Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Few Surprises But A Great Listen Nevertheless'
'Teenage Kicks' is admittedly yet another of the kind of record company albums that re-compile a lot of the same old songs, put them in a different order with a different sleeve, add a smattering of unusual or lesser known tracks and then unleash them on faithful fans. This said, for punters young enough not to have known most of this stuff at the time, this particular...
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by Antony May

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Valentines Gift!
Bought this for my husband for Valentines Day, he listens to it in the car but unfortunately for some reason his CD player in the car will not play CD1 but does play CD2 and 3, strange! We can however play all 3 CD's on the player in the house.

A good CD all round, lots of good songs on there!
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by Jayne Newsome


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Few Surprises But A Great Listen Nevertheless', 5 Nov. 2012
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
'Teenage Kicks' is admittedly yet another of the kind of record company albums that re-compile a lot of the same old songs, put them in a different order with a different sleeve, add a smattering of unusual or lesser known tracks and then unleash them on faithful fans. This said, for punters young enough not to have known most of this stuff at the time, this particular collection is both a good education and a cracking listen...

Sure, as many here have pointed out, there is nothing here by The Clash or The Sex Pistols but I suspect this is more likely down to licensing issues than a glaring mistake by the compilers. Having worked in the music merchandise industry I know how difficult it can be sometimes to obtain official items by even the most obvious of bands due to the fact that many of the copyright owners want far too much for the right to produce even something like a small tin badge. For this reason, I am basing my judgement on this collection with a sympathetic tone rather than a critical one...

And so to the music...

Well, pretty much all of the material on all three CD's here is decent. Many are considered punk/new wave classics and a few like Stiff Little Fingers 'Alternative Ulster', The Chords 'Maybe Tomorrow' and Bill Nelsons Red Noise 'Revolt Into Style' were the kind of records at the time which did well amongst hardcore fans but failed to really cross over into the charts in any major way. Tracks like these make an interesting diversion from the bog standard expected tracks like The Stranglers 'Peaches', The Ruts 'Babylons Burning' and The Knack's much over compiled 'My Sharona'. Also nice is the inclusion of 'the other Secret Affair hit' 'My World'. Nowhere near as big a success as the also included 'Time For Action' its inclusion as a 'record that changed everything' is stretching its credibility a bit but it does give those of us who already have 90% of these records already a reason to consider buying this as well.

As with most compilations, the sound quality here varies a little and at times the running order and inclusion of multiple tracks by the same artist (some more essential and true to the title of this compilation than others) is a bit disappointing but overall for those wanting either a quick education or a trip down memory lane this is a decent set.

Worth investigating at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
B. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really surprised how good this album is. It brought back lots of memories. Well worth buying, value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
takes you back to the day, I would recommend this to all those who remember the 70's / 80's with fond memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speedy delivery.
Great tunes - most of them. Fab playing it loud in your car - it brightens your journey home from work.
Recommended the discs to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
I. P. Craven (merseyside england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service and great music, if your into this era of music. I personnally think this is the best era for music but thats just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars retro music, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fab music brilliant delivery no complaints great artists with great sounds bought it as a gift everybody loved it money well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My boys love it., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a wrap up for my partner at Christmas as we were both 70/80's children. There isn't a duff track on the three CD's (Not sure why The Jama nd Bad Manners got two tracks!) and its an added bonus that our boys also love it and we finally get to depose Ga Ga, Black Eyed Peas etc from the car stereo and claim it back in the name of proper music! Joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my dad and it did not disappoint. It is on all of the time. In the car, in the house, at work. If it's not on he will be singing something from it. Came in excellent time and a present I know that will be used until it stops working. Great song choices and a good mixture and variation! Very happy.

Will definitely buy from these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars back to my youth, 15 Dec. 2012
I think people of a certain age do this, c a CD of music they listened to 20+ yrs ago and sit listening to it and think of those good old days, Ya this is one of those, sing along if you know the words and yes I know every track, great for the car or home alone..... Ps very well priced and very prompt delivery too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Valentines Gift!, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my husband for Valentines Day, he listens to it in the car but unfortunately for some reason his CD player in the car will not play CD1 but does play CD2 and 3, strange! We can however play all 3 CD's on the player in the house.

A good CD all round, lots of good songs on there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews