Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar by Charles Addison
The vivid way Addison writes this book makes it easy for the reader to visualise the world he's written about. Meticulously researched not only does he cover the rise and fall of the Templar's but the surrounding people, institutions and countries that were relevant to the time.
Published 20 months ago by Nokidding

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Written in 1842 - copious facts
Written in the 19th century, Addison gives copious eye-witness descriptions of events (both Christian and Moslem) without comment. Details of sources are fully listed for each chapter.

So we see the zeal of the early Templars, whose task was to protect Christian pilgrims when visiting Jerusalem. Later, the Templars gained immense wealth and influence, although...
Published on 7 April 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar by Charles Addison, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
The vivid way Addison writes this book makes it easy for the reader to visualise the world he's written about. Meticulously researched not only does he cover the rise and fall of the Templar's but the surrounding people, institutions and countries that were relevant to the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive account of the Templars, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Jerome Brown "Old Salt" (Marske , Cleveland , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
I am curious about the Templars, and this book has satisfied much of my curiosity. The author sticks to the facts as much as possible, but discusses the myths surrounding this enigmatic Secret Society at the end of the book. A very good read, if you are interested in this fascinating period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knights, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
Am enjoying reading the book but it's a gradual process rather than an avid read - mostly because I don't read Latin even though I can make out quite a bit of it. It's giving me a deeper insight into the part the Knights played and their acquired assets, lands, etc and I am keen to read the whole thing. Never ceased to be bemused by the effects that different religions have had throughout history, right up to the present time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Michael Puttick (Crawley West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
Interesting though quite heavy reading you need to want to know about the Templars before reading this book but well written,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well put together book, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
Good all round history of the knights, quite a bit of reserch gone into book.its a subject that have always liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Written in 1842 - copious facts, 7 April 2013
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
Written in the 19th century, Addison gives copious eye-witness descriptions of events (both Christian and Moslem) without comment. Details of sources are fully listed for each chapter.

So we see the zeal of the early Templars, whose task was to protect Christian pilgrims when visiting Jerusalem. Later, the Templars gained immense wealth and influence, although individual Templars took a vow of poverty. This wealth came from gifts from donors who felt they were supporting a worthwhile cause (and gained some spin-off). But then there are accounts of Templars' heresy and bizarre rituals. Were these claims of heresy needed to weaken the Templars' reputation in order to get at their wealth? Heresy does not square with the early zeal, apparently based on Christian beliefs. Many detailed accounts are given, so make your own mind up. I was surprised at the high level of gynophobia in many of the accounts.

I was less interested the second part of the book which focuses on the Temple Church in 19th century London. Addison does not say that the original Knights Templars were disbanded in the 14th century.

Having read this book, do I now understand the Knights Templars? No, not fully. The Knights Templars evolved and changed as an organisation - which probably accounts for some of the contradictions in their customs. Undoubtedly there was some corruption. They evidently had a medieval mindset which eventually sat uneasily in a world of growing trade and science.

Perhaps there are more recent accounts that look afresh the Knights Templars story? I hope so. Addison is strong on facts but weaker in interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars History mixed with Fiction., 16 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
No, no, no,no!! There are better historical books about the Templars than this. Disappointed is not the word as I have read other books by the author and found them to be excellent but Mr. Addison dropped the ball on this one. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A scholarly history of the rise and fall of one of the most famous orders of knighthood, destroyed by the Pope and French king., 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
It has taken me six months to finish this so let's just say it is not a gripping un-put-downable novel. It is, rather, an immaculately detailed and meticulously documented history of these noble warriors who fought for posession of the Holy Land from the Saracens. It should also be noted that it was written in the 19th C so some of the language and spellings are dated but not so much as to be unitelligible. I think Mr Addison also presumes a basic knowledge of Latin and French as many of his quoted sources are not translated.

My only criticism is that he should have devoted so much of the end of the book to the more modern use of the Temple in London which is really a completely different story and I think that this book would have ended better with the destruction of the Order and redistribution of its wealth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great times in history, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
An excellent history book, should be on any discerning history buffs list. I really did enjoy this book from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Knights Templar (Kindle Edition)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of the Knights Templar
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews