Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra releases it all
Just when you thought you had heard all you could hear from our beloved Babs... here comes this lovely collection of some of her hidden gems which for a reason or another couldn't be released at the time she recorded them. My favourite track is the Randy Neuman penned "I Think It's Going To Rain Today" but all the songs are worth more than a listening and an appreciation...
Published 22 months ago by arcid63

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars release me
I have always thought that there is a good reason why some tracks do not make it on to an album
this album proves that.
Published 22 months ago by N Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra releases it all, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Just when you thought you had heard all you could hear from our beloved Babs... here comes this lovely collection of some of her hidden gems which for a reason or another couldn't be released at the time she recorded them. My favourite track is the Randy Neuman penned "I Think It's Going To Rain Today" but all the songs are worth more than a listening and an appreciation. Highly recommended and hopefully looking forward to getting a volume 2, should Barbra decide to release some more unissued stuff in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streisand in her prime, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Having got everything she's ever released this new album is a coup as it reminds you of just how great Streisand was in her prime.Powerful, dramatic and very much the most sensational of voices in full range. I shall be listening to this for many years to come. I play all her albums regularly anyway and for me, this is a perfect companion to my collection. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra does it again - fabulous, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic album - beautiful voice. Barbra is the best. I could listen to her sing all day. Have waited for this album to be released ever since I knew it existed. I am not disapointed. Thank you Barbra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing barbra, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
i have every one of BARBRAS records
been collecting since i was sixteen, im now **,
what a fantastic album,home from the wiz is one of my favourite songs,
and to have the greatest singer ever singing it is a pure pleasure,
if your a fan this is a must .
thank you BARBRA you have made my life a happy one.xx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent previously unreleased material, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
I have bought plenty of Barbra's music through the years, more than a dozen different albums, some twice because I bought them first on vinyl and later on CD. However, I'm not a diehard fan and I don't routinely look for her new releases, so it isn't surprising that I missed this one upon its initial release. I found it by accident while reviewing a Larry Gatlin album, I was surprised but delighted to find that Barbra had recorded Try to win a friend, and instinctively knew that it would be worth listening to. So it is, along with the rest of this collection.

I see that some customers are disappointed but I fail to see why. Most of the tracks are typical of those that Barbra normally records - only the Gatlin song is outside her usual areas. Such songs as Didn't we, Willow weep for me and I think it's going to rain today are exactly the kind of songs most people would expect from Barbra.

I get the impression that Barbra had plenty of unreleased material to choose from, and if so, she wasn't exactly scraping the barrel. (There have been cases of barrel-scraping involving other artists, mostly dead ones.)

I am most impressed by the selection here and look forward to another volume sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Streisand, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
An amazing offering from an amazing artiste. Barbra never fails to deliver music and songs that are top of their class. Her recordings, spanning an exceptional 50 plus years, have been a constant companion through my life. Her "Happening in Central Park" album was the first that I ever purchased as a teenager. Her voice, her extraordinary talent is, for me, beyond compare. This cd is a joy - and the fact she she has personally picked these tracks to re-visit adds to this album's charm and delight. A must-purchase for all Streisand fans. You won't be disappointed! Thank you, Barbra ... and here's to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Being a big Streisand fan,to me she can do no wrong,A must for all fans.A great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
She is the best ever vocalist no need to say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant service, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
excellent stuff-cd came in great condition-almost brand new! Will definitely use again as so pleased. Cd itself is a great selection of outakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
I have been playing this 2-3 times daily since buying it . Streisand's early stuff is really brilliant and this does not disappoint . This is a real Gem in my opinion . I am an obsessed Streisand fanatic........I can never get enough Babs !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Release Me
Release Me by Barbra Streisand
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews