Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT DRAMA! KENNY'S HIGHS...AND LOWS!
After watching this on BBC4 I just had to check for a dvd release.
The acting was superb with Oliver Lansley as the ZANY, CUDDLY KEN.
Definitely a contender for the BAFTA Ceremony!!!With this being released
could we have some more Kenny dvd's released as I'm sure this programme will
have renewed interest into his hilarious and overlooked talent.
Published 22 months ago by blackjack

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the full picture.
Sadly because this tale only really chooses to concentrate of Everett's homosexual angst and his relationship with his then wife Lee, there is so much more that gives the wrong impression or is left out. For instance looking at this, you'd think Kenny was an only child, when in fact he had a sister who was there at his death bed. You might also think Kenny hated the...
Published 18 months ago by W. Beckett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT DRAMA! KENNY'S HIGHS...AND LOWS!, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this on BBC4 I just had to check for a dvd release.
The acting was superb with Oliver Lansley as the ZANY, CUDDLY KEN.
Definitely a contender for the BAFTA Ceremony!!!With this being released
could we have some more Kenny dvd's released as I'm sure this programme will
have renewed interest into his hilarious and overlooked talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Possible Taste, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
This drama was first broadcast on BBC4 on 3rd. October 2012. It is an excellent biopic on Kenny Everett with a truly outstanding performance by Oliver Lansley as Everett. Lansley caught the quirky mannerisms of Everett himself, and of the parade of characters Everett himself played (Sid Snot, rubber-breasted Cupid Stunt etc). But he also portayed his sadness and vulnerability touchingly; Everett was not at ease with being gay and took years to come out, spending nearly 15 years married to female singer Lee Middleton, who, to judge by this, was incredibly supportive. Katherine Kelly was also superb as Middleton. Indeed, I am already running out of superlatives. Given that this was a relatively low-budget production for BBC4 and lasted only 90 minutes, the writer and production team did a fine job covering many of the most important events in Everett's life, including his many sackings. I burst out laughing at the Margaret Thatcher joke.

The whole thing had a wonderful music soundtrack (pity an album couldn't be released). The final piece of music incidentally was Puccini, played as Everett faces the final curtain by the sea - annoyingly not identified in the film or the final credits, which were, in typical BBC fashion, immediately squashed into a tiny box and spoken over with some fatuous nonsense about what programme was following. (The music was Puccini's Preludio Sinfonico if you want to know).

An all round excellent production, all done in the best possible taste.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the full picture., 3 Feb 2013
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly because this tale only really chooses to concentrate of Everett's homosexual angst and his relationship with his then wife Lee, there is so much more that gives the wrong impression or is left out. For instance looking at this, you'd think Kenny was an only child, when in fact he had a sister who was there at his death bed. You might also think Kenny hated the countryside when in fact he used to take long hikes with two good friends to give the various beauty spots makes out of ten. There's no mention at all of his later friend Cleo Rocos, his parents immigrating to Australia, nor how his friendship Freddie Mercury and even with his ex-wife Lee went totally sour towards the end. Maybe there was simply too much to tell? However, the plus side is that using Kenny's characters to help tell the story is a novel idea, and Oliver Langley and Katherine Kelly turn in two very good performances with the best dialogue coming from their exchanges. And yes - I must admit the ending brought a tear to my eye. Not because it was painfully sad, but because I suddenly missed how Ken used to cheer me up on the radio and how he was all part of my youth growing up in that magical time where the burst of creative juices in both TV and music seemed to make everything fun and possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over simplified but enjoyable, 20 Feb 2013
By 
S. Pinnegar "Dirty Chef" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
A well produced but over simplified look at Kenny Everett's life. Plenty of humour and touching moments as we see the comedian zoom through his life in 89 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Oliver Lansley is brilliant in the lead role as Kenny Everett . He gets the role spot on . He thoroughly deserves an award of some kind for this role . This film is well worth viewing if you haven't already seen it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good I watched it round again!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Condensing the life of someone so dramatic as Kenny Everett into just 90 minutes sounds impossible but it's done brilliantly. OK so there are omissions like Cleo Rocos but a biog pic will never please everybody.

The script stonks along, the directing is snappy and the two main characters are perfect. I'd have thought it impossible to impersonate Cuddly Ken but Oliver Lansley does it superbly.

I grew up with Radio Luxembourg, then Radio London and Capital Radio so I have a special affection for the man (in the best possible taste, of course) and this film brought it all back wonderfully.

My only niggle has nothing to do the the film itself: why are there no extras given that a lot of the people involved are still alive? Is it something to do with the fact that it's a BBC programme sold by ITV?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny Everett's life story, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Movie is done in best possible taste considering the life of Kenny. Great piece - respect! Movie was entertaining but it also managed to pass many deep thoughts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant. Kenny, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it big fan Kenny was so ahead of is era brilliant . Could watch over and over never bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this,if you like Kenny Everett this is well worth getting,a lot of dramatic licence as always with these things,well written,acted one of the better dramas of famous stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny Everett, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD] (DVD)
Received in Excellent order so thank you very much for a good DVD. Kenny was out of this world and what a good laugh to have and brighten up your day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Possible Taste: The Kenny Everett Story [DVD]
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews