Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars production finally healed
this was always my least favourite Death album. i greatly disliked the production or was it the mastering?

this remastered edition has brought something special to this album and i have listened to it everyday since its arrival. now this album makes sense. it is a fine balance between the earlier "brutality" and the later technicality.

all the...
Published 17 months ago by j0nj0n

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Progression, but at a cost
I have a bit of trouble with this album. You can't blame a band for evolving, but the evolution on show here comes from the head not the heart. As a result, although the album is still very Death Metal, the songs are more technical, longer, and over-embellished. The changes of direction within the songs happen too often for a listener to follow without a little...
Published on 29 Nov 2006 by longdirtyhair


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars production finally healed, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
this was always my least favourite Death album. i greatly disliked the production or was it the mastering?

this remastered edition has brought something special to this album and i have listened to it everyday since its arrival. now this album makes sense. it is a fine balance between the earlier "brutality" and the later technicality.

all the elements sound good from the riffs and solos, through the gold of terry butler's bass and bill andrews' drums, to the vocals.

i wish my original copy back in the early 90's had sounded this good.

as a huge death/Schuldiner fan the bonus discs are a pleasure. to gain an insight into the development of the songs is a real thrill.

i sincerely recommend this remastered package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Metal Masterpiece!, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
Spiritual Healing from Death is quite simply a masterpiece of death metal riffery and tuneage. To me Chuck Schuldiner and Death were the leading lights of the Florida death metal scene and this record cemented their place at the top of the pile.

A great happenstance on this record is the entrance of James Murphy to the Deathfold with his classy stylings on lead guitar being the perfect foil for Chuck and between the two of them they create some of the most stylish guitar playing on any death metal record.

Thoughtful lyrics, heavy guitars, amazing drums, classy soloing and great melodies add upto one grade A album.

Essential listening for metalheads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 out of 10 for progression, 6 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
Spiritual Healing of the first four Death albums is probably the hardest to get into. This is a giant leap from the measured evil of Leprosy. But it is a good leap.
Death still sound like death metal on this, their 3rd album released in February of 1990. But this time round the production is very clean, and Chuck's lyrics signal a more mature approach to his songwriting and song structure. Rather than just wax lyrical about satanism and massacre, Chuck deals with some fascinating topical subjects.
This album may initially disappoint with the fact that it doesn't instantly roar from the speakers, but repeated listenings, like any good albums, show their quality. And over twelve years since, this album still stands head and shoulders over a vast majority of subsequent death metal albums. Highly progressive, thoughtful and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toned down but still heavy and crushing, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
If you're expecting the raw power and attitude of "Scream Bloody Gore" then forget it. This is Death's most commercial album, but this is by no means a bad thing, giving a clean sounding yet hugely battering sound. From the opening drum-cum-guitar riff, this record breathes controlled brutality from the outset. From the savage riffing throughout, to Chuck's fantastic vocal skill, musically this record demonstrates Death's talent in its purest form. Title track "Spiritual Death" features some of the most grinding vocals and riffs you will ever hear.
Despite lacking the sheer intensity of Death's first two albums, 'Spiritual Healing" is a testament to Death's rejuvenation of the death metal scene and the sheer passion of their music.
R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service from these guys too, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album, it's a classic! Great service from these guys too, couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Death, what do you expect?, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
When you buy a Death CD, you expect the best and that's exactly what you get, probably the greatest Death Metal band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
Great album like all the others, love all Death albums, can listening to it over and over and of course the art cover is awsome.
Top songs are: 'Living Monstrosity', 'Low Life' and 'Altering the Future' but really all the track are great.
Highly recommended to all metal fans and death and thrash fan especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Schuldiner hints at Prog aspects..., 31 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
Spiritual healing first came to my attention in about 1991 when I got a copy of 'At Death's Door', a Roadrunner compilation tape that included the track 'Killing Spree' (I think, its been a while!). Well, what ever track it was, I was interested as it wasn't at all in line with the other songs on the tape, with the exception of Cerebral Fix, which wasn't growly, kick drum madness, just plain naff and boring actually.

This album does truly mark the start of Schuldiner's proggressive interest in his particualr brand of metal, and leaves behind, albeit gently, the older repeated riffs, and simplistic horror lyrics of 'Scream...' and 'Leprosy'. The boy becomes a man so to speak.
Indeed, the lyrical content hits home on some very moral and diverse "real life" subjects. Cocaine Addicted mums to be, abortion, Evil Evangelists to name but a few. Chuck's way with words is blunt and corrosive, but some of it is still a little juvenile in its prose. A quick example would be from the track 'Low Life':
"Fake is a word you represent.
Your existance on Earth I resent.
At the cost of others you get by.
Each word that you speak is a lie."
He writes like this much less than he did on Leprosy, but its still got that Master Yoda tone to it.
Shuldiner's vocals are still that scratchy growl, which I have always appreciated, as its quite unique and on this very cleanly produced album, fit perfectly with the crisp sound.
The drums are just there to keep rhythm by the sounds of it, and don't dare to really make any serious impact by themselves.
Murphy's solos are very cool, before the days of playing the same very skilful, but very "Murphy generic" solo on Cause of Death and Death shall Rise, respectively. Here he was still finding his feet, and I'd guess trying to hold his own against the most famous man in death metal at that point.
My personal favourite trax would have to be 'Within the Mind', The title track (a head bangers delight) and 'Killing Spree'.
I have to mention the opening part of 'Within the Mind' never ceases to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. A wickedly brutal opening that breaks into that double time guitar gallop. Brilliant !
In conclusion this album is indeed leaps and bound to the good, over Leprosy. If it has one really big draw back, it the lack of any real stand-out track. They are all good, but it doesn't have that "Dead by Dawn", "Chapel of Ghouls" or "Pull the Plug". Nevertheless, its well worth investing into, and so is their follow up to it, "Human" a truly brilliant prog death album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is another must have album by Death, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. J. Maduda "Juraj Maduda" (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
This album became an outstanding one for many people as i've gone through all the articles and reviews about it. Feels to me they just struggle to understand it. Chuck had the great musicians yet again. I cannot help it but i have to mention James Murphy who replaced Rick Rozz on guitars and let me say James is much more gifted than Rick. This is actually one of the first three albums that are also often called brutal albums by Death. So this is the last one from the brutal era and in my opinion people call it outstanding 'cause Chuck experimented more with the lyrics. He made a right decision to push it all forward instead of writing the lyrics based on low budget horror films etc. that was done by the other bands. That is what made him and all the band's music outstanding! I just love the sound of the album. guitar work is pretty fast and precise, solos are great and sound pretty hard to play. Both Chuck and James use tremolo picking to play the solos. For those who don't know let me explain what tremolo means- it's using the technique of picking the strings with extremely fast intensity. So they both use tremolo picking to play the solos instead of pull-offs and hammer-ons which people must have got bored of by the time. This album is a "milestone" in Death's sound, this album actually defined the sound of the band that was always singlehandedly led by Chuck and nobody else but him as a main lyricist and genius songwriter. That is why this album appears to be a breakpoint and the biggest step forward in defining the sound. Once you play it you will want to play it over and over again. The song compositions are very catchy. Can't help it but i need to mention Living monstrosity as an example of Chuck growing musicianship and making reality to be a part of lyrics where living monstrosity is actually a child that was born to a mum addicted to cocaine. What you might find a bit disappointing is the sound of drums but don't get confused by the other reviews drums might sound monotonous but actually they match the music. If you are a fan of proper and true death metal this is another essential one to your collection. So do not hesitate and go for it- get it!!! Support true death metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a different approach, 22 Jan 2002
This review is from: Spiritual Healing (Audio CD)
This is Deaths' 3rd LP.
Mindless screaming about satan and his cohorts will not be found anywhre within this superb demonstration of intelligent, powerfull metal.
Apparently Death lost a few fans over this one, their loss.
This is a very strong album full of aggressive yet well written material. as far as I am concerened this is one of the best metal records ever to have been cut by any band, I say metal because some death metal bands are rubbish,Death certainly are not. For me all the tracks stand out but check out the title track, slow powerfull stuff with a cracker of a dive bomb and solo and ' genetic reconstruction, Chuck had an eye for the future. I hace recently read a certain metal special within a guitar magazine, this album was not mentioned, why I cannot think because it has been copied in so many ways.
Listen to it, especially at this price you cannot go wrong.
Jeff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiritual Healing
Spiritual Healing by Death (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews