Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Picked this one up late last night as I fancied reading something different - unfortunately I didn't spot that it was the second in a series, luckily it didn't matter too much. There were references to events in the previous book but I didn't find it detracted from enjoying this one.

The story really wasn't my usual kind of read but I finished it in one sitting...
Published 20 months ago by Finu

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor
I gave up reading this book. Having spent time in Jerusalem I though a thriller about it might be interesting. Just seemed to full of gratuitous violence and improbable coincidences which do not work. Have deleted book from my Kindle and would not recommend it.
Published 14 months ago by AJD Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
Picked this one up late last night as I fancied reading something different - unfortunately I didn't spot that it was the second in a series, luckily it didn't matter too much. There were references to events in the previous book but I didn't find it detracted from enjoying this one.

The story really wasn't my usual kind of read but I finished it in one sitting because the plot carried me along nicely and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. It was also a book that made me think about some of the things going on in the world right now - possibly not what I wanted at 3am but the mark of a good plot. I'm debating at the moment whether to go back to the beginning of the series or wait for the third installment, but will definitely keep an eye out for the author and any other books he releases. I'll also be recommending him to other avid readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long awaited sequel does not disappoint!!, 8 Dec 2012
By 
A. C. Williams "Aly21" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
I have waited to get my hands on this book after finishing The Istanbul Puzzle, which quite frankly was one of the best books I have ever read. The short chapters and the fast pace of the book make it a real page turner. You really feel like your with the characters, and the description of Jerusalem is so descriptive, it really captures the imagination. Buy the two books for anyone who loves a good read, and I promise that they won't be disappointed. Roll on no3!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost as good, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
Having read and enjoyed the Istanbul Puzzle I had to read the latest offering of the Jerusalem Puzzle . Well written with fast action and not spoilt by having too many character names to remember . Sadly this book did not hold my interest as much as the Istanbul Puzzle which is a great read . Too much time towards the end of the book spent trying to find the "lost " characters and the result was not totally convincing . It was still a good read and flowed well but for me it will have just missed its mark .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This cleverly crafted historical masterpiece is shockingly spectacular - exemplifying the intensity of a cracking thriller!, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Paperback)
This exquisite novel with its dazzling cover is something to treasure, for it contains such intricate detail as to take your breath away. The electrifying tension radiates off the pages as this thrilling, mesmerizing tale is as gripping as Dan Brown's `The Da Vinci Code' if not more so. I was swept into a mysterious world shrouded in conspiracy theories, deep-rooted history and ancient prophecies. The fast-paced, layered plot is something to loose yourself within as you unravel the truth bit-by-bit, reveling in the delights of the perilous backdrop that is so atmospheric. I was taken on the most thrilling journey to the exotic, piquant and vibrant Jerusalem where an ancient evil lies waiting hidden beneath a troubled, divergent civilization.

There is a single manuscript nearly all but forgotten, which contains the key to the greatest, shocking historical secret of all-time...

Sean Ryan and his girlfriend Isabel Sharp are exploring the ancient, mysterious city of Jerusalem when they find themselves drawn into a dangerous game with deadly consequences. Meanwhile in the same city Doctor Susan Hunter was translating an ancient manuscript, until it suddenly disappears without a trace. Behind Lady Tunshuq's Palace in the Muslim quarter of Jerusalem the archeologist Max Kaiser is found dead, with murder on the cards now no one is safe...

The sequel to `the Istanbul puzzle' (shortlisted for the Irish crime novel of the year 2012) continues the story from where it left off, by including the square and arrow symbol (that Sean and Isabel discovered within the Museum of Antiquities), in central Cairo near Tahrir square. Against the backdrop of the many Pharaohs, including notably King Tutankhamun's mask, this beautiful story is something that will delight those who enjoy exploration and adventure. The intriguing, fascinating historical elements are wonderful that combined with exciting action for a rollercoaster of a ride make this a splendid story and page-turner. Complete with photographs and information about Jerusalem this is a book dedicated to the city, its culture and is a testimony of the author's accomplished writing ability for he allows you to glimpse beneath the shiny surface and explore the unexpected!

This confident, convincing strong thriller is an undeniably remarkable piece of great writing, that is perfection itself and which I highly recommend. To find the answers to all the secrets and unravel the riddles one must delve deeper into the complexity of the plot, remicent of the detective /archeologist that is longing to explore and uncover so much. This fantastic book is a must-read and one that I cannot praise highly enough, for it unexpectedly surprised and overwhelmed me!

*I won a copy through a `GoodReads, First-Read' giveaway. I would like to thank the author, as I concider myself to be extremely privileged to have had this opportunity*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
I gave up reading this book. Having spent time in Jerusalem I though a thriller about it might be interesting. Just seemed to full of gratuitous violence and improbable coincidences which do not work. Have deleted book from my Kindle and would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 12 Mar 2013
By 
C. Dransfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
After read the Istanbul Puzzle I found this was another great book and would recommend it as a good follow on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good, 11 Mar 2013
By 
N. Gambles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
I read and really enjoyed the Istanbul Puzzle and was looking forward to this sequel, unfortunately it did not live up to its predicessors standards. It was still a good well crafted story but seemed to take to long to get going and if anything a bit predictable towards the end, having said that I will still be reading the next installment and hope it will be back to the standard of the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars puzzle, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
a bit slow and I struggled through to half way before giving up. I wouldn't recommend to anyone but there again other folk may enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninteresting, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Kindle Edition)
This is the only book I have read by this author. I found it hard to read in that it did not hold my interest. The whole story was rather unbelievable; the characters had no substance to them and the ending was predictable. Definitely not one to recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings Jerusalem to life, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Louise Ward (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jerusalem Puzzle (Paperback)
The Jerusalem Puzzle is Laurence O'Bryan's second book. It follows on from The Istanbul Puzzle published last year when the characters of Sean Ryan and his girlfriend Isabel Sharp were introduced, and is to be concluded in The New York Puzzle. It is however a stand-alone novel and you do not need to have read The Istanbul Puzzle to follow the story.

Starting out in the UK, Sean and Isabel hear that Susan Hunter of Cambridge University, who was working on a translation of manuscript they had found in Istanbul, has been kidnapped after travelling to Jerusalem. Also, an archaeologist Max Keiser has been found dead in suspicious circumstances. Unable to trust the investigation to the authorities, Sean and Isabel leave for Jerusalem to try to get to the bottom of the mystery.

Jerusalem turns out to be a city where everyone seems to know where you are. With the different religious quarters sitting side by side, O'Bryan manages to convey the atmosphere of the narrow lane ways and ancient buildings, of different religions and nationalities as well as tourists all moving about together. Helped by contacts in embassies and through Sean's specialist academic credentials they manage to open some doors but this does not guarantee safety and there are several major setbacks.

On top of all this there are outside prevaricators who are conspiring to bring about war in Israel. The revelation that Susan Hunter has translated could cause an international incident and the meaning of a particular 'glph', a square with a line in it is carried through the novel.

Author Laurence O'Bryan has written a tight and gripping adventure story. The characters have their own personal histories to bring to the story that adds depth and credibility. His research from visiting Jerusalem, as is seen from photographs and commentary at the end of the novel, shows through in the accurate description of the claustrophobic alleys of the old city, the arid rock strewn valleys outside Jerusalem and the border crossing points. You are taken from significant historical sites to modern 5 star hotels. Visiting a city in a novel is often more satisfying that reading a guide book and in this novel you certainly feel you have experienced the sights and sounds and suspicions of Jerusalem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jerusalem Puzzle
The Jerusalem Puzzle by Laurence O'Bryan
1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews