Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Higg`s Boson,Field,etc,etc!!
This collection has made sense of the hype in a clear and readable fashion.
Some level of scientific knowledge is a requisite,to keep up!
The material explains the Physics and leaves one wondering at the co-operation and fascinating technology required to realise the Hadron Collider at CERN.
The infighting between Theorists is a light releif!!
Already...
Published 2 months ago by gilbie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just about
Starts okay but why oh why must we always be subjected to the history of quantum physics?
Would not buy again
Published 2 months ago by P. J. Roberts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Higg`s Boson,Field,etc,etc!!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
This collection has made sense of the hype in a clear and readable fashion.
Some level of scientific knowledge is a requisite,to keep up!
The material explains the Physics and leaves one wondering at the co-operation and fascinating technology required to realise the Hadron Collider at CERN.
The infighting between Theorists is a light releif!!
Already downloaded the next volume.
The figures are a problem as the Kindle won't magnify the notation!! Embarrassing to have to use a magnifying loupe,still have to accept this when stricken in years!!
Gilbertmuir1@msn.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the curious non-physicist, 12 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "John1950" (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read though I found it heavy going, mainly I suspect because of my failing memory these days.
I'm reading it as we travel around the UK and Europe in our camper so I find it very pleasant to read in the sunshine with a glass of wine.
Thoroughly recommended for the non-specialist wishing to keep up with or refresh general knowledge of sub-atomic physics. No mathematics needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just about, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
Starts okay but why oh why must we always be subjected to the history of quantum physics?
Would not buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastik help, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
Because I for 20 years ago discovered meta physic and quantum physic have the same behavior pattern, and the technical words can just be translate from one subject to an other this wonderful book was just the icing on the cake. I do wish I could come into the contact with the author. If there are anything you can do to help, please be in touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better structured, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
This is a good description of the state of the art, even though it was written some time ago. It is reasonably well written but it is often hard to follow the structure . There seem to be issues and explanations introduced without a clear explanation of why they are relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in search of Higgs particle, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
The story of detecting the Higgs particle by LHC is told through previous articles in Scientific American anticipating the announcement. A good introduction to Standard Model and the importance of Higgs Mechanism. I highly recommend this special issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compendium of Articles from Scirntific American, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. A. Parsons "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
I am still trying to convert it to PDF so i can print it out and read at leisure. I can't standle the kindle book reader and that is why i don't own one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Reading?, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle (Kindle Edition)
A collection of beautifully written articles from the paper and on line editions. Is it holiday reading? Yes I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Higgs Boson: Searching for the God Particle
1.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews