Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20th Century Blue-bloods
It's hard to imagine that there will ever be another book quite like this one; partly because of the death of letter-writing but mainly because it is hard to conceive of six astonishing characters as the Mitford sisters in one family - one sister a communist, another a duchess, yet another a bestselling novelist, yet another had Hitler as a wedding guest.

At...
Published on 21 Oct 2007 by Donald Mackay

versus
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A truly mixed bag
This is a difficult book to review. The editing is very well done. The layout it clear and the letters' contents are usually well annotated (though I wish this had been more continuous - should the reader be expected to remember that "Edwina" on page x is the same as that on page y, who is annotated on page z?)

The contents, though, are another matter...
Published on 2 Aug 2008 by Amsterdamned


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mitfords: Letters between Six Sisters (Kindle Edition)
Disappointed that this seemed rather disjointed but after all it is only a collection of letters. Expected a bit more insight into the lives of the sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mitfords, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mitfords: Letters between Six Sisters (Kindle Edition)
I am still reading this, it's a real insight into the ideals and ideas of it's time. A history lesson in letter form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl talk, 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. A. Clark "jimmy clark" (London, W8 England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mitfords: Letters between Six Sisters (Kindle Edition)
The story of the Mitford family is well known. They live again in this book. Good for fans of other people's letters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb 2013
Thank You! It was perfect, exactly what I expected from the description. The book arrived very promptly, and as it was a present for my sister before she moved to Florida this was very much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating insight into the lives of the Mitford sisters when writing letters was the done thing, sadly a lost art with the event of email etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Lou Windsor "Lou" (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating look into an early 20th century, aristocratic, eccentric English family.

One of those reads one can pick up and put down for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mitfords Letters between Six Sisters, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mitfords: Letters between Six Sisters (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, could not put it down. Wonderfull view of life, so well written, feel as if you were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not a review of the book, but Amazon's service, 8 Oct 2011
I ordered this item and paid extra for next day delivery. Amazon charged for the service but did not send the book within the time promised. Not good at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving the Mitford Girls!, 23 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading this book for a couple of weeks and I am loving it! It is fascinating and valuable piece of history documented in the life and times of this very interesting family. I know someone has said that they use too many nicknames, but they are listed in the front along with family trees, so no problem there! Also some people have not liked the politics and social views of some of the Mitford girls, but that is what makes them so interesting and it was just part of those times which was a class system like it or like it not, (and I am a commoner!)I have ordered more books about the Mitfords and also books that they have written, I can't get enough I want to know more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIVETING READING, 27 July 2010
If the Mitfords fascinate you, you won't lay this down. Such wit and cleverness between them, the art of letter writing is almost gone nowadays. A wonderful peek into life decades ago. Joy, adventure, gossip and such pathos towards the end........so sad as they all grow older and die off.
They are made of stern stuff and face what life throws at them, and share it so well with generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mitfords: Letters between Six Sisters
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews