Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Teaching of the Twelve Apostles
There is an active table of contents here, but for some unknown reason the publisher has gone for grey text in the main body of this, rather than black type. There is a foreword here as well as an introduction before the main text. I should point out that to those unaware of this work, it is very short. Like The Shepherd of Hermas it is unclear when this was originally...
Published 15 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended
Given the age of the original work and how few pages it has I was surprised to have to pay for a copy.

Although it some ways it was interesting it was not as helpful as I had thought it would be.

Stick with the scripture we currently have in the Bible - don't go looking as these other early works whose provenance appears to be uncertain.
Published 2 months ago by clive cheeseman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Teaching of the Twelve Apostles, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
There is an active table of contents here, but for some unknown reason the publisher has gone for grey text in the main body of this, rather than black type. There is a foreword here as well as an introduction before the main text. I should point out that to those unaware of this work, it is very short. Like The Shepherd of Hermas it is unclear when this was originally written, and as it says in the introduction this could be one person taking pieces from other works to create what are Church Orders. This could be indeed one of the earliest known catechisms. Coming under the writings of the Apostolic Fathers this is non-Canonical and thus not an accepted piece for the Bible, but for those interested in the Early Christian Church this is an interesting and quick read.

It is always interesting to see how perceptions and teachings alter over the years, so if you are into the history of the Church, then this is probably something of a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Must Read, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Wondering how the faith developed from the time of the Apostles? This is your answer. This is a small, easy read, and will answer a lot of your questions concerning how and when certain Christian practices came about, such as fasting and the Eucharist. Highly recommend reading this little jewel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Yet another great product for Amazon, such an easy way to shop

Many thanks Amazon another great product at a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Studying theology this book was recommended. This window into our early Christian past which was left out of our canon (bible) is a fascinating read and to think, it was left out only just as much as revelation was included!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Given the age of the original work and how few pages it has I was surprised to have to pay for a copy.

Although it some ways it was interesting it was not as helpful as I had thought it would be.

Stick with the scripture we currently have in the Bible - don't go looking as these other early works whose provenance appears to be uncertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Can't confirm what it says is the proper way things happened but it is an interesting read. I liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Daniel Ruy Pereira (Santo Andre, SP, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
As an historical text, this book is unvaliable and it show that Christian spirit have been the same across the centuries. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Good to know what the early church Fathers taught
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It saddens me., 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Didache (Kindle Edition)
Yes, it's short but here is a recipe for the harnessing of groupthink so that freeloading clerics can maintain their influence, prestige, power and wealth as adukts fear the consequences of their peers learning a free thinker or apostate is among them.

This "Didache" describes a practice by which groups are harnessed to a series of views are reinforced with multiple regular behaviours. If anyone drifts from compliance, they're self-identified as non-believers and worthy of being detached from the group (with traumatic effect even today: inestigate "The Clergy Project" for example). This is a description of who to avoid: anyone applying their intellect would be wise to keep quiet and be in fear of their enquiring mind being exposed. This is the culture our ancestors were stifled by (and many still are fearful of being "outed" with their questioning mind).

I'm glad to have read this and many other early religious texts. I've been looking for evidence of foundational characters and events being historic, not fictional. It saddens me that all I find supports the notion that religions are naught but zero-product industries whose customer base is maintained by the grooming of child who are, by their very nature, ill-equipped to see the scam for a scam. And, with their "balony detector" bypassed will be adults gullible to misrepresentations that texts such as this claim to protect us from.
Amongst the instructions herein are to bring your youths to god, not to stretch out your arm (for goods & money) or withhold your hand (to give). Yet the church charged crusaders fees for prayers while sending those same men to murder those with different beliefs in far off lands. I do not recall which Plantagenat king paid the Pope a crippling fortune for the throne of Crete. Clearly "The Didache" did ache then and continues to cause aches now.

Yes, read this, read "Popol Vuh", "The Hammurabi Code" and others so cheaply available of kindle. I hope that they enlighen you, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Didache
The Didache by The Twelve Apostles
£0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews