Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flylo does it again
This is a cool album. Full of sounds and beats with some great tracks. One of my favourites is Putty Boy Strut. Probably not as good as his earlier more hip-hop based stuff though but still well worth a listen.
Published 21 months ago by Sir Richie Rich

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive Disappointment
The promo track was the most amazing track I have heard in a long time. Turns out to be a sample of all the best bits in the album and no the promo track is not on the album

Very poor stay clear.

Want amazing music check out Apparat
Published 23 months ago by Richard J. Copley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flylo does it again, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
This is a cool album. Full of sounds and beats with some great tracks. One of my favourites is Putty Boy Strut. Probably not as good as his earlier more hip-hop based stuff though but still well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars future sound of America, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
AAAAHHHHH!!! i've just annoyingly deleted a relatively indepth, four paragraph review of this LP by accidentally restarting my computer a minute ago. This has forced me to be way more laconic than i usually am here, which may turn out to be a blessing in disguise as i do have a tendancy to go on a bit with these things ... Anyways on to the album. FlyLo ambitiously stitches together a diverse array of musical styles on Until The Quiet Comes to produce a mesmeric lattice-work of psychedelic wonderment; with winding basslines, stuttering drum beats, bright keyboards and pitch shifted vocals featuring heavily throughout this albums duration. Although that might sound like an unpenetrable and potentially alienating concoction on paper, Mr Ellison's consumate compositional skills bring all these disparate elements together, by filtering them through his unique lens of jazzy electronica much like he did on his previous opus "Cosmogramma". "UTQC" is an all together more apporachable work than it's predecessor though, with FlyLo choosing to create a lush soundscape of mind altering mood pieces with the aforementioned elements, rather than densely packing everything together to produce something as abstract and otherwordly as "Cosmogramma". Fans of electronic music in general should find plenty on "UTQC" to drool over, but those of you who have a penchant particularly for Amon Tobin's brand of Jazz infused breakbeat and/or Matthew Herbert's soulful microhouse will be especially taken by this albums three dimensional fusion of experimental jazz and multifarious electronica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Considering what he's achieved already, `Until The Quiet Comes' is quite some feat., 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
Flying Lotus (Steven Ellison) returns with a new album `Until the Quiet Comes'. Packed with 18 tracks, Flying Lotus is never short on ideas and this album will certainly keep you enthralled. As soon as `All in' starts you know that `Until the Quiet Comes' is not the overwhelming experience that the epic `Cosmogramma' was, this album is much more subtle and measured.

Apart from the OTT space-funk of `The Night Caller', there really isn't a bad track on `Until the Quiet Comes'. Highlights include `Getting There' with Niki Randa, an effortlessly cool mixture of creamy vocals, hazy chimes, sultry synths and lazy hip-hop beats. Its the snuggest piece of bliss i've heard in 2012. New directions come in the form of `Putty Boy Strut', a groovy head-nodding clapper of a tune, part playful part-nostalgic, busy and childlike and very addictive. `Electric Candyman' features a barely recognisable Thom Yorke, a dreamy trip of a track where he provides croaky vocals over some twitching RnB beats and deeper than Atlantis bass. The faltering bass stomp at the end of the track certainly wasn't expected, Flying Lotus never fails to keep you on your toes throughout this album.

Working with so many collaborators, Ellison has avoided the temptation to overindulge and has allowed all to work in equilibrium. The atmospheric `Hunger' has Niki Randa back on vocals again with another sweeping song with beautiful melodies and gorgeous guitar that whisks you away to another of Flying Lotus's delicious realms. The penultimate `me Yesterday// Corded' is another triumph, steel drum melodies underpin some ghostly vocals, the tempo slows down before a dizzying synth movement kicks in and just totally floors you with its upbeat mood. This track and many others are emblematic of some of the many emotional changes that Flying Lotus takes you through.

`Cosmogramma' was Flying Lotus's statement to the world of his talent, and boy did he deliver. `Until The Quiet Comes' is him saying `You've listened to what i can do, now for something different'. Flying Lotus harnesses so much of a varied musical arsenal that he can take things whichever way he wants to. It's a unique and fascinating sound, but its evident and to his credit that all his albums are different, `Until the Quiet Comes' is no exception with its soulful and languid celestial compositions.

`Until The Quiet Comes' is another hugely confident and inventive album, as complex and detailed as all his releases but definitely Flying Lotus's most accessible album to date and certainly his most intimate. Considering what he's achieved already, `Until The Quiet Comes' is quite some feat.

Rating 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I should have known better, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
I was a little put-off by some lukewarm reviews for this album, thinking maybe it was that inevitable point where a great artist starts to coast or something. When I finally picked it up, a year late, I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a great listen beginning to end. Well, that'll teach me. It is perhaps a bit more listenable than his previous albums, in that the sounds are a bit clearer and sharper in the mix and mastering. Does that matter? It's not a bad thing. I won't compare it to his previous albums though, just take it as it comes and it's a great modern day mutant hip-hop album, pulling in strains of all kinds of music from dub to jazz and spinning them back out over some great beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of all time, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (MP3 Download)
One of my favourite albums of all time. HIGHLY recommend, although if you are narrow-minded then stick to your top 40 hits. This is one for those open to experimental music. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic trip-and-a-half, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Richard Gill (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
I bought this as part of a gift voucher amount that I thought I'd use to push myself into new directions and, boy, am I glad. This is just wonderful, I know of nothing like it. If you feel like a bit of a trip into the unknown then try it. Far out - thanks Mr Ellison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immense, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (MP3 Download)
I can't claim to understand this album but it sounds like nothing else I've heard. Hugely rewarding repeat listening. Recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. J. Gaisie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
Thank you! The album came in good speed, good quality and the product itself is a great listen, although not consistently strong, nothing to be faulted here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive Disappointment, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Richard J. Copley (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Until The Quiet Comes (Audio CD)
The promo track was the most amazing track I have heard in a long time. Turns out to be a sample of all the best bits in the album and no the promo track is not on the album

Very poor stay clear.

Want amazing music check out Apparat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Until The Quiet Comes
Until The Quiet Comes by Flying Lotus
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews