Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't See The Forest For The Trees
Joe Hill, in case you don't already know, is Stephen King's son. He's also a talented writer. Which isn't surprising. Either it's in the genes, or, more likely, Joe Hill grew up with the world's greatest writing teacher at his beck and call. What writer wouldn't benefit from having Stephen King as his live-in editor?

Anyway, In The Tall Grass is a short story...
Published 13 months ago by George Kelly

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I only paid 99p!
I have been reading King for many years and always look forward to a new offering but I was disappointed with this. I don't know where but I have read this or something similar before. Not sure if it was Children of the Corn. But the idea wasn't original. For me King has always been a writer who conjures up words which cause your imagination to run riot all on its...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by Glynis Margaret Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't See The Forest For The Trees, 6 Feb. 2014
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
Joe Hill, in case you don't already know, is Stephen King's son. He's also a talented writer. Which isn't surprising. Either it's in the genes, or, more likely, Joe Hill grew up with the world's greatest writing teacher at his beck and call. What writer wouldn't benefit from having Stephen King as his live-in editor?

Anyway, In The Tall Grass is a short story co-written by father and son: by teacher and pupil. And it's a good one.

Reminiscent of King's earlier work Children Of The Corn, it's the story of a sister (pregnant) and her twin brother who find themselves in the middle of nowhere, wading into a field of tall grass to save a lost child and his mum. Before long they realise they can't escape the grass. No matter how far they walk in one direction, they don't get any closer to the road or their car. Every time they jump up to look for the road it's either in a different direction or further away. They're stuck.

And the story goes from there.

It's a simple idea, but King and Hill milk it efficiently, constantly cranking up the tension and mystery of the tall grass.

The writing's fluid and engaging, although a couple things niggled at me, especially the references to current-day celebrity gossip and TV shows. King's known to drop in stuff like that, but it's usually a little subtler, or it's something vague such as mentioning Will Smith or Tom Cruise as a star, rather than a specific titbit of time-sensitive relationship-or-TV show gossip. This seemed more of a Hill affectation than anything. And it grated at times. Not a lot, but enough for me to notice it. It also makes the work, by default, anachronistic.

But that's just if I'm looking for flaws.

Other than that, it's an interesting horror story and worth the 99p. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy combination, 27 Oct. 2012
By 
G. B. Mendham (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
I do not know how much each contributed to this tale, but father and son have combined well to tell a creepy, unsettling story. They do not waste time with too much backstory and get straight into the meat of it. This leaves the reader to imagine how the church relates to the field, the origin of the item in the clearing, the role of the locals, etc.
I started this story late one night and had to force myself to stop so that I could get some sleep before work. The next morning I was reading on through breakfast. Finishing it was the first thing I did on return from work.
I hope that King and Hill do more collaborations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I only paid 99p!, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading King for many years and always look forward to a new offering but I was disappointed with this. I don't know where but I have read this or something similar before. Not sure if it was Children of the Corn. But the idea wasn't original. For me King has always been a writer who conjures up words which cause your imagination to run riot all on its own. With this story it is just a "slasher type movie" not clever but just blood and gore for the sake of it. Remember IT where just the thought of a clown and balloons could cause you to run a mile. For a short story Mile 81 was far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King does it again, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
King has a fantasticl imagination,great characters,with all the twists and turns of a maze.and frightening!!! This story,though short is as usual him at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tall grass, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
Could not put it down but then I am a fan off stephen king and this did not disappoint me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulls you in!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
I always love Stephen King novels and this is no exception. As always it has amazing characters which you really feel for. Quick to the point and in great detail, on the edge of your seat stuff - Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not long enough, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this short story, but wished it could have been more involved and that Amazon had said how many pages it was as I was looking for a nice long holiday read, but even so, really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
Great characters that although the story only takes place in a small area, still keeps the reader gripped until the disturbing end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excerpt of Doctor Sleep better than main event, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
Previously a big fan of Stephen King and new to Kindle Fire HD so this seemed like a bargain at 99p.

In the Tall Grass feels under developed both in characterisation and plot and any moments of tension are let down by pointless gore and a feeling of being clinched.

Doctor Sleep bodes well as a sequel to The Shining (which was the first SK novel that I read) and I have still to read the extract from the novel by Joe Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grassy told, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Tall Grass (Kindle Edition)
A brother and sister driving across Kansas with the windows rolled down, hear a young boy calling for help in the middle of a field of Tall Grass. Stopping to investigate, they enter the Tall Grass, become separated, and get lost in the Tall Grass. Then they can't get out of the Tall Grass because the Tall Grass is weird and you can never leave the Tall Grass once you enter the Tall Grass. Huh. Tall Grass, eh?

The premise is interesting: a field of Tall Grass that is somehow an evil living thing where no matter how close you can hear the people caught within it, you will never find them and so the characters are eternally ensnared within this bizarre field of Tall Grass. But then the story continues and gets progressively more of a chore to read, which is odd to say about a short story that's only about 50 odd pages long.

How can a tense and exciting scenario have the vitality sucked from it? Too much description, repetitiveness, and stupid limericks. The excessive goriness is the literary equivalent of the crappy "Saw" movies and feels like King is trying too hard to shock his readers. "In the Tall Grass" is a decent attempt at horror, at least in the first half, but only serves to underline how fresh his stories in "Night Shift" read today some 30 years after being published and how tired his work these days reads in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Tall Grass
In the Tall Grass by Stephen King
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews