Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great compilation
It may seem strange to want to listen to video game music but I enjoy soundtrack music to have on in the car or in the background and liked the first album, this one also offers a good variety of different tracks which simply sound great with the orchestral performance. At just 2.69 it's well worth a shot making it an easy five star recommendation.

My only...
Published 20 months ago by Johnmcl7

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but inconsistent
Overall, a good selection but somewhat inconsistent in choice of tone and tempo, and limited range for the money. Still some good pieces and a much underrated niche of the score composition market.
Published 18 months ago by T. K. Robson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great compilation, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Johnmcl7 "John" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It may seem strange to want to listen to video game music but I enjoy soundtrack music to have on in the car or in the background and liked the first album, this one also offers a good variety of different tracks which simply sound great with the orchestral performance. At just 2.69 it's well worth a shot making it an easy five star recommendation.

My only disappointment is there's less very old music which has been re-interpreted, the tracks I found most entertaining on the original album were the ones taken from the old 8-but or 16-bit days which had been converted from a simple midi to a complex orchestral arrangement. The newer music tracks don't work as well due to the originals being very high quality already as some of the music production on the current generation consoles is extremely good, in particular track 14 'Icarus' from Deus Ex: Human Revolution sounds like a poor copy of the stunning original and I'm not that keen on their choice of Halo tracks nor the mix they have used. I'm not convinced about the choice of the infamous Still Alive track from Portal either as it's quite a quirky track that worked well in its original form, it sounds a bit strange with a female singer trying to match the voice of the computer AI that sings the original.

Then again, for those that haven't come across the originals of some of these tracks it's probably a good introduction and certainly for those who haven't heard the Icarus track I'd highly recommend seeking out the original. Also I was surprised by the Arkham City track as I'd play the game but never really noticed the music however on this album it's one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 9 Nov 2012
By 
I. A. Eaton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw a review of this album in the "classical" charts on a competitor music store. Soooo much cheaper on Amazon and an absolute bargain at this price. Stunning arrangements, beautiful sweeping scores. Put the title of this album out your mind and just listen - Its wonderfull and certainly NOT just for games buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic beyond Epic!, 9 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Video Game Music Vol.2 (London Philharmonic/ Andrew Skeet) (X5 Music: X5CD118) (Audio CD)
One of the best compilations of orchestral music i've ever heard on a single album. Period.

That is all that needs to be said.

100% recommended to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A better music than the originals soundtracks., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Video Game Music Vol.2 (London Philharmonic/ Andrew Skeet) (X5 Music: X5CD118) (Audio CD)
Very nice adaptations of video game music!, Don't let the title of the games fool you about the actual music, it's better than the oiginals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Good, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This stuff is epic! Hoping for a third and fourth series.
Even if you haven't played these games, the music is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good cd, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Video Game Music Vol.2 (London Philharmonic/ Andrew Skeet) (X5 Music: X5CD118) (Audio CD)
This is a good cd for people who like to listen to video game music play by a orchestra. Like the last cd i only play it for 1 or 2 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable listening, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's great to hear another batch of computer game music. Like the first CD it doesn't matter if you have never played the games, the music is still fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection of Game Music, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Video Game Music Vol.2 (London Philharmonic/ Andrew Skeet) (X5 Music: X5CD118) (Audio CD)
I bought this for my teenage son, a gamer who loves music. It has become a firm family favourite. Great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but inconsistent, 28 Jan 2013
By 
T. K. Robson "tkr9" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall, a good selection but somewhat inconsistent in choice of tone and tempo, and limited range for the money. Still some good pieces and a much underrated niche of the score composition market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Video Game Music Vol.2 (London Philharmonic/ Andrew Skeet) (X5 Music: X5CD118) (Audio CD)
It was ordered by my son but I liked it so much that it is my new 'classical'.Ah ,those videogames,MTB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews