Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Visiting an ancient time with an expert guide
This author is able to parachute you into a time so ancient it's difficult to even imagine the span of time between then and now. It is the second in a series of three and recounts the story of the great grand-daughter of the legendary founder of the kingdom of the two lands, which is now called Egypt. She is referred to as Mery in the narrative, and also the masculine...
Published 10 months ago by Ann Parker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a patch on others in this genre
Until recently this was a new historical era for me but found, quite by chance, neffertiti by Michele Moran and became hooked on Egyptian historical fiction reading every book I could find by that author and others. I came upon the dagger of isis during one of my raids on amazon kindle. I was impressed by the reviews on this and other titles by Lester Picker so bought it...
Published 11 months ago by s.cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a patch on others in this genre, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Until recently this was a new historical era for me but found, quite by chance, neffertiti by Michele Moran and became hooked on Egyptian historical fiction reading every book I could find by that author and others. I came upon the dagger of isis during one of my raids on amazon kindle. I was impressed by the reviews on this and other titles by Lester Picker so bought it and settled down in anticipation. I must be missing something because I found this book really hard work. None of the main characters had any depth or enough substance to really draw me in. There seemed to be large sections where nothing really moved on and I found myself tempted to just abandon the book I did however persevere to the end but will not be reading any of the other titles I had already added to my wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This was ok but rather have a good murder mystery as in Paul Doherty,s ancient Egypt. I don,t think I would by any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Visiting an ancient time with an expert guide, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Ann Parker (Indian Rocks Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This author is able to parachute you into a time so ancient it's difficult to even imagine the span of time between then and now. It is the second in a series of three and recounts the story of the great grand-daughter of the legendary founder of the kingdom of the two lands, which is now called Egypt. She is referred to as Mery in the narrative, and also the masculine Meryt when she becomes Pharoah, regent for her baby son. It's often said that a good story needs a good villain, and this story certainly has that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Picker shows a deep understanding of ancient Egyptian culture and weaves it seamlessly into his story telling. I found the concept of the story being told by the two female protagonists interesting - a clear reflection of the modern saying that `one mans terrorist is another mans freedom fighter'. Whilst the pace is not as fast as that of `The First Pharaoh' (the first in the trilogy), it is still a gripping story and I look forward to reading the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice story, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
very well written, good value for money, got all 3 books, story is intriguing and I liked all of the books. Not boring at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfecr timeline, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Different story line, easily identifiable royal lineage and althoughbread out of sync, still easy tonrelate to previous and past stories concerningvsame family. Despit similar storyline surprisingly comfortable to read and not too many royal lines crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Egypt's First female Pharaoh, 10 April 2013
By 
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (Paperback)
The Dagger of Isis is the second book in Lester Picker's First Dynasty series about the early pharaohs of ancient Egypt. The novel is set in the 30th century B.C. and it is about Maryt-Neith, the daughter of Djer, and the wife of Djet. She rose to the lofty height of pharaoh upon her husband's death.

Tales about women who rise to power in male dominated worlds is always of fascination, for it is clear that in order to do so, they must possess extraordinary strength and qualities. Of course, there will always be enemies who do not want to be ruled by a woman, those with their own ambitions, and this makes for plenty of good conflict.

Lester Picker has penned a novel that depicts the brutality and mysticism of this old world with all its decadence and romance, dangers and drama. It is evident the author has spent a great deal of time immersing himself in research to demonstrate the smallest details of what everyday life in this ancient civilization was like.

Nice, readable prose, and a compelling story make this a very enjoyable book. Evil, betrayal, intrigue, and a good romance kept me tuned into the story. This book can stand alone, but I urge you to read The First Pharaoh so you have the complete tale. It is historical fiction at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
riveting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dagger of Isis (The First Dynasty Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews