Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening
Judaism, as the author points out, has had an enormous impact on the world considering the number of people who practise it. This 'All that matters' book opened my eyes to what Judaism is really about, made me aware of the differences between Orthodox, Conservative, Reform and Liberal Jews, introduced me to a number of practices I've often seen referenced but never seen...
Published on 1 Dec. 2012 by Martin Turner

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars What is so different about Jews as compared with the ...
What is so different about Jews as compared with the rest of mankind? Not a lot apart from their religious beliefs and activities - and the consequences of those beliefs and activities - including the persecution they have suffered through more than two millennia.

Yet when someone starts reading this book they are almost immediately told (in the first sentence...
Published 3 months ago by A. J. Bradbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Judaism, as the author points out, has had an enormous impact on the world considering the number of people who practise it. This 'All that matters' book opened my eyes to what Judaism is really about, made me aware of the differences between Orthodox, Conservative, Reform and Liberal Jews, introduced me to a number of practices I've often seen referenced but never seen explained, and gave me a flavour of the key issues within the Jewish community.

I've read several All That Matters books now, and this is the one which told me the most which I didn't know. The most important part, I think, starts in chapter 4 with 'Living Jewishly'. Author Keith Kahn-Harris introduced me here to something I had completely failed to grasp -- that Judaism is a continuum of practices, rather than defined by belief. This is not to say that Judaism is inexact in its beliefs, but, rather, living Jewishly is more important than adhering to a particular set of doctrines.

There is a wonderful section of Jewish literature, music and films at the end which I may, in time, dip into. In the mean time, this was a hugely enlightening book which I enjoyed reading and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable introduction to Jewish history culture and identity, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
hbw (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jonathan Miller's famous quotation about being "not Jewish, but Jew-ish" might well apply to "Judaism - All that Matters". Despite its title, this book goes well beyond Judaism as a religion to cover many, if not all, aspects of Jewish history, culture and identity.

Despite its length (150 pages) and user-friendly format, author Keith Kahn-Harris manages to cram this book with an impressive amount of information, taking the reader from Biblical origins, the complex question of "Who are the Jews?", through the Diaspora, anti-Semitism, Jewish responses to the Enlightenment, the Shoah, Zionism, Israel and the place of Jewish people in the modern world.

As with all the "All that Matters" series, there is a list of 100 ideas for exploring topics covered by the book in greater depth including books, songs on YouTube and films that aren't "Fiddler on the Roof" or "Schindler's List".

My only real quibble with the book is that Hebrew and Yiddish terms are explained in the text, but not necessarily the first time they are used - a glossary at the back might have been useful.

I think that "Judaism - All that Matters" pretty much achieves its objectives and would recommend it to anyone who wanted an introduction to all things Jewish or to the background of the Israel-Palestine question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick guide, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice, concise and quick guide to the main points of Judaism. Whilst not giving the in-depth detail that some people might want or require, it never promises this. It gives you the lowdown on key points of Judaism and could be very handy for people interested in understanding more about this often complex faith which has such a long history. I know that when I studied GCSE (quite a number of years ago) I would have found this very useful, interesting and enlightening.
Perfect for a quick, crash course in the history of Judaism and current practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative and highly readable pocket quite, 6 July 2013
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This pocked-sized book of just 156 pages belies its diminutive size by providing a vast amount of fascinating information about Judaism and the Jewish people.

Clearly and concisely indexed, it's very easy to find what you're looking for. An explanation of the events leading to the foundation of the modern state of Israel is particularly well covered and described in a refreshingly balanced manner.

It's illustrated by plenty of fascinating black and white photos of everything from historical events, satirical cartoons and even Sasha Baron-Cohen.

If you're looking to learn more about the Jewish people, their history, culture and, of course, their religion, then Judaism All That Matters is a highly recommended initial source of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series so far., 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At the time of writing this is the third 'all that matters' title I've read. To my mind, it's also easily the best. As well as conveying in a simple manner much basic detail on Jewish history, tradition, religion and identity, Kahn-Harris gives welcome breadth to his account by including a more secular and sceptical notes, in addition to detailing mainstream and orthodox ideas. Another very attractive facet of this book is the inclusion of humour. The 'how many [insert whatever Jewish sect] does it take to change a lightbulb?' jokes did make me smile!

Whilst these elements make for an improved book, there are still some issues common to the other titles I've read in this series, with obscure terms introduced without necessarily being defined (the index will sometimes help you find a definition, but not always), the occasional lapse of editorial finesse, with oddly constructed sentences slipping through ('have started to rethinking [sic] the idea...' p.107, is jut one example), or what appear to be factual errors. In ref. to the destruction of Ashkenazi Jewry in the holocaust, Kahn-Harris makes a statement about Jews already ('by then') being in Israel when much of European Jewry was wiped out in the 'Shoah' (holocaust). But modern Israel was founded after (and in no small part as a response to) the holocaust, in 1948. Perhaps he meant the increasing population of Jews settling in the area. But that was then Palestine. Such clumsiness seems odd, especially in regard to such a sensitive issue.

As an avid reader of Napoleonic history I was interested to read that Napoleon, for so many (in Britain at any rate) only ever cast as the bloodletting bogeyman of Europe, whilst undeniably a warmongering despot, did at least extend some of the enlightenment thinking that had helped get him into power across his empire, his treatment of European, and especially French Jewry confirming this. But ironically 'emancipation' threatened to make the tough membrane that had kept this mobile diaspora together more permeable; in being allowed to be part of their wider communities they could no longer remain 'one nation within another nation' as one Frenchman put it in 1789. Another figure being lambasted in contemporary Britain, Cromwell (under whom, if we are to believe art historian Andrew Graham Dixon, conditions were like those under the Taliban) re-admitted Jews to England. They'd been officially expelled in 1290, having been bled dry tax-wise by Edward I.

Kahn-Harris may well say 'Long lists of prominent and successful jews are all very well...' Never mind: here's mine (and it's a heck of a lot shorter than it could've been. The Jewish culture I get most sustenance from is on the more secular side, from Woody Allen to Bob Dylan, via Allen Ginsberg and Phillip Guston, to Freud, Marx and beyond. And there are musicians and music lovers, like Dave Grisman, Blue Notes' Francis Wolff, the late lamented Dave Brubeck, Becker and Fagen of Steely Dan, hell, even the Beastie Boys, it's a long, illustrious and diverse list. Oh, and then there's the humourists: (I've already mentioned Woody Allen, but hey, let him appear twice... I love him!) from Gene Wilder and Mel Brooks to Jackie Mason and Groucho Marx.

Similarly, all the people ofmHewish of part-Jewish ethnicity that I've know personally tend to come from the most secular sections of that community, and indeed, to be so integrated as to not appear Jewish ar all. My wife and I were exposed to something very different when we lived near Stamford Hill for a while, where one regularly saw, but generally had very little interaction with, very orthodox looking Jews (prob Haredi, going by what Kahn-Harris says here). A more recent encounter with an aspect of British Jewish history was a visit we made to Waddesdon Manor, in Buckinghamshire, a French château style palace built in the late C17th, for Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild. The Rothschilds are amongst many of the very successful Jews Kahn-Harris briefly mentions in this interesting book. I'd quite like to read Niall Fergusson's two volumes on that fascinating dynasty.

All in all, a good educational read, very broad ranging and balanced, and whilst benefitting from 'insider insights', not so partisan as to be rendered redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What is so different about Jews as compared with the ..., 2 Feb. 2015
By 
A. J. Bradbury "Andy B." (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is so different about Jews as compared with the rest of mankind? Not a lot apart from their religious beliefs and activities - and the consequences of those beliefs and activities - including the persecution they have suffered through more than two millennia.

Yet when someone starts reading this book they are almost immediately told (in the first sentence of the introduction)_that:

"It says 'Judaism; on the front of this book and perhaps you were expecting a book that explains the Jewish religion:; what Jews believe, what they do in synagogues, what rituals they practise, But a book on the Jewish religion alone would be selling you short."

Sorry? "A book on JUDAISM alone would not suffice to explain Judaism"?

Personally I find this claim utterly ludicrous and unacceptable. Of course there are plenty of Jews who don't subscribe to Judaism at all, and variations in the way people perceive and practice Judaism. But those are differences between PEOPLE'S PERCEPTIONS, NOT differences in Judaism itself. And I, for one am certainly not interested in sociologist Keith Kahn-harris' personal interpretation of Judaism (which seems to me to be utterly invalidated by his opening explanation). What a pity the publishers didn't put that essential explanation on the back cover (for whatever reason).
Maybe they'll correct that error on future printings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not so much a religion more a way of life, 21 April 2013
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is another volume in the "All That Matters" series of little books bursting with information.

Keith Kahn-Harris has tackled this complicated subject in a calm and mannered way dividing his book up into digestible chunks although the largest and most difficult to digest is the prejudice and bigotry that spawned anti-Semitism in a world that should have been so much more enlightened. But he is fair and does not write judgementally : he is an historian and writes it how it was ( and unfortunately still is in many parts of the world)

He begins with definitions, the history of the Jewish nation ~ its problems and misunderstandings, follows this with a closer look at what it means to be Jewish ~ the rites, rituals, diets, costumes etc what it is like to live Jewishly.

Kahn-Harris has a wry sense of humour (perhaps a Jewish trait) and intersperses his text with examples of the great Jewish joke.

This book, as all the others in the series, is packed with references to further reading, studies on Jewish writing, film,songs, culture particularly books on the Shoah, Zionism and the new state of Israel.

Any student of the faith will find this little pocket size volume invaluable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy Size Little Overview, 23 April 2013
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is small compact book in the series " All That Matters", that includes titles Buddhism, Radical Islam, God, Human Rights, and many others.
I found this book interesting but mostly I think it works as a signpost leading the way to where to look for more detailed information on all matters Jewish.

I wanted more Yiddish, more food, more humour.
However there are a lot of good facts, loads of historical details and explanations.

Chapter headings include: Living Jewishly, Anti-Semitism, The State of Israel, The Jewish People today and Tomorrow.

I think this book does a great job of including a great scope of information and is really the book version of a bus tour around the town of Jewishness.
Definitely left me feeling I want to read up more on the subject, think I might try the Dummies Guide next, then see if I want anything heavier to wade through.

The author of this book Keith Kahn-Lewis gives a long list of books to follow on with, he also mentions five Jewish themed films "that aren't Fiddler On The Roof, or Schindler's List ".
A good Intro book, but to get your teeth stuck into the subject you will need to read more than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All is made clear, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
T. Russell "mug panda" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In 'Beyond the Fringe' Jonathan Miller says that he is not a Jew, just Jew-ish; this book shows exactly what he meant, with its emphasis on Judaism as a way (or rather infinite variations on a way) of life rather than a religious belief. Right from the start, when we are told that there are two versions of the Talmud, we are shown that there is no simple definition of a Jew; later we are told that not all Orthodox Jews accept the term 'orthodox' and that it isn't absolutely necessary to believe in God. This underlines the Jewish love of argument (which must be why there are so many excellent Jewish scientists whose achievements are founded on the initial questioning of the status quo) and what sometimes seems an inexplicable willingness to ignore major problems whilst quarrelling over minor ones - as exemplified by the petty worries in Klemperer's diaries in the midst of Nazi violence. There is an enormous amount of information in this little book, as in all the books in this series which I have read so far. Show it to a Jewish friend, and he'll point out where it's in error - QED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written book, enjoyable to read, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this book based on my desire to understand more about Judaism and the Jewish culture, not because I am a Jew but because I believe that 'knowledge is the power of a wise man' and understanding other cultures and religion helps to foster greater compassion and understanding for our fellow human beings. This book however is not about 'Judaism' per say but a comprehensive reader friendly guide to everything Jewish- including Judaism, Jewish history and culture. I recently attended an end of year Christmas office dinner organised by one my colleagues in a Jewish Restaurant, where I lent that meat and diary are not eaten together and as such there are kosher diary restaurants and Kosher meat restaurants. This was a concept I found interesting and my curiosity was piqued. This book is filled with little bits of wisdom and explanations on various aspects of the Jewish history, Jewish culture, and Judaism. The book is concise,reader friendly and funny. I gained a lot of insight about the Jews, their culture and religion and it was enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judaism: All That Matters
Judaism: All That Matters by Keith Kahn-Harris
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews