Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!
I read this book while on holiday last week in the Aegean sea, where the book is set making it even more brilliant. Not expecting much from this book, I bought it with some reluctance, but it was by far a lot better than any other Raymond Benson books. It is the story of a Greek Cypriot terrorist group named The Decada, who are Pythagoras fanatics and are set on...
Published on 11 Aug 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced but too far fetched
To start with I was enjoying the story with plenty of action and gadgets but as I read on it became a bit tiresome they way Bond just kept getting captured, escapes, captured, escapes again and again. Sometimes it felt more Austin Powers then Ian Fleming as the villians kept having Bond at gun point or tied up and then he unrealistically escapes. The villians were not...
Published on 15 July 2008 by Scorpion


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Facts and Figures, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Facts Of Death (Kindle Edition)
Zero Minus Ten (1997) was the 1st 007 novel I read in the year of publication, so I'm fond of Benson's work. Though full of adolescent excitement (good enough for Fleming!) I'd worried they wouldn't have worn as well as Amis' or Gardner's contribution. In fact, they remain quite fresh.

Score: 7/10. The fragile peace between Greeks and Turks in Cyprus is threatened, as a Pythagoras inspired terrorist organisation (Decada) begins a wave of chemical and biological attacks. With UK peacekeepers caught in the middle James Bond is astonished to discover a link to M's love life. Benson freely admitted his 2nd novel was a Bond film in print and it shows, bursting with gadgets and endless Brosnan quips.

From the contrived 'pre-credits' chapter (007 leaping in and out of helicopters for little reason) to the big set pieces, it's fun: the baccarat game, helicopter stunts, cable car acrobatics & car chases (the XK8 no more outrageous than the DB III was in its day). It's reminiscent of the action oriented Thunderball (Decada obviously modelled on SPECTRE & a dry run for Benson's Union Trilogy) or Gardner's For Special Services. Once more the innovations prove stronger than the (nevertheless welcome) nods to the past. 007's relationship with the new (ie Judi Dench) M neatly anticipates the Daniel Craig films, while Bond, Helena Marksbury (his new secretary), Sir Miles and M's lover are particularly well drawn in the UK chapters.

Once into the USA, though, it's the wandering storytelling that lets it down. Overlong and ambitiously plotted, it tries too hard to cast 007 in the role of investigator at too many taped off crime scenes. Fans will enjoy revisiting From Russia With Love and Amis' Colonel Sun (looming large thanks to the shared Greek setting) and meeting Leiter again (for once depicted by an actual Texan). However the protracted USA sequence (police raids, explosions, comedy scene in sperm bank) is more like a daytime TV procedural- maybe a raunchy episode of Diagnosis Murder!

Jumping from scene to scene, it's uninvolving at times but a rapid read. Strangely action isn't one of Benson's strengths: plenty of it but it tends to sound anecdotal. More like a cartoon (the 1990s James Bond Jr. springs to mind) than a movie, it's probably the least likely 007 book ever. From the mathematical terrorists to the missile puzzle, why the Decada think their plans have a hope is a mystery. But then they're all as mad as a box of frogs.

Without the journalistic background of other Bond authors, it's a bit dense at times: one too many geography/ history lessons re: Cyprus and it's a better man than me who can follow all the maths. Though the girl's not very memorable she's sexy company, while 007's switched drinks again to The Macallan. Whereas Zero Minus Ten read as major league fan-fiction with a fun identikit plot made up of Fleming scenes in (broadly) one location, this has new ideas, multiple settings and a surprisingly dark tone. Purists will find much to enjoy and it's entertaining stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Bond, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Lee Hanley (London, England) - See all my reviews
This is very much the classic James Bond in the modern setting. All the well loved themes are present but in a very convincing way. The fact that it is not clichéd at all after such a long run for the character is a major achievement. The pace is very good, the background is up to date and James Bond is completely on form in every way. This book doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced but too far fetched, 15 July 2008
To start with I was enjoying the story with plenty of action and gadgets but as I read on it became a bit tiresome they way Bond just kept getting captured, escapes, captured, escapes again and again. Sometimes it felt more Austin Powers then Ian Fleming as the villians kept having Bond at gun point or tied up and then he unrealistically escapes. The villians were not really believable as they were too mad and incompedent to be taken seriously. If you simply want loads of action, gadgets, villians and their lairs and missiles and you couldn't care about realism then its fine but I prefere more gritty believable action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 11 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I read this book while on holiday last week in the Aegean sea, where the book is set making it even more brilliant. Not expecting much from this book, I bought it with some reluctance, but it was by far a lot better than any other Raymond Benson books. It is the story of a Greek Cypriot terrorist group named The Decada, who are Pythagoras fanatics and are set on starting a war between Greece and Turkey. They carry out murders to begin with... This incident brings the new female M closer to her agent 007 as she assigns him to get to the bottom of these murders... before The Decada carry out their tenth and most deadly crime. Felix Leiter makes a literary appearance too. The only critisism I would make is that Raymond Benson over-did the gadgets on the Jaguar XK8 a little, other than that it was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars James Bond meets Batman......, 20 Jan 2000
By 
Mr G M Seagers (Swanscombe, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed every single one of Ian Flemings, and then John Gardners versions of Bond. But Raymond Benson's version is not the literary one. If you like comic book heros, that is what he has tried to make Bond in this book, he even has the utility belt and a car that Batman would be proud to own.
Bond has always had a fantasy element, but the books have also been based on hard fact and been more about good writing than cheap stunts on every page.
This book may do very well in America because the writer is american, but that has meant JB has lost the essential britishness that was a large part of his character. SOme of the things he thinks or says just ruin parts of the book for anyone who has read the the previous ones, imho.
High Time to Kill by the same author is a better book, so I would recommend trying that if you have read all the earlier books, but if you like a (fairly)believable spy thriller, which is what the Bond BOOKS have always been, try John Gardners, which I personally think are far superior to this americanised comic book attempt.
That said, I did finish it which I haven't done for some books. But I have re-read the original and John Garner's novels at least 3 or 4 times. I very much doubt I will struggle through this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Facts Of Death (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, first of Benson's that I've tried and I wasn't disappointed. Highly recommended for all fans of the Bond genre.

Bluedave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Bond Or Old ???, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Facts Of Death (Kindle Edition)
It's great to have new Bond stories set in more up to date times but this version makes me think of Sean Connery in the role. Still a great read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Facts of death, 1 Feb 2013
Length:: 6:39 Mins

Supposed to be funny as well as a critique. Contains swearing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Put It Down, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Benson's done it again! A gripping book containg gadgets and girls....Bond style.An amazing book that I couldn't put down.The descriptive detail enables you to see Bond in another action-packed mission!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Words are Not Enough!!, 12 Mar 2001
By 
S. Worner "fivetrax" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Facts of Death MUST be made into a film. The plot is superb and the deadly virus scenario is something new for Bond. Tremendous stuff. I await the latest Bond novel 'Never Dream of Dying' eagerly. Thanks Raymond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f126e4)

This product

The Facts Of Death
The Facts Of Death by Raymond Benson
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews