Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Stuff, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2 cd set contains 40 late R&B/early Soul tracks from 1959 - 1961 which are now in the public domain (hence the value for money price tag). The sound quality on the whole is quite good, a couple of tracks sound like disc dubs though. There is no booklet but there is an intro on one side of the fold out card sleeve.

Cd 1. (49.25 mins). This cd contains lots of great tracks from stellar names such as 'Marv Johnson', 'Jerry Butler', 'Smokey Robinson', 'Etta James' and 'Fats Domino', unfamiliar artists to me would be 'Betty O' Brian' singing 'She'll be gone' which is very good and 'Don Mckenzie' pouring his heart out on the fanstastic 'Whose heart (are you gonna break now)'. Overall 8/10.

Cd 2. (49.56 mins). Overall not as good as the first disc this cd still contains great tracks by great artists such as 'Chuck Jackson', 'Mary Wells', 'Mitty Collier' to name a few. One such great track by the wonderful 'Ted Taylor' sadly sounds like a disc dub. 5/10.

Overall a good collection. Also check out another recent compilation in this vein 'The age of northern soul' by Outta Sight Records'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my husband great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with CD and mint condition and was sealed very good choice and well worth the money will definitly use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent R&B collection, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't be misled by the title - the word 'roots' is the key as this is not a Northern Soul collection in the normal sense. This is a superb compilation of up-tempo New Orleans-style R&B, largely dating from 1961. Dance on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music from the period, 28 Feb 2013
By 
B. Griffiths (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top rate music wel presented and the sound and reproduction first class. I recommend this disc
to all who enjoy Northern Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the roots of northern soul, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the mods really. A collection of little-known R&B stompers from the early 60s, mostly good, a few absolute blinders, and a couple of turkeys, but compilation albums are always very subjective. Good value for money.
I personally can't get enough of this sort of stuff and while I don't like some of the songs on this collection, well, what's a skip button for? These CDs are cheap and you can record all the decent tracks to make your own compilation.
If you like old 60s R&B but aren't too keen on the slicker sound of what is known as Northern Soul, this'll probably be a good buy. Specialist interest only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roots of Northern Soul. Various Artists., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD brought back many memories from
A time gone bye when I listened to these tracks
in the Manchester Clubs. So Good !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newly found - Northern soul, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only just started getting into Northern soul and find it brilliant and this will be right in at the beginning. My starting point in the library. I find it really something terrific to pick me up and take me back to earlier days. I should have been listening to a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit different....in a good way!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is a bit different to your usual Northern Soul cd's that all contain the same "classics". Love the fact that I've only ever heard a couple of these songs before. You can hear a definite 50's feel to the album but most still sound like Northern tracks. This is my favourite album at the moment, can't stop playing it. You won't spend a fiver more wisely than buying this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews