Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CALE STILL ENJOYABLY CHALLENGING, 8 Oct 2012
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read a review in Uncut magazine which praised this album and promptly dumped it with six stars! I read an account somewhere else which said this LP amounted to Cale's adventures in dance music.

The lack of quality reviewers for someone as important to the rock world as Cale is tremendously disappointing (but perhaps shouldn't be surprising). At time of writing, there are already two reviews on this page by people who clearly know what they're on about.

If you have never heard John Cale before, aside from his VU work, this is a good place to start. I'm a little biased because I've immersed myself in all of his solo work and aside from a lean (but still interesting) period in the mid-Eighties, I love every album.

But to try to be objective, it's fair to say 'Nookie Wood' continues the hot streak evident on 'Hobosapiens' and 'blackAcetate'-- while not as epic as the former, it's not as abrasive as the latter.

For those that were listening, last year's EP provides a worthy primer. I think it's one of the best albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lead In His Pencil, 4 Oct 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
John Cale was seventy years old this year and on the evidence available
on his new album 'Shifty Adventures In Nookie Wood' (just loving the title
Mr Cale!) he still has lead aplenty in his pencil. There's a vibrancy and
finesse in these twelve new songs which not only belies his many years in
the business but demonstrates beyond doubt that he remains a major force
in the contemporary musical firmament. The project has a blissfully dark
ambience shot through with flashes of wry humour and deft melodic and rhythmic
invention. His fine band : Dustin Boyer (guitars, synth and backing vocals);
Joey Maramba (Bass) and Michael Jerome Moore (Drums) cook up a hot broth of
gritty sound around Mr Cale's inimitably gruff vocals. The voice is in
remarkably good shape for a septuagenarian. The man can still hold a tune with
the best. Perhaps the most striking thing of all, however, is how remarkably
easy it all seems. A consummate musician blissfully comfortable in his own skin.

Of the treasures on offer (and there isn't a bad egg in the box) 'Mary' comes
very close to being top of the pile. A warmly articulated performance of a
truly beautiful melody; chock full of tenderness and pathos. A real heart stopper!
'Nookie Wood' is a another cracker. A squelchy piece of swampy voodoo, a tad
redolent of eighties Berlin Bowie. So too the quasi-psychedelic ebb and flow of
'Face To The Sky', studded with angular electric guitar and a strikingly focused
vocal. The faltering beats of 'Vampire Cafe' shuffle and scrape along with spooky
aplomb and the lovely 'Living With You' positively glows with warm emotion.

Mr Cale has been a constant in my collection since the Velvet Underground years.
With this terrific album there is every good reason that he should remain there.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this record, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nookie Wood is brilliantly produced - in fact probably the most satisfying production I've heard in the last couple of years. What Kanye attempts on Yeezus, Cale achieves here.

Nookie Wood is a kind of crepuscular, demi-monde alternate version of the world we live in today. The track Scotland Yard could be the soundtrack to the whole weird Snowden/ Prism story and presciently enough was released months prior to the revelations, and got associated with Leveson instead, which is fair enough. Elsewhere the song December Rains humorously makes mention of Google "getting on your nerves". But neither of these songs is dark or vituperative, instead Cale just appears to be acknowledging just how weird the present is.

Face to the Sky is a great listen at this time of year (as is most of this record, it's well autumnal innit). Slightly off-centre half-light atmospheric vibe:

"She is standing, listening to the wind
Dark is lifting, a face to the sky
A homecoming laughter swirling around her

Dizzy as a top on a chess board".

A great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it again, John, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Juan Guillermo Huidobro Rein (Málaga, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't remember an album (Long Play or CD) by John Cale that wasn't good, extraordinary or simply a masterpiece. I have no words for this artist, just I recommend this item for anyone who loves music. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Cale, 11 Jan 2013
By 
P. Rushton "OLD DOG" (STAFFORDSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very inspired album and one of his best, I took a gamble - never having heard even one track before purchase - the missus loves it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most rewarding album of 2012, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite being a long-standing Velvet Underground fan and having owned 'Paris 1919' for over twenty years, I'd never seriously explored Cale's solo work before this year. I'd found it to be the most rewarding body of work I'd come across for a long while. This new album is in a genre I virtually never listen to, but as with all Cale's work it's composed with great intelligence. Someone in a comments thread described Cale as an 'ageing hipster' but that's exactly what he isn't: he gives you a really smart and awake view on contemporary political and social issues. Switch off the news and listen to this, you'll feel well informed about what's going on in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still making his own path..., 4 Oct 2012
By 
Jmrichardson "Jaz" (MCR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shifty Adventures In Nookie Wood (MP3 Download)
Only listened to this album once since buying yesterday but this is an impressive, but not spectacular album from John Cale. Maybe this is the most impressive thing though, how many musicians continue to release good, strong albums into their 70s? Where most artists settle into trotting around on Greatest Hits tours and wallowing into nostalgia, how many prefer to record, not only new albums, but albums that sound nothing like thier previous work? Cale's working philosophy is one to be applauded. To be fired with the same creativity and pioneering spirit that he had 50 years ago is testamount to his originality and comitment to being an creditable artist, rather than a walking jukebox.
But what of the album itself? After reading reviews talking of a hip hop influence my hopes weren't particular high, but I was nciely suprised. The album is full of squelchy electronica and grubby funk basslines. His collaboration with Dangermouse sounds like a disaster waiting to happen, but isnt. Luckily, he doesnt attempt to rap though! Merely Cale dabbling with electronics. if anything it sounds like the Beastie Boys last (unfortunately it will be their last) album The Hot Sauce Committee Part 2, except with the umistakeable voice of Mr Cale smeared over it.
The standout track for me was "Scotland Yard". An odd and deeply weird album but original, different and fascinating. John Cale continues to be... John Cale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shifty Adventures In Nookie Wood (MP3 Download)
great artist, awsome album, great sounds beats and interesting vocals from cale as ever. exellent unussual poetic rhythm and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Cale's got a new fan, 18 Jan 2013
I bought this cd after seeing the man on Jools Holland. Amazing album- modern and edgy, yet easily accessible. Impeccable songwriting. Production is wonderful, he just layers up textures and you hear something new on every listen, I love it! I understand he's a man if many genres, and will be checking out his back catalogue! Love the tracks Scotland Yard, Hemmingway, Mary. A real gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

Only search this product's reviews