Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lucky Dip of 60s, 3 Feb 2013
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
I thought I knew the music of the decade between 1955-1965 pretty well, but this set contains some things I'd never heard of. Of course the title track by Ray Charles and tracks like Apache by the impeccable Shadows, The Royal Teens garage band hit "Short Shorts" and quite a few others on here are 60s gems whose over-familiarity perhaps overshadows their quality. But, what about some of these other tracks:

"Oh What a Baby" by the Tonettes - that is pure early 60s from start to end, so full of 60s that it teeters on the edge of being naff and cliched, but never quite falls over into it and consequently rates with me as a great discovery. Bryan Hyland's "I'll Never Stop Wanting You" - great slice of 60s balladeering, Gypsy Woman by the Impressions, Barry Mann's "Who Put the Bomp" (lost in the UK due to the Viscounts, as I now learn, inferior cover version), "Bertha Lou" by Clint Miller is a great little driving song (why was that never a hit?) - and so it goes on.

There is some painful stuff on here - did Johnny Nash *really* need to do that lounge version of Herman Hupfield's 'Casablanca' song "As Time Goes By"? But hey, this box set is a voyage of discovery and there's more good (or at least interesting) stuff than bad.

Sound quality is mostly superb. Good to hear such great transfers of Danny & The Juniors two hits and actually there's not a track on here that's lacking in the technical quality department - full marks to all concerned on that.

Highly recommended if you want to revisit the bright lights of this era, and perhaps probe some of its darker more neglected corners too.

Alan T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paramount Importance, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
A double disc gem from 'One Day Music' records, which is neatly packaged (but without a booklet - which is to be expected at this value for money price tag). The sound quality is very good indeed. This compilation is from the mid fifties label - ABC-Paramount and gives us 50 tracks that cover lots of genres; Teen Pop, Rockabilly, Rock n' Roll, Doo Wop and everything in between. It's a mix of well known American and British classics - 'Diana' by Paul Anka, 'Hit the road Jack' by Ray Charles and 'Living Doll' by Cliff and lesser heard tracks.

Cd 1. (59.42mins) Tracks from 1953 - 1961 but mostly late 50's early 60's. Apart from the well worn classics - 'I'm hungry for your love' by Danny Hill is very good, as is 'I want you' by Jackie Lee Cochran. Nice to hear the original version of 'War Paint' by Barry Mann instead of The Brook Brothers UK 1961 hit. Overall 8/10.

Cd 2. (59.11mins) Tracks from 1957 - 1961 but mostly late 50's early 60's. Great tracks by Ray Charles, Paul Anka, Llyod Price mix with lesser known arists. A couple of Doo Wop standouts 'Bring back your heart' by the Del-Vikings and Don't Laugh at me' by the Dubs. Overall a slightly better disc 8.5/10.

Overall, a well put together compilation with no added thrills or spills except great music. Highly recommened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
This is an interesting collection and that does not mean that I am damning it with faint praise. There's a lot to like here. There a number of tracks which will be familiar by artists such as Ray Charles, Paul Anka, Danny and the Juniors, Cliff Richard, Lloyd Price and the Shadows. There a number of of tracks which were hits in the United States but not here of later covered by Britsh artists. Early Carole King is of interest and Johnny Nash's version of As Time Goes By is worth the price alone. Well worth more than one listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ABC Paramount Story, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. J. G. Tomlinson "Johnny T" (London U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
All in all a good cross section of the ABC Paramount Label's back catalogue. The Packaging is well presented and this compilation will save many of us collectors having to play the original 45's. One Day Music are doing a great job of bringing us rare collectables and classics on their New Label C.D.s Keep 'em coming please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit The Road Jack - The Abc Paramount Story., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
This item was not as expected. However it was good to hear so many blasts from the past and I did enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for your dad/uncle, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
As in the title. Proper gift for your dad/uncle or anybody interested in the ABC Paramount recording studio music. Good price for the music inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome must have, 13 Sep 2013
By 
D. S. Culpin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
Great repropuction and a must have to any collection,bargain price to,this one went straight to the top of my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
My husband enjoyed this cd. A good compilation of music without breaking the bank! Will be recommending this product to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wishing........., 22 Mar 2013
By 
R. Nathan Merrill (Calgary,Alberta CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
great collection, do wish the inclusion of "THE DOLLETTS" & "DOROTHY MOORE & THE DOLLETTS" singles were here as this group became "THE POPPIES" and DOROTHY MOORE reached the solo big time with her "Misty Blue" single. A part of the girl group sound----perhaps a volume 2 will be issued ????!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hit The Road Jack - The Abc Paramount Story, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Moira May (Hull, East yorshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story (Audio CD)
These Records are very interesting & Relaxing to listen to and Enjoy! However the Titel Track by Ray Charles, Hit The Road Jack, sounds really Terrible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story
Hit The Road Jack: The ABC-Paramount Story by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews