Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matraca starts again.
Not one of her best albums, and I have got every one of them, but Matraca's voice is always warm and a pleasure to listen to. Even such a great songwriter cannot produce a winner every time. She is pretty close though. And pretty as well !!
Published on 6 Jan. 2013 by Stephen M. Bedford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Pleasant enough but neither distinctive nor memorable. You need to be a real fan to seriously consider buying this album.
Published on 16 Dec. 2012 by S M Fowler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matraca starts again., 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
Not one of her best albums, and I have got every one of them, but Matraca's voice is always warm and a pleasure to listen to. Even such a great songwriter cannot produce a winner every time. She is pretty close though. And pretty as well !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (MP3 Download)
Pleasant enough but neither distinctive nor memorable. You need to be a real fan to seriously consider buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Ian Christians (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
I discovered Matraca after knowing she wrote (and sang, see youtube) "Back when we were beautiful". For me, a country music fan from Emmylou to Caitlin Rose, Matraca has it all. Why she is not famous as a performer beats me. I will buy anything she records. This is a great album of which "My heart will never break this way again" is devastating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
Superb US country singer's excellent album.

Nashville star Matraca Berg writes and sings great songs of love and heartbreak, and plays
good guitar.

Excellent performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love's Truck Stop, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Terry H. Scarborough (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
This album is just fabulous. If you like real Country music, not just the Nashville brand that passes itself off as such, and excellent songwriting, then this is for you. It even features Emmylou Harris, Matraca's pals Suzy Bogguss and Gretchen Peters, plus her husband on backing vocals. What more can one want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful album from Matraca, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
R. Mckown (Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
I have to admit I stumbled upon Matraca Berg as a singer by an indirect route, hearing her Appalachian Rain on the compilation album "Singin' with Emmylou, Volume 2". Loved the haunting lyrics of that song, loved Matraca's voice, and had to hear more of her work. Got her older albums and quite liked them, but it was her two most recent albums that have made her one of my favourite artists. I particularly like the intelligent, poetic imagery of the lyrics in "Love's Truck Stop" that seem to speak out of real life experiences of hurt and loss. The instrumental arrangements are subdued and carry the melody without overwhelming Matraca's soulful voice. Having listened to her recordings I had hoped to see her at a session at the Bluebird when we were in Nashville in October but, alas, it was sold out. Someday, hopefully. In the meantime I look forward to hearing what her next project will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best songwriters around., 25 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. P. J. Vare "PETE V." (Stalybridge,Cheshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
Matraca Berg is known as one of Nashville's greatest songwriters, but if you can, listen to her sing 'Lying To The Moon' and you will realise what a truly great singer she is. This album is full of songs you will hear time and time again by other artists, but thanks Matraca for letting us hear the songwriter's version. She does a fantastic job of the Patty Loveless hit 'My Heart Will Never Break This Way Again' and some of the harmony vocals by the likes of Emmylou are an absolute joy to listen to. A MUST for any true Country fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loves truck stop, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love's Truck Stop (Audio CD)
Before last week I would have given this 4 but having watched here perform this live last week I now give it 5 as she explained the meaning of most of the songs and why she wrote them which gave the album a whole new meaning. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love's Truck Stop
Love's Truck Stop by Matraca Berg
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews