Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, Strong, and Compelling
I was moved by this book's main character and the powerful narrative. A lot of people don't like the mixture of non-fiction and fictional elements in the book. I appreciate their perspective, but I totally disagree. The mixture of the two is genius. It moves the story forward and it also cuts out a ton of regular exposition that would be required. I found the screenplay...
Published 14 months ago by Penny Listo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok read
Quite an in-depth account of his feelings and his way of venting the frustrations towards his parents that he feels although I could not fully relate to the book ok did enjoy it
Published 18 months ago by tracie xx


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, Strong, and Compelling, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
I was moved by this book's main character and the powerful narrative. A lot of people don't like the mixture of non-fiction and fictional elements in the book. I appreciate their perspective, but I totally disagree. The mixture of the two is genius. It moves the story forward and it also cuts out a ton of regular exposition that would be required. I found the screenplay elements very interesting and compelling. I also like the book KERI and the book A MAN NAMED DAVE. They are other very powerful memoirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing true story, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
The author writes with daring compassion and narrates a forceful, harrowing portrait of lost childhood, capturing the profound intricacies of fear, rage, abuse and violence. A heartbreaking and utterly riveting, the book is an extraordinary work that accounts a true story. Whilst the book is short, it elicits deep thought on the topic and misconception in our society about abuse. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and compelling, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
This is a harrowing, heart-wrenching read. It's brutally honest and emotionally hard to read as the author did a brilliant job of conveying his emotions at the time, and now that he's recovering. Those who have been through it may find comfort in the author's honesty and those unfamiliar with such awful atrocities will learn a lot about the all too prevalent world of child abuse. A thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good honest account, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
a very good read which people who suffer from abuse may relate too, a honest account which i believe is well writen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but to the point, 8 Jan 2013
By 
L. A. Cruickshank "loopy lou" (west lothain, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
Was a good read was short but found myself relating! I think I may be surrounded by psychopaths! Worth reading x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly wrote, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
Could not get into this It is badly written a load of sentences jumping from one to another not good to get into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
Good book, heart breaking true story.
You can't imagine what other people go through in their lives. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Urgh terrible!, 17 Sep 2013
By 
V. Grealish (cumbria, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
All I can say is that it's a good job it's so short. A whole lot of words saying not a lot. I understand the want to help other people in the situation but quite honestly can't see it living up to the promise. Sorry P.K. Gallien, but wouldn't recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Paperback)
A beautiful read. Very heartfelt and emotional. Some sexual themes, which I wasn't always comfortable with. Very well written non-linear narrative at 140 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok read, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Abused Boy (Kindle Edition)
Quite an in-depth account of his feelings and his way of venting the frustrations towards his parents that he feels although I could not fully relate to the book ok did enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Abused Boy
An Abused Boy by P.K. Gallien
1.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews