Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2012
This Cd is an excellent catch up of where Part is at the moment (although the two Lullabies were recorded some years ago). The performances of the music are good, emotional without sentimentality, and Adam's Lament in particular shows a certain robustness that is not always the main feature of what one might think of as Part's work. A great listen and worth adding to your Part collection!
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Fans of Arvo Pärt will not be disappointed. All his religion-inspired compositions express an unquestionable sincerity. "Adam's Lament" starts with the choir at full forte with minimal built up, giving anuncomfortable impression that one has started in the middle of the piece. But I keep coming back to "Beatus Petronius" (Track 2) and "L'Abbé Agathon" (Track 6) with delight.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Both choirs are really, really good and if you like Pärt's music and the ECM sound, what can go wrong? I bought this record because I have attended several concerts with the Latvian choir so I knew I would like this record and I really do. It is not the real thing (= live concert) experience but good enough when waiting for the next opportunity.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
very uplifting and has continued my love affair with Arvo Part. he is a great composer and his music always moves me and is great to contemplate life to.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Atmospheric modern music that feels 1000 years old and has huge spirituality. Highly recommended. Try also Part's wonderful Te Deum.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
If you love Arvo Part, you'll love this. The title piece actually is somewhat more lively than much of his recent stuff, but all the spiritual intensity is there as ever. Wonderful.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I am getting addicted to Part's music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
sublime
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Another superb recording of music by the great Arvo Part. I would recommend it to people who have other Part recordings or are new to him as a composer.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
only arvo part manages to take a complext prose poem and put it to music that sounds simple though it ofcourse is not
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.