Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, beautiful, and very Unthanks
I bought the CD after seeing the show, and haven't stopped listening to it since. It is haunting, beautiful, and - more so than the previous 'Diversions' albums - very much in the Unthanks' tradition. They didn't release it until today because they wanted people to see the show with Richard Fenwick's accompanying film before hearing the songs. I was lucky enough to see...
Published on 5 Nov 2012 by Sarah288

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unthanks Experiment.
This CD is interesting but not engaging. Needs careful listening to and if you like the Unthanks then this is well worth a buy.
Published 23 months ago by Mr. Keith D. Elms


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, beautiful, and very Unthanks, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
I bought the CD after seeing the show, and haven't stopped listening to it since. It is haunting, beautiful, and - more so than the previous 'Diversions' albums - very much in the Unthanks' tradition. They didn't release it until today because they wanted people to see the show with Richard Fenwick's accompanying film before hearing the songs. I was lucky enough to see the show, and it is true, the combination of film and songs is unsurpassable, But if the songs are all you have, they are well worth having in their own right.

The film charts the boom and decline of British shipbuilding, focusing on the Tyne, and the songs that accompany it are a combination of contemporaneous songs (including Elvis Costello's 'Shipbuilding') and a number from Jez Lowe, whom I hadn't heard of before but will be investigating on the strength of this, in particular the sinisterly jolly 'Monkey Dung Man' which charts the malign and lingering effects of the use of asbestos (and like so many blighted lives, ends all too soon).

Rudyard Kipling's poem 'Big Steamers' is transformed by an ethereal tune and Niopha Keegan's air of fierce naivete from a tritely jingoistic poem into a song that raises the hairs on your neck. The one slightly awkward note is struck by Adrian McNally's foray into Steve Reich-style minimalism with 'The Romantic Tees' (which interestingly, most of the sleeve notes are devoted to - it doesn't warrant it). The only other nit I would pick is that while the show opened with an upbeat, optimistic 'Taking on Men', on the CD we only get the sad reprise from the end, which seems a pity.

Those however are only the most minor details - this is an Unthanks album up there with their best - and that's very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs from the shipyards by the Unthanks, 13 Dec 2012
By 
A. Carrie (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
Just love folk songs as they tell a story. this is my first one of the shipyards and it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Unthanks, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this album through a recommendation from a friend, I don't own Diversions Vol 1 or 2.

If I had heard this last year it would have been one of my three favourite albums of the year.

The harmonies are beautiful and the invocation of the working class North East in the lyrics is beautiful.

I love their version of Shipbuilding although I still have to say the Elvis Costello version with Chet Baker on trumpet is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one for a party, 14 Dec 2012
By 
psafloyd "psafloyd" (London (there's only one...)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
However, a great song for a journey or some quiet reflection in the vein of King Creosote and John Hopkins's Diamond Mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank bloody Nora for the Unthanks, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
I was waiting for something special from the "Unthanks" and I think this is it. I was not engaged by their previous diversions offering, covers of Robert Wyatt etc. It was in the category of that you might have had to be there to appreciate the banter and pace of the music, which as a recording was just so far set back as to be in me Aunt Fanny's parlour plucking a hooky-mat. But this is impressive. It captures the sound of industry in the river side communities (Tyne and Tees). The standout by far is "The Romantic Tees" an oxymoron turned into a love poem and a track that borrows heavily and rightly from the soundtrack of a film about the Tyne "Launch". A gem of a wee film by the way. I only have it on crap VHS but it still hits the memory recall like a sledgehammer. "Shipbuilding", the most well known song on this is different from Mr Costello/Wyatt versions people may be familiar with. It fits like a mitten! "Song from the Shipyards" is a great homage to a lost era. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb record., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
Once more , a delicate gem by the Unthanks. Evocative, elegant, impeccable. "The romantic tees" theme is masterful in its appearing simplicity. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unthanks continue to fascinate, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all of the Unthanks Albums currently on release. I find them fascinating and thought provoking. This album is haunting and a brief insight to the hard life of the shipyards. I like all of the tracks although "The Romantic Tees could have been a little shorter, Brilliant use of the piano ensures that this is an interesting album to listen to. These songs would be lost if The Unthanks did not make the effort. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, evocative, moving with a real sense of the past, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
The singing is just perfect and I love the sound clips from times past. The songs are mostly excellent, haunting, rather melancholy - a picture of real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy to've discovered this band, 30 Dec 2013
By 
D. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
The Unthanks were playing, I think, on Clive Anderson's Radio 4 Extra show about a year ago to promote this record (I'd just been given a digital radio as a present…), and they came across really well so I decided to buy it.

It's a very personal album with a firm sense of time and place, but I found it entirely easy to relate to. Their cover of Shipbuilding feels slightly out-of-place among the other compositions (not that it's badly-done… I'm just not sure it belongs on this album), which are immediately charming, and gain power and poignancy on subsequent listens.

A good album, from a good band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Diversion Album Series, 22 Dec 2013
By 
F. Mahon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards (Audio CD)
As good if not better than I expected
I have several of their previous Albums
Best of Diversion Album Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards
Diversions Volume 3: Songs from the Shipyards by The Unthanks (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
In stock on December 25, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews