Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 8 April 2013
By 
Elizabeth Shuff (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I couldn't put this book down and read it in one sitting. Completely unforgetable. I couldn't stop cuddling my children after reading this harrowing account of a little girl, no older than my own daughter, trying to survive and understand the horror of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all generations, 26 July 2013
This war-torn little girl is my Mother and I have never been prouder of her courage than in telling this story.
As Children, we knew the stories and we saw the heart break but it was not until reading this book for the first time that it had the most powerful impact.
As a mother of two daughters of my own, it is nothing but inconceivable to imagine what she and her Mother went through. She is a survivor of the most monstrous
childhood which given all that she has achieved since, is an enormous accolade to her. Educational, horrifying and beautifully written - this is a must read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A poignant and vivid account of the holocaust. Told through the eyes of a child, from a perspective I'd never considered or known about. I feel re-educated. Once I started I simply had to finish it. I felt transported into another world, to the point that I'd love to read a sequel to find out what happened next to so many people whose lives were touched upon. It can be nothing short of miraculous that little Renata survived...everything! What a blessing to future generations that she did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare childhood, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is well written, and from the point of view of a young child engulfed by the horrors of the last war and the Nazi regime.
I am in a position to know that it is,alas, all only too true, as I have known Renata and her family -as it reformed after they managed to get to the UK - for nearly 60 years!
I feel that the book could be used to tell todays young people what really happened on the continent during that period; that it is fact, and not fiction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You a Story: A Memoir of a Wartime Childhood (Kindle Edition)
Wish there could be another one of her memories when she is older. The ending just seemed so final. Hope there is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was born in the same year as the author and the contrast in our childhoods was so poignant to me it added another dimension to the story.this book will have an added resonance to our generation.
today's younger generation would also enjoy this and realise how lucky they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Me Tell You a Story, 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Let Me Tell You a Story: A Memoir of a Wartime Childhood (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book.
Truly unbelievable.
I couldn't put it down.
What an extraordinary life for a very young child to have lived through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent I knew the people in the story., 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we shoukd never forget what happened to these people during world war two and we should never let it happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving account, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You a Story: A Memoir of a Wartime Childhood (Kindle Edition)
This book is written from a different perspective to other books that I have read on the holocaust but I find the story equally as moving. A child's view of the war and although not filled with the horrors of some survivors of this atrocity it still tells a remarkable tale. Thank you for your story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Tale, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You a Story: A Memoir of a Wartime Childhood (Kindle Edition)
This is a harrowing story of life for a jewish child in war torn Poland. Very well written from a childs point of view. I cannot believe how this horrifying early life did not affect people in later life. This is the story of the mother of someone I know and she is a lovely person which is a tribute to her Mum who went through all this horror at the tender age of 5 or 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews