Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ulrich back on form!
Have always been a huge fan of Ulrich, since seeing him at the Big Chill in 2002, where he took the audience by storm. This album, though darker than his first two, is sublime! Lusciously produced and beautifully packaged, this is electronica at its very best. If you are unfamiliar with his earlier work, then "Faraway Trains Passing By" is, in my opinion, a true...
Published 16 months ago by J. Rixon

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not usual standard
ok. i am a huge fan but this cd is just not as good as previous past efforts. their are about 3 good songs on it. but the rest just drones on. not the beautiful music that he usually produces. its one of those cds that you hear once or twice but just dont get the urge to play it again. total disppointment.
Published 17 months ago by GILBERT & GEORGE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ulrich back on form!, 12 April 2013
By 
J. Rixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
Have always been a huge fan of Ulrich, since seeing him at the Big Chill in 2002, where he took the audience by storm. This album, though darker than his first two, is sublime! Lusciously produced and beautifully packaged, this is electronica at its very best. If you are unfamiliar with his earlier work, then "Faraway Trains Passing By" is, in my opinion, a true masterpiece. "A long Way to Fall" builds on his earlier work, adding new layers and complexities. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not usual standard, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
ok. i am a huge fan but this cd is just not as good as previous past efforts. their are about 3 good songs on it. but the rest just drones on. not the beautiful music that he usually produces. its one of those cds that you hear once or twice but just dont get the urge to play it again. total disppointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the music, hate the CD's packaging, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Cinemascope (On your PC screen) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
In case Ulrich's more cacophonic tendencies aren't your thing, (I like it all, but I know some prefer his less edgy tracks) have no fear - this is up there with the best of his more melodic and reflective pieces from 'A Strangely Isolated Place' and 'Goodbye'.
If you've been a long-time follower, there are a few tracks that hark back to some of the mp3s he gave away free many years ago, in particular two from around 2006 or so, IIRC 'Ordeal' and 'Attraktor' are echoed in this album's consistently beautiful music.

My only issue is the packaging. Ulrich's albums have often come in cardboard sleeves with a plastic CD tray, I'm fine with that.
Maybe I'm just OCD about these things, but...
This one came in a booklet-style card case with a few pages of photographs - and the CD in a card pocket at the back, the sort of pocket that almost necessitates manhandling the CD to remove it, frequently doing so inevitably scuffs the disc. I hate this kind of packaging. I'd much rather the CD had a proper tray, however else it was packaged.

Rant over. Excellent album otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Bruce Percy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
Ulrich continues with the massive ambient soundscapes of his previous albums, but maybe the sound is more dense, like a big wall right in front of you.

Upon first listen, it is, what you'd been hoping for. Melodious, ambient, soft dark tones abound. He's pitched it just right. It's a development on his sound so far, and in some ways doesn't stray too far away, but in others, it's a refreshing new look on his music.

I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new CD, 25 Jan 2013
By 
OS (Bognor Regis West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
Rich, warm analogue soundscapes.Ulrich has blended a masterpiece of uplifting melancholy building on his previous work.
Songs have a more recognizable structure but all have the trademark Schnauss glisten and chime.
Love the chords and key changes on 'Like A Ghost in Your Life' and harder sonics of 'I Take Comfort In Your Ignorance'
A must buy for any fan of Ulrich ...looking forward to the next collaboration with Mark Peters of Engineers currently in the works !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ulrich, 23 Jan 2013
By 
J. Prior "Jim" (Grantham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
I like this just as much as all the other Ulrich albums I own. Not one bad track. I'm just letting them settle into my mind. I find the more I play Ulrich's music, the more individual tracks grow on me, and tease out their various subtleties, hues and shades of sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ulrich has Done It Again, 5 April 2013
By 
D. M. Monk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way To Fall (MP3 Download)
This is another grower.

At first it didn't compare to his earlier work....but it keeps coming back on my hifi and I think it has some outstanding tracks.

Well worth several listens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Way to Fall, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. Robert J. Mockett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
A Good Cd , if you like Ulrich Schnauss you will like this , though not as instantly likeable as his earlier work . A Grower maybe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potential Masterpiece, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way to Fall (Audio CD)
This album seems more introspective and perhaps less accessible than earlier works, continuing a trend set in the "Underrated Silence" album with Mark Peters. Bear with it - it grows on you, and creates resonances with your own experience of life. More complex and less hard-edged than Ulrich's early albums, it's a very worthwhile addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Long Way To Fall
A Long Way To Fall by Ulrich Schnauss
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews