Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like listening to Tempo Impetuoso d'Estate
Reading Summer Storm reminded me of listening to Vanessa Mae's interpretation of Tempo Impetuoso d'Estate' on her album Storm.

From the sinister, muffled start where Black Seza looms, through the wild, erratic violin playing of the unexpected storm, to the spiky tempo of court intrigue, Summer Storm delivers a tightly knit plot that leaves the reader wanting...
Published on 29 Oct 2012 by Freya Pickard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good
I just couldn't get into this book,I tried .But after six chapters I gave up.
Perhaps someone else would find it more interesting than I did.
Published 10 months ago by Margaret Radford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like listening to Tempo Impetuoso d'Estate, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
Reading Summer Storm reminded me of listening to Vanessa Mae's interpretation of Tempo Impetuoso d'Estate' on her album Storm.

From the sinister, muffled start where Black Seza looms, through the wild, erratic violin playing of the unexpected storm, to the spiky tempo of court intrigue, Summer Storm delivers a tightly knit plot that leaves the reader wanting more.

The central character is Falen, heir to the throne of Variss. The only thing is, she is more interested in her scientific experiments (which would actually benefit her people) than she is in her royal duties. Her relationship with her father is difficult, made worse by his inability to forget that her mother has died.

The priest Nashir initially comes across as harmless; an intelligent man recovering from being half-drowned whose gods seem benign. But as the story progresses, his character introduces sinister undercurrents.

The tale is comic and suspenseful by turn. There is almost no room to breathe as storms (both physical and mental) come and go.

I really like the character of Falen. She rings true; an intelligent woman trapped in a role unsuited to her mentality. Her emotions are easy to identify with even if the reader is not au fait with scientific phrases.

If you enjoyed Circle Spinner and Other Tales, you'll enjoy this. And I can't wait now for Everwinter to come out so I can find out what happens to Falen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe suitable for younger readers than me, 14 Jun 2013
By 
DragonSandy (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
I am an old codger so please feel free to ignore my grumpiness.
I liked the idea and the story was told well (hence four stars) but I but felt the characters were a bit obvious.
There was a 'good' girl, a 'bad' guy, a 'grieving' dad/king and a 'nice' nurse etc
The bad guy was obviously bad from the start (the nurse was consistently nice) etc.
Not subtle enough for me, I'm afraid.

For this reason I'd suggest it would be good for a newcomer to fantasy, and/or a good read for a young teenager but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
I just couldn't get into this book,I tried .But after six chapters I gave up.
Perhaps someone else would find it more interesting than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling spelling, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
This book was so short it stopped it being boring. It was ruined by the appalling spelling and very difficult to follow because of poor putuaetion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer storm, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
Good exciting story with great imagination. You can't put
The book down until it's finished.....be warned, housework will not get done !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book is a bit slow, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
Story a bit slow for notwithstanding that you should read the book, I think this book has been written to support the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sommer storm, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
The book was a ok read for a shot story you just start to get in to it and then it finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent foreshadowing, 7 April 2013
By 
Jane E. Nicholson "Jane" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
It had been a little while since I had read the first Everwinter novel, so I wasn't sure who Falen was and I also couldn't be sure whether the monk she had saved was going to be one of the characters from Everwinter. Realising who everyone was and what was going to happen to them later sent shivers down my spine; that's how effective Baxter's characters are.

The writing is good; the plots are good; the characters are impressive - what are you waiting for? READ IT NOW

*I was sent a free sample of this work to review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
This only took a few hours to complete but it is a very good read indeed. It's onlu 80+ pages long but your drawn into the book from the start. I am going to purchase the next book as it sounds just as good. Well done Elizabeth Baxter, just don't keep us wwaiting too long for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively simple, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Storm (An Epic Fantasy Adventure) (The Wrath of the Northmen) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this. Short novellas like Summer Storm are a great way to get a quick fantasy fix when you need one. The story has an easygoing style that cleverly sets up a dramatic series of twists and turns as you near the end. At first it seems like the biggest of the heroine Falen's problems is getting some time alone to do her science experiments; then suddenly the whole kingdom is in danger, religious tensions break out, ancient legends come to the surface and...well, the only problem with the story is that the real resolution to all of this is obviously being saved for later in the series. But this is clearly marked as a prequel, and it's a good way of sampling what could turn out to be a big story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews