Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Templars secret
Good read . Kept me interested all the way to the end.
Plot good with a few changes of pace in the story
Published 22 months ago by TangoFoxtrot

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Templars secret - oh dear
I received this book as a christmas present and was looking forward to reading it.

Now on page 400 and can't wait to get to the end. Not to see how it pans out but so that I can read something else.

Caedmon Asquith (ex mi5) seems to stumble through the story. Quite often reaching a dead end only to look up and find the answer to the next part of the...
Published on 1 Feb. 2013 by Scott51


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Templars secret - oh dear, 1 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Paperback)
I received this book as a christmas present and was looking forward to reading it.

Now on page 400 and can't wait to get to the end. Not to see how it pans out but so that I can read something else.

Caedmon Asquith (ex mi5) seems to stumble through the story. Quite often reaching a dead end only to look up and find the answer to the next part of the mystery staring him in the face.

The story does not seem to know whether it is written in the modern age or in a style of something you would expect from the fourties.

A bit dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - but it was boring!, 9 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Paperback)
I read and enjoyed the previous adventures of Caedmon and Edie. While the plots were very much in the style of The Da Vinci Code - the two main characters were so different from the usual fair I couldnt help but like them.
I can't say I liked them much at all this time round. Caedmon has become an over-the-top. overeducated "English gentleman" charicature. He spent the whole book either physically or emotionally wringing his hands over a daughter he has never met, nor knew existed until about page five in the story. If he ever had an skills as an MI5 agent - he's pretty much forgotten them in this book as he goes about with tears threatening his eyes or wincing over his sore ribs after getting beat up every few pages.

Edie is almost still Edie - but even though she is supposed to be Caedmon's partner, the importance of their quirky, unlikely relationship, which was so endearing in the first books, has been pushed aside in favour of the "relationship" between Caedmon and his daughter (the soap opera daughter who no one knew existed until she's suddenly added to the cast). Another reviewer said that she felt something was missing from this book - in my opinion - this is it. Caedmon and Edie - their relationship, their "can't keep their hands of each other" sex, the sense that they are a team. Edie isnt the partner in this book - she follows Caedmon around while he wrings his hands and tries not to cry.

The story itself was a slog to get through (I am baffled by comments like "fast paced" and "exciting" in other reviews). The Latino thugs had an almost superhuman knack of turning up in the right place at the right time (even the back seat of a rental car from out of nowhere). They were able to get plane tickets at the drop of a hat - and even with a ruptured kidney and sliced off hand one of them STILL has the tenacity to go for his gun! Another thug turns up while Caedmon is desperately searching the grass for a gun he has only just dropped - and said thug is not only holding this gun - but the other shotgun also just recently in Caedmon's (well his daughters') possession. I suspect magical abilities myself. The central "bad guy" was essentially a mad monk - ie yet another lunatic believing god has a special purpose for him.
Caedmon's daughter didnt inherit much of his intelligence either if, after escaping, she flags down the very first car she sees on a lonely stretch of road not very far from where she escaped!

The prose was unnecessarily complicated. It felt as if the whole thing was written in Caedmon's rather pompous vernacular and often read more like a Non Fiction book. You know it's ok to say "way out" occasionally Ms Palov - you don't need to say "point of egress" all the time. Another thing which annoyed me was the number of times Caedmon (or someone else) grabbed or grasped someone's "upper arm". A nice grab on the elbow or wrist would have been nice to break the monotony. References to this classical piece of music or that contemporary artists style only distanced the characters from the reader (well this reader) and slowed the pace of the story. I felt closer to Edie when she was munching chocolate biscuits out of a packet than when Caedmon is spouting French or lecturing a gun toting cardinal in Greek using a blackboard. Indiana Jones was a professor of arachaelogy but he was also cool!

Perhaps it's the central plot - ie The Truth About Jesus - which just didnt appeal to me. It's been done and redone and frankly since The Da Vinci Code - really doesn't need to be done again. Add to that the mad priest who wants to cleanse the Catholic Church and I have to say that Angels and Demons pretty much covered that too.

Towards the end I found myself skipping or skimming over paragraphs, tired of long lectures about religion or unlikely but convenient plot developments. In the end there is no greater indicator of a books enjoyment value than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A decent concept unnecessarily ruined by pretentious use of unnecessary and distracting language, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
A J Whitelock (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
Written as if the author was dependent on showing their knowledge of obscure words an phrases, if I ever read the words bete noire again it will be too soon. A shame as the storyline has merit, but the main character appears to slip between precocious historian and Hollywood action hero - a personality that doesn't come off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Templar Secret, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading about the Templars. This book was enjoyable but did not hold my interest as much as others on the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Templars secret, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
Good read . Kept me interested all the way to the end.
Plot good with a few changes of pace in the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the Facts Right, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
Some of the themes are grossly incorrect and therefore irritating. Although a novel, with an interesting story line, the background material, especially in relation to the reliability of New Testament documents, is severely misleading at best, and offensive to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - a fast paced thriller, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Paperback)
I bought this book in a mad rush on Brussels airport as I hate having nothing to read on a flight except work stuff. So I did not paid too much attention what I have bought, but I was very and very positively surprised by my purchase.

From take off till I finished it a few days later I was hooked. It is fast paced thriller, with nice twist and turns. Very entertaining.

As with all this kind of books I do not understand why one takes the religious dimensions serious. It is a novel, a thriller, not a religious book.

So just enjoy the story. I have already ordered my second book by C.M. Palov.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 29 May 2013
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
Sorry, but quite possibly the worse book I've ever read. Off the shelf stereotypical characters all the way. When the world is so full of "Da Vinci Code" style books, this is one we could quite happily do without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
One of the worst written books I have ever read. A dreary plot, stretched out over far too many pages with endless boring padding quite superfluous to the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Palovs imagination, 26 May 2013
This review is from: The Templar's Secret (Kindle Edition)
A tale filled with lots of unnecessary and imaginary words. At times disjointed and tedious,doesn't flow or enthuse one to read another of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar's Secret
The Templar's Secret by C.M. Palov
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews