Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable... This how a rock Video should be filmed with an amazing performance & Band!
It is unbelievable that this was filmed back in 1986 & by a so called eastern block "inferior" team this to compare with the technology advanced film people of the free west.
Queen are at their peak & their performance of one of the best I have seen recorded, The cinematography is at the best,the positioning of the cameras the editing with top notch...
Published 10 months ago by R. Ashton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETELY RUINED!
This would be THE PERFECT live Queen DVD if it hadnt been COMPLETELY RUINED by clips of the band doing mundane things in between many of the songs !!
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Justin S. Brookman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable... This how a rock Video should be filmed with an amazing performance & Band!, 14 Sep 2013
By 
R. Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It is unbelievable that this was filmed back in 1986 & by a so called eastern block "inferior" team this to compare with the technology advanced film people of the free west.
Queen are at their peak & their performance of one of the best I have seen recorded, The cinematography is at the best,the positioning of the cameras the editing with top notch direction here is just outstanding...I have a large collection of DVD / BD Rock concerts , I must say this is one of the best rock shows ever to be recorded & put out on DVD /BD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alive in Budapest!!, 9 Feb 2013
By 
John Miller "Northolt_John" (Northolt, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was fortunate enough to own the original of this film on VHS way back when it came out in I think Feb or Mar 1987, it came on the back of a very successful European tour and preceded by 2 weeks the final concert that Queen as a complete band undertook, which was Knebworth on Aug 9th 1986, I wasn't aware at that time that a Hungarian film unit (partly funded by their then state) actually filmed the footage, it's only now you realise just how far Queen's appeal reached, that it can actually influence the decision making of the parliament in Budapest to allow what would be deemed as musically beyond acceptable levels in politburos of other neighbouring countries of the former eastern bloc, thus this film is a triumph of art over bureaucracy and still holds true today.
The re-mastering is also a triumph capturing Queen in their only venture into Eastern Europe, who knows how much further they could have gone if they had for instance played Prague open air.
10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality - good audio track, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This wouldn't be my top Queen concert of all time, but I have to credit them for the mastering and audio quality. There is plenty of fine detail for a high iso concert and the audio track is excellent.

If you are a Queen fan, for 16 it offers good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's Hungarian Rhapsody - Live at Budapest 1986 - What a glorious re-vamp., 2 Oct 2012
I really enjoyed watching Queen's Hungarian Rhapsody at Edinburgh's Vue Cinema it demonstrates that Queen's music and live performances can embrace old and new generation no matter what age.

Queen's documentary `A Magic Year' shows the best of Queen through their `Show Stealing' performance at Live Aid on 13th of July 1985 to Freddie Mercury and Queen final live performance at Stevenage, Knebworth Park on 9th of August 1986 along with extracts from concerts from Stockholm (Sweden), Slane Castle, (Ireland), St James Park (Newcastle), the two legendary nights at Wembley Stadium, Maine Road, (Manchester), and the main concert itself Nepstadion, Budapest. The document is a showcase of interviews from John Deacon, Brian May, Freddie Mercury and Roger Taylor filmed in the spring of 1986 to promote their album `A Kind of Magic' and fore coming `Magic Tour'. This shows them as a tight nit group of people who enjoy touring rather than being stuck in a recording studio as show when they where recording `One Vision', the song that was a tribute to their `Live Aid' performance.

I would like to award this fabulous and glorious movie `5' stars and I hope it is also released on DVD format similar to Queen's two legendary Wembley Stadium concerts. As I mentioned in Queen Live at Wembley Stadium 25th Anniversary Edition review, I hope that release, re-construct, and digital re-mastered both Queen's 8th of March 1981 Argentina Concert and also their 18th January 1985 'Rock 'n' Rio' Concert in complete format for the Queen fans young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Queen Concert By A Country Mile, 15 Aug 2013
By 
D. Annan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After having bought first the VHS and then a bootleg copy I was absolutely delighted to see this finally being given the BLU/RAY treatment, it never disappointed. This concert is arguably so much better and superior than Wembley in every department. The only disappointment is that it's still not the full concert as it's believed that the rest were unrecoverable.

Originally made in order to fit into a 90 minute video which is why the concert has so many cuts in it. Notable absences include only one verse being played on Tie Your Movie down and the omission of Another Bites The Dust aswell as Love Of My Life being cut short too. Thankfully the full concert has been preserved on it's audio so the major bonus for me was the 2 CD's which accompany the feature DVD. My review of the concert goes as follows.

The concert starts as it means to go on as Queen begin by belting out One Vision and from that moment you even get the feeling today that the band have won your attention within just a few seconds. This concert has many highlights, not to mention the fact that the sound and picture throughout is stunning. Freddie's voice is also at it's absolute peek and unlike Wembley he reaches all of the notes including the high one in Bohemian Rhapsody.

If you've never bought or seen a Queen concert then this is the one for you. This is Queen's last ever tour and it's clear for all to see that the late great Freddie bowed out in style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem for Queen Fans, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a generally unknown Queen concert - the Live Aid and Wembley concerts are more widely known, but although it is from the same time period, it is a different show and a more intimate look at the band. Some nice personal moments are thrown in and add to the magic as Mercury and the others spend time in Budapest between shows. Recording quality and production are very good and I must say I am really thrilled that I bought it. This disc is worth every pound it costs and more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last of the Queen Magic era concerts., 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: Queen: Hungarian Rhapsody - Live In Budapest [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was excited when hearing the news that Queen - Live In Budapest would get the full a/v treatment from Queen Productions & Eagle Vision, afterall, i found the work on the other Queen visual projects to be excellent! For the most part the same high standards are continued on this disc for what they had left to work with. This show was edited in a major way by the orginal director in order to make it fit onto the 90min vhs format tape. These edits of the show are long lost to history. No finds in the vault of original camera negatives in order to restore this concert completly. I find myself not enjoying the single verse edit versions of Tie Your Mother Down & Crazy Little Thing Called Love or the missing keyboard intro to I Want To Break Free. Also we don't get any between song banter and Impromptu is cut along with Another One Bites The Dust. What was left to restore looks and sounds excellent! So im happy to have any quality footage of the band from the Freddie era. So all in all this disc is still a must for the Queen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It what it purports to be, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Rocks, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again another great concert recording . Can' say much more that this. Have you noticed my screen name !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETELY RUINED!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would be THE PERFECT live Queen DVD if it hadnt been COMPLETELY RUINED by clips of the band doing mundane things in between many of the songs !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews