Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sepia 3CD set of Lionel Bart material...
I am a big fan of Sepia and have bought many of their CDs over the years. If anyone can do it then Sepia can appears to be their motto. I had never expected anyone to issue a 3CD set of Lionel Bart material and to be honest people seem to only ever mention Oliver! if you mention his name and yet there was much more to the man as this lovely set now shows. The CDs are CD1...
Published 24 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very average 3 disc set
first disc, very interesting. second and third discs, so so. a bit self indulgent. can understand why some of them were never 'smash hits'. that does not detract from the fact that he is very talented, but no Andrew Lloyd webber.
Published 3 months ago by bryson camage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sepia 3CD set of Lionel Bart material..., 27 Nov 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am a big fan of Sepia and have bought many of their CDs over the years. If anyone can do it then Sepia can appears to be their motto. I had never expected anyone to issue a 3CD set of Lionel Bart material and to be honest people seem to only ever mention Oliver! if you mention his name and yet there was much more to the man as this lovely set now shows. The CDs are CD1 Songs from the Shows; Lock up your Daughters; Oliver! & Fings with a studio cast led album. CD2 Popular Songs with songs from the likes of Sid James; Marion Ryan (Paul & Barry's mother); Adam Faith and many more. CD3 is Demos and Rarities providing recordings for Blitz!; Quasimodo; Golda and Gulliver's Travels. Good liner notes and sound remastering and even with some allowance for the rarity and sound quality on some CD 3 tracks this set deserves 5 stars for taking the time and effort to put out such a wide ranging selection of Lionel Bart material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Who will buy...?' - you should..., 19 Nov 2012
By 
James Hayes "JM Hayes" (Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sepia team behind this issue deserve a standing ovation for this brilliant 3-CD set. Anyone who already has the `live' cast album recording of `Fings' and `BLITZ!' should note that these selections presented here seem to come from a different cast album with full orchestration (the former featuring Sid James on some lead vocals). I'm pretty sure the same applies to the selections from `Lock Up Your Daughters and `Oliver!' The remastering, especially on the Pop songs, is superb, the selections full of gems - this is a real quality production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He was a genius, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Li was a friend of mine, we have had many great dinners together when he told me amazing stories of his life. Love all three parts of this CD, great variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful surprise, 1 April 2014
By 
Scotfan (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3 cds of vintage Lionel Bart musicals and singles written by him. Especially liked the material from the early 70s sung by Justin Hayward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius of Lionel Bart, 20 Mar 2014
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With 18 tracks spread over 3 CD's, this is triple album excellent value. Album One is made up of original cast recordings of his 3 stage shows Fings Ain't What They Used To Be, Lock Up Your Daughters and Oliver, with not a bad track amongst them. Album Two begins with his early songs for Tommy Steele, through Cliff Richard, Frankie Vaughan, Shirley bassey, Adam Fath and even Lionel Bart himself - all catchy songs that sound as fresh now as they did half a century ago when many of them were first recorded. Album Three is rarities and demos, most of which were new to me, including songs from long forgotten stage musicals but well worth hearing - for example, milwaukee from the musical golda, which i did't even know existed. Couple with three very listenable albums is an interesting and informative booklet. I am delighted with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNMISSABLE COLLECTION, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS 3 CD SET IS A MUST BUY. CD 3 IS A REMARKABLE COLLECTION OF DEMOS AND V RARE TRACKS MANY SUNG BY LIONEL HIMSELF SEVERAL ARE LISTED AS UNKNOWN PERFORMERS SO IF U RECONISE ANYONE GET IN TOUCH WITH THE LIONEL BART FOUNDATION.LIONEL SET THIS UP IN HIS WILL TO HELP PERFORMING STUDENTS WITH THEIR FEES.WELL DONE LIONEL WE MISS YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fings he wrote, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The spectrum of Lionel Bart's career is here on CD. He started by writing pop songs for Tommy Steele and others, then musical shows such as "Fings aint what they used to be", "Lock up your daughters" and "Oliver" after which his career so to speak "Twanged". He was a great tunesmith and very clever lyric writer, so the songs tend to be catchy as well as interesting.
All his songs appear to be here. Terrific when recorded by the cast or individuals, not so hot when composer and lyricist Lionel Bart performs, although interesting. A career and life cut sadly short. An amazing man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lionel Bart Is A Genius...Also A Moody Blue Justin Hayward Connection., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only came across this cd set by accident. I was more than pleased to purchase this set as there were many original Lionel Bart UK top 20 chart hits. I knew he was a prolific writer of songs, but having many of them under one 3cd set by Sepia was a genuine pleasure to listen. Its worth checking out the Sepia website for a full track listing as it may surprise you the number of hits on there.

There is also a Moody Blue connection via Justin Hayward. There are three demo songs recorded by Justin for Lionel Bart one of which is a duet. Although the voice is indeed Justins, you'd never guess it as the songs he's sung appear to be in his 'soundtrack' not 'Moody Blue' voice. It seems Justin was a regular demo artist for Lionel Bart songs and these three songs are worth listening to.

The Genius of Lionel Bart brings together many of his pop songs and soundtrack recordings. Visit the Sepia website for good look in the knowledge all the songs are original recordings by original artists.

Happy listening...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long time coming, 12 Dec 2012
From the first rumblings of rock'n'roll to the British Invasion is something few could claim but Tommy Steele was the first to make a rock'n'roll single with Lionel Bart's name on and 3 years later Cliff Richard topped the charts with Living Doll.
Along the way Bart wrote for Anthony Newley and all 3 were big names in the world of American musicals
His other musicals included Oliver Twist and Fings ain't what they used to be-the title song was a hit single for Max Bygraves and is in a sense an Elvis collectable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very average 3 disc set, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first disc, very interesting. second and third discs, so so. a bit self indulgent. can understand why some of them were never 'smash hits'. that does not detract from the fact that he is very talented, but no Andrew Lloyd webber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews