Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stenson Trio usher in new high water-mark for European Jazz
I should impart a sort-of vested interest here first; I am a huge fan of Stenson in any scenario. This recording distills everything that I love above his art: the confluence of deeply-felt musical essays and explorations, delivered with zen-like mastery, without bombast or ego, always serving the music. Stenson and his group just play. Yes, there are years of study and...
Published 22 months ago by S. C. Tams

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Graceful but....
It's difficult to know where these guys are trying to go with this album. At times the compositions sound like everything we've ever heard before ie. there's no edge that makes for a new listening experience; at others they seem to wander aimlessly for their own sake producing prolonged periods of unsatisfyingly sober, ponderous, almost flat music far removed from the...
Published 21 months ago by Nomad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stenson Trio usher in new high water-mark for European Jazz, 31 Oct 2012
By 
S. C. Tams (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
I should impart a sort-of vested interest here first; I am a huge fan of Stenson in any scenario. This recording distills everything that I love above his art: the confluence of deeply-felt musical essays and explorations, delivered with zen-like mastery, without bombast or ego, always serving the music. Stenson and his group just play. Yes, there are years of study and exposure to eons of music, notated or otherwise, that underpins a group of this stature, but this trio wear it very lightly; this is not geek-music and neither do they build monolithic monuments to their talent, they just make music you want to hear again. Need I say anymore? Well, just briefly; I reckon this might be Bobo's best trio record to date; there is a slow-burning depth to Indicum that may well accord it legendary status in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of 2012s top disks, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
Amazon requested this review weeks ago and the Xmas season has delayed my response. I would have given it 4 stars then but I can not keep it off the CD player since then, it has grown on me so much. Bill Evans "your Story' sets the mood an the ongoing story is beautiful gorgeous music. For want of better words ,it had me thinking Bach had been reincarnated. Ask for it in your Xmas stocking. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Indian summer of jazz?, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
In the early 1990s Bobo Stenson helped resuscitate the careers of Charles Lloyd and Tomasz Stanko and participated in the concluding release by Don Cherry (at least on ECM). Since 1997, bar two guest performances in 2002 and 2004 (the excellent "Change of Heart" by saxophonist Martin Speake and the intriguing if uneven "Parish" by Thomas Stronen) Stenson has limited himself to a release every 4 or so years by his trio in which Anders Jormin has been a constant on bass with Jon Christensen, the late Paul Motian and most recently Jon Falt on drums. This paucity of output and uniformity of instrumentation might suggest an absence of ideas and/or a happiness to play safe. Such suggestions are seriously wide of the mark because, as I said of 2008's Cantando, there are few groups who move from elegant tango to extended improvisation to restless energy and none I can think of who does so which such verve and ease.

Such words hold true. Three improvisations by the group and two compositions by Jormin and surrounded by an Bill Evans standard (the opening "Your Story", dedicated to Motian) to a Norwegian traditional to compositions by the great Danish composer Carl Nielsen and the contemporary Norwegian-born Ola Gjeilo.

While, after half a dozen listens, "Indicum" does not quite scale the heights of "Cantando", the highlights are many: the way the lush piano solo "Your Story" gives way to the spiky "Indikon", the first of three similarly-titled improvisations, the re-workings of the dissident German song writer Wolf Biermann's Ermutigung and, my favourite, Ariel Ramirez's "La Peregrinacion" (one of a number of interpretations of choral pieces on show).

Whether you have followed Stenson since the days of "Witchi-Tai-To" 40 years ago or are a newcomer, this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super Scandi cool, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
Once again Bobo Stenson and his trio work their magic. Repeated listenings provide new insights and nuances.
Like Bill Evans Bobo understands the use of pauses and silences during the playing of the music. This gives the listener greater resonance and opens many doors in the listener's imagination.
To lovers of the modern jazz piano this is a must. Bobo never fails to come up with the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOBO STRIKES AGAIN WITH THIS HIGHLY TALENTED TRIO, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
Bobo Stenson has been a stalwart of the Scandinavian jazz scene for decades now,His talent has illuminated many classic European Jazz releases,his style of playing is much more adventurous and influentiaal than the(in my opinion)vastly overated Kieth Jarret.
The cover ironically is very similar to Jarrets"Nude ants" double album.
I read another review of this album and it was very positive.
1 Your story(2.02)Some lovely melodic playing starts of the album,the tune is composed by Bill Evans.
2 Indikon(6.03) a drum beat introduces this Stenson/Jormin /Falt composition which features a lovely sounding piano
3 Indicum(3.10)The self composed title track
4 Ermutigung (5.08) i have no idea what the title means but it features superb playing by all three musicisns,it sounds s little like a well known cigar commercial.
5 Indigo(4.20)Andera Jormin leads this original trio composed tune.
6 December(4.55)this is an original penned by Anders Jormin,it is ballad of high quality.
7 La Peregrinacion(8.26) a highly evocative version of this Ariel Ramirez tune.
8 Event VI(3.11)composed by George Russell,whose legend runs high on ECM.
9 Ave Maria(7.48)a stunning version of the traditional tune.
10 Tit er jeg glad(8.42)the title means nothing to me but the playing is fantastic.
11 Sol(9.11) a more avant garde aproach works well wwith this tune.
12 Uhi Caritas(6.41)a plaintive and reflective tune finshes of this fine album,this is well worth investigating.

68.34

BOBO STENSON.....PIANO
ANDERS JORMIN.....DOUBLE BASS
JON FALT......DRUMS

RECORDED IN 2011 ,AUDITORIO RADIOTELEVISIONE,LUGANO
RELEASED 2012

VALUE FOR MONEY.....££££££
BEST TRACKS.....AVE MARIA.DECEMBER,INDIGO
PACKAGING.....JEWEL CASE WITH BOOKLET
PRODUCTION.....SUPERB

68.34

ECM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep in the dark heart of ScandiNoir, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
Bobo Stenson takes the piano trio on a tour of the dark heart of a Scando-Jazz. A sublime soulful delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Graceful but...., 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indicum (Audio CD)
It's difficult to know where these guys are trying to go with this album. At times the compositions sound like everything we've ever heard before ie. there's no edge that makes for a new listening experience; at others they seem to wander aimlessly for their own sake producing prolonged periods of unsatisfyingly sober, ponderous, almost flat music far removed from the rich lyricism of 'Cantando' or the alternately melodic, exploratory feel of 'Serenity'. It's a shame that after such a long wait we're given something so diffuse and mundane... by Stenson's previous high standards that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indicum
Indicum by Bobo Stenson Trio with Anders Jormin & Jon Fält
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews