Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product
Awesome product combination, fast delivery and fast processing time. The product work great with mac os x and the files and folder locations are flawless.... But a tip for first time users the keyboard shortcuts are those of the mac system, keep ctrl c until I ap c ..... Dumbest move eva
Published 17 months ago by Sam C

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Roll on Windows 10!
Pro's
---------

*** More advanced recovery options ***

Windows 8 has 2 recovery options for when Windows needs to be reinstalled & less intrusive options like a system restore haven't helped (for example when Windows won't load).

Reset - This option to reset allows you to completely set Windows to factory settings removing all data...
Published 4 months ago by Silvester


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Roll on Windows 10!, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
Silvester (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Pro's
---------

*** More advanced recovery options ***

Windows 8 has 2 recovery options for when Windows needs to be reinstalled & less intrusive options like a system restore haven't helped (for example when Windows won't load).

Reset - This option to reset allows you to completely set Windows to factory settings removing all data and settings. So this option is very similar to the recovery options found with most Windows 7 machines. The Windows 8 has an extra feature however which allows you to securely clean the machine to prevent any data being recoverable after the recovery has been performed. Be warned however this tool extends the recovery time from about 25 minutes to a few hours.

Refresh - This option allows you to reinstall Windows while keeping your files in tact. This works by rescuing any files stored within your usual user areas (Documents, Picture, Music, Videos, etc). This feature will often allow you to save your files even when you are unable to load into Windows to save them yourself. Although some Windows 7 machines have a feature where you can back up files before a recovery, they generally require some temporary external storage to store the files on and this feature is normally a tool provided within the manufacturers own recovery tool rather than built into Windows.

*** Integration of Microsoft Account ***

Some people will argue that this should actually be in the con's section as it can sometimes be a bit confusing for people who are not overly confident with computers, however it does have its advantages.

A Microsoft Account is basically an online account which can be used as an email address, to store contacts, calendar events, etc). Windows 8 allows you to tie this account unto Windows offering a number of benefits.

Having your Microsoft Account tied into Windows synchronises information stored on your Microsoft Account. This means that contacts, calendar events, etc are stored on your online account. This means all this information can easily be recovered in the event of your PC breaking down, you having to perform a reset to factory settings or the PC being lost or stolen.

Another benefit is that if you completely tie your Microsoft Account into Windows you can then use the password for your email in order to log into Windows. The major advantage to this is that if you forget your password, you can simply reset it through another PC, mobile phone or tablet that has internet access.

Con's
---------

*** No native support for DVD playback ***

Unlike Windows 7 and its other predecessors, Windows 8 won't play DVDs natively. In previous versions of Windows, microsoft had to have a fee in order to package codecs into Windows. Codecs allow Windows to understand different types of myriad. In order to try and reduce the cost of Windows 8, Microsoft have stripped these out. As such if you want to play shop bought DVD’s, you will need to either purchase the Windows Media Centre pack or download an alternative media player such as VLC player which already has the facility to play DVD’s for free.

*** Not as easy to navigate around ***

Many people argue that Windows 8 is not as easy to navigate around compared to previous versions of Windows. I feel the reason for this is that Windows have developed an Operating System where the User Interface is the same for desktop/laptop and mobile computers.

Many people struggle to access the Charm bar for example as this involves taking your cursor to the top right hand corner of your screen and gently bringing it down the side of your screen to display the menu. Where as on a tablet you can simple swipe in from the side of your screen with your finger.

As such, many people think Windows 8 is only really suitable for tablets and touch screen PC’s.

*** Completely different for Windows XP users ***

If you’ve been using Windows XP years, Windows 8 will probably take a lot of getting use to. I generally find that users who have jumped from Windows XP to Windows 8 often struggle to navigate around at first more than anyone. I simply put this down to Windows XP being so basic and straight forward in comparison.

*** Not compatible with some older Software ***

Don’t assume that all your old software will run in Windows 8. Windows 8 may not understand older programs where it was designed for previous versions of Windows. The tricky problem here is that it can be difficult to tell if older software will run in Windows 8 apart from through trial and error or a little research online.

*** Not compatible with some older Printers ***

Lots of people often assume that if they upgrade Windows their printer will work, no matter how ancient it is. This is not always the case as your printer relies on drivers which may not be supported by Windows 8.

The best way to check is to go to the manufacturers website for your printer. For most printers going back a few years the manufacturer will have drivers available for most operating systems - even if Windows 8 hadn't been released when you purchased your printer.

Many people also make the assumption that if they can't install their printer using the original disk it won't work either. However if the printer is a few years old there drivers on the disk may just be a bit outdated, so again its worth checking the website.

What’s the difference between Windows 8 and Windows 8.1?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows 8.1 is simply an update for Windows 8. You don’t have to pay for it - it was previously a free optional update for Windows 8, however Microsoft recently changed it to one that installs automatically.

Windows 8.1 is definitely an improvement over Windows 8, however at first glance, many users might not actually notice the difference between the 2 versions of Windows as most of the changes are subtle and superficial.

The main differences are as follows:

✓ The start button is back, however all this does is takes you to the standard Windows 8 start screen.
✓ Depending on your screen size, it's possible to split the screen between 3 or more apps instead of just two. Users also have more control in how much screen space an app takes.
✓ There is now an option to boot directly to the desktop upon sign in.
✓ The Search charm has changed a bit. It now searches the "Everywhere" category by default which also includes Bing, Microsoft's search engine. Instead of full screen, the search pane pops open from the right of the screen. Really handy if one is trying to follow on screen instruction displayed in a web browser or something.
✓ Additional integration of Skydrive/OneDrive.
✓ App updates are now installed automatically.

Is it true Windows 10 is already on its way?
--------------------------------------------------------

Microsoft have already released information about the next version of Windows which will be called Windows 10 (Windows 9 seems to have got lost along the way). It is currently expected to be available from late 2015 onwards.

This is worth considering for 2 reasons. Microsoft have announced that customers with a copy of Windows 8 will be able to upgrade to Windows 10 for no additional charge. So you could purchase Windows 8 with the of mind that if Windows 8 becomes outdated you can simply upgrade.

The other reason is that when Windows 8 was first released, many retailers offered it relatively cheap for a few months before the price went up. We may find that a similar thing happens when Windows 10 comes out if they want a big push to get everyone using their latest version of Windows.

Conclusion
-------------------

I personally use Windows 7 on my laptop and Windows 8 on my desktop. The only reason I upgraded to Windows 8 was because I managed to get it through my employer at a significantly discount rate.

I wouldn't personally pay to upgrade to Windows 8 at the moment as I don’t think it is worth it for the benefits it offers. I personally think I would hold out until Windows 10 arrives if I had to purchase a new PC or wanted to update my Operating System.

For me the fact that Windows are already talking about releasing a new Operating System suggests they know Windows 8 was a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Awesome product combination, fast delivery and fast processing time. The product work great with mac os x and the files and folder locations are flawless.... But a tip for first time users the keyboard shortcuts are those of the mac system, keep ctrl c until I ap c ..... Dumbest move eva
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who wish to be at the forefront of new OS, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Purchased an upgrade from Win 7 to Win 8 but for whatever reason it wouldn't work. Bought this software on the offchance that it might work and it did. I'm now reaping the benefits of the all singing and dancing new OS Windows 8. Very similar in funtionality to Windows 7 but wearing a much nicer outfit would be my best description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 for desk top PC, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
My desktop computer running Windows XP is only three years old but was becoming very sluggish due to having the entire contents of three previous computers on it's hard drive. The only viable solution was to back up (copy) everything and reformat the hard drive with a new operating system.
This is not an exercise for the faint hearted!
Once up and running Windows 8 is fine, but greatly improved by downloading "Start 8" an inexpensive little programme which puts back the start button and therefore makes the whole thing into a familiar and easy to use operating system.
There are issues if you are running older peripherals (printers, Skype phones etc), not everything is supported by Windows 8.
However, with a lot of online research, this can generally be overcome.
I think Windows 8 is really designed for touch screens, but runs very satisfactorily with the addition of "Start 8".
Finally I have achieved my goal, my computer now starts up and runs speedily again. All previous essential documents are now running on the new system, but I did lose all my emails.
Perhaps that wasn't a bad thing after all, as emails do seem to accumalate in vast quantities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the future, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
using this just now. kids love it and really easy to use.

quick and easy instructions.

happy with this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have had a look at this item on screen ..., 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
I have had a look at this item on screen, not yet loaded it up onto a computer as I need to do some slight upgrades but I am looking forward to working with Windows 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... and installed with no problems and is still working fine, 28 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. W. G. Grove (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Works as expected and installed with no problems and is still working fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
It is a good fast clean operating system which loads much faster than Windows Seven. It takes a bit of getting to use, but the system is intuitive, and is easy to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Had to return this item as its not compatible with the particular Dell I have, very disappointed. Mirosoft need to sort this out as there lots of people having this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7 with a fancy front end, but very nice!!, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version (DVD-ROM)
Having been a windows man since 3.1 I was excited to see Microsoft releasing a new version, though I have to say I think it's a bit to soon after Win 7, people have only just got around to dealing with windows 7 but having said that Windows 8 is very good.

If you have ever owned the current crop of windows phones then this operating system will be very familiar, with the pc version underneath all the fancy graphics and moving tiles is basically and unpacked version of Windows 7 and what I mean by that is every part of Win7 now seems to have it's own shelf in Win8 so do speak, everything has it's own tile for which you can add to the new start screen like programs you have installed etc which is much easier than trying to navigate the very dated start menu seen on all Microsoft operating systems, it's also nice to see that they have kept the desktop mode but it no longer takes center stage and not it can be selected via a tile on the start screen, I think Microsoft have made Windows 8 a lot more user friendly now than in previous versions because the system is pretty much controlled from the new start screen, of course if your like me and want more advanced settings then these are all here from previous versions of windows like control panel, my computer etc etc and of course if you wish you can add things like my computer, control panel as tiles on the start screen for quick access.

Windows 8 is the start of a new windows era, I'm very interested to see where this is going to, I love the fact that all my old programs, sound and graphics cards that I used with XP and Win7 still install fine on Windows 8 because some of my programs like Macromedia Fireworks 8, office 2003, Nero 7, Adobe Audition 1.5 are very old by today's standards because they were really meant for XP and the same goes for my very old but high end Creative sound card with it's windows 2000 drivers only lol but they still install fine on Win8 with out any issues, what I will say is that Windows 8 requires a newish pc or laptop to run it, anything before 2003 might not work because Windows 8 requires a Processor with 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2 and older pcs or laptops before 2003 are going to struggle as Windows 8 checks for it on installation and you wont be able to install it with out those specs "PAE, NX, and SSE2", so my advice is to check your processor specs first to avoid disappointment which to be honest you should do anyway before buying any new operating system, it annoys me when people buy Windows for their pc's and expect it to work with out reading the required specs then have the ghoul to slam Microsoft because they didn't do their homework first,
I'm certainly glad I rebuilt by PC last year to an AMD Quad core build because there is no way Win8 would of installed on my old Athlon XP processor, I did how ever install win8 on my current but old Asus eee pc 901 with the Atom processor and I'm pleasantly surprised at how quick it copes with Win8.

Ok that's the nerdy side of me done lol, all that's left for me to say is if you have Window 7 then to be honest there really isn't that much of a difference between this and 8 like I said it's Win 7 with extra's....but they are useful extra's and that win8 is a lot more user friendly which is ideal for the non computer minded, if you are an XP user and want to upgrade then Win8 is the way to go or if your like me "a windows fan" then Win8 has to be used lol "it's the latest and Win7 looks like Win95 it's yesterday's news!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Windows 8 32 bit OEM, WN7-00367, English Version
Used & New from: £85.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews