lo listen to a bass line so well ? *If what you listen sounds good it means it's good* (quote YJM) and it does.
Yngwie sings here on 3 tracks - the rest is instrumental. His song is for sure the bluesy *Let sleeping dogs lie* as it was *Magic City* or *Look at you now* on previous albums.
*Spellbound* title track runs and beats crazy; *High compression fugue* became one of my favourite ever with an incredible game of 2 guitars; sweet and emotional are the short *Electric duet* and the leaves-me-breathless *Requiem for the lost souls*: here is all Yngwie's essence of playing; can't describe, just need to listen.
*Iron Blues* is for many who asked Yngwie to play blues stuff (it's not a masterpiece but he nailed it). The rest is a good balance with acoustic parts wonderful themes and crazy sweep picking arpeggios chains (*Majestic 12* *God of war* and *From a thousand cuts*).

Overall a great quality work, Yngwie didn't make a wrong one since *Perpetual flame*; if I was asked the usual question *just keep one: which ?* I used to choose the last one since then. There must be a good reason.
He's back again and will not quit !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 Just found its best album., 12 Dec 2012
This review is from: New Album-Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Spellbound is rock star with the rock and star fully intact and on fine form.It is well written,wonderfully driven,and featuring the classiest classic inspired and the sassiest blues you'll ever wish to hear.Yngwie Malmsteen is one of Rocks favourite sons,a legend, and here he connects magnificently with multiple music genre loving audiences on many levels.Be it through his famous guitar genius or his not used often enough on albums,suprisingly good vocal delivery.A celebrated artist and incredibly multifaceted intelligent individual with a remarkable gift and talent.Spellbound is an album that burns brightly and sends shivers down the back of even winter himselfs cold embrace.Magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YJM ON A SPELLBINDING JOURNEY, 26 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: New Album-Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Yes that's right folks, Yngwie will take you on a musical journey around the fretboard of his famous scalloped necked stratocaster.

He starts off with the title track Spellbound and from then on in does not let up on the masterclass of neo-classical metal shredding.

Do yourselves a favour, get it and ROCK....!!!!!!!!!

YJM is still the best guitarist on the planet, and I am hoping for another album in 2014 to celebrate is 30th Anniversary of Rising Force...?

Until then PLAY LOUD...!!

Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Album-Deluxe Edition
New Album-Deluxe Edition by Yngwie Malmsteen (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews