Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable adventure
Issues #1-4 of IDW’s mini-series featuring a Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who crossover comic is collected as Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2 Volume 1 (Star Trek/Doctor Who). The premise is fairly simple, the Borg, aided by the Cybermen, launch an unstoppable attack on a Federation planet. Meanwhile, in Ancient Egypt, the...
Published 19 months ago by Squirr-El

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly incomplete tale
This is a disappointingly incomplete tale, it is one part of a two part tale but this part seems somehow incomplete, its just the introduction at the very most.

There are a number of different styles employed in the artistry in this book, some more or less cartoonish or realist and a lot of it has impressive pen and inks, like a series of painted artworks...
Published on 24 Feb. 2013 by Lark


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable adventure, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Squirr-El (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Issues #1-4 of IDW’s mini-series featuring a Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who crossover comic is collected as Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2 Volume 1 (Star Trek/Doctor Who). The premise is fairly simple, the Borg, aided by the Cybermen, launch an unstoppable attack on a Federation planet. Meanwhile, in Ancient Egypt, the Doctor, Amy and Rory are tracking down an escaped alien prisoner. After successfully completing their mission and saving Earth from destruction, they set off for San Francisco in the 1940s for a rest. Arriving there, they step into a bar where they see an android in a pin-stripe suit… Back in the Federation, the Enterprise is visiting a water world where the federation is mining for rare minerals – and somebody needs to explain to TV SF scriptwriters the difference between minerals, elements, and just exactly what the Periodic Table means – where they have a little adventure. They recuperate by visiting the Holodeck, where a new Dixon Hill adventure awaits them; you know, the one set in San Francisco in the 1940s…

Imagine our surprise when the two teams meet up on the Holodeck, just as the distress call from the world under attack by the CyBorg comes in. As they dash off to investigate, the Doctor starts to get flashes of apparent ‘false memories’ that allow him to recognise races and history from the Star Trek universe. Imagine the Enterprise crew’s surprise when they find the Cybermen in the ship’s log, from the day’s of Captain Kirk – when he and his crew encountered the Cybermen and Tom Baker back in the Federation’s past – which we get to see in flashback. Obviously, something is merging/crossing timelines. Guinan has also received false memories, just like the Doctor, but vouches for his good intentions. The two crews then team up to investigate the situation, discovering that the Cybermen have mysteriously turned on the Borg…

This was an enjoyable story, the scriptwriters having paid close, if not obsessional, attention to speech patterns and characterisation, and the artists using detailed photo models – if not actual photographs – to get the appearances of the characters perfect, which does actually detract from the feeling of movement, as many panels look like still-life poses rather than flowing naturally. For the Captain Kirk episode, the artists have gone for the look of the animated Star Trek – at least, that is the impression they give, for I have never seen that version – which works very well as a counterpoint to the future story, and works well for Tom Baker’s Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beam me up Vworp Vworp, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this out of curiosity being a fan of both shows but not really a big reader of graphic novels. I was extremely suprised by just how good a read this was. It captures both shows extremely well, you can hear the 11th Doctor, you can hear Picard and as for the quality of the artwork it's nothing short of beautiful. I also loved the flashback to an earlier Enterprise and an earlier Doctor which is presented in the style of a 1970's comic strip. Took me right back to my childhood. A brilliant concept which is executed beautifully. Counting down the days to volume 2 in January
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whovians & Trekkies rejoice!, 15 May 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Crossovers between two world-famous properties are nothing new. We've seen them happen many times over the years, where the most-impossible, dream-meetings that fans have wanted to see...have actually happened.

For instance, Disney & Final Fantasy crossed over to produce Kingdom Hearts, Marvel has actually clashed with the likes of DC and Capcom, Spider-Man has teamed up with Batman & Superman, Star Trek has crossed over with X-Men; among many more incredible tales. There's been tremendous success with franchises crossing-over, and last-year the latest `dream-pairing' finally happened.

Doctor Who and Star Trek. Two of the most popular science-fiction franchises to have ever emerged. There's been so much fan-art, fan-fiction & ace videos on YouTube envisioning of what such a meeting between the Time Lord and the USS Enterprise would entail.

And now, it's official. Star Trek: The Next Generation actually meets Doctor Who in Assimilation2, an eight-part story boasting beautiful artwork and fine writing, both of which pays equal respect to both franchises, and brings them together in a plausible, epic & logical setting.

It's the usual daily dose of adventuring for both crews of the USS Enterprise & the TARDIS. Then the Doctor, Amy & Rory bump into Commander Riker, Data and Doctor Crusher in 1941 San Francisco. Actually, the TARDIS and her crew materialises right in the middle of a simulation on board the Enterprise's holodeck! As the Doctor & his companions acquaint themselves with Captain Jean-Luc Picard & his crew, they soon find themselves ambushed by the ultimate nightmarish alliance of the Borg & the Cybermen.

While Assimilation2 may sound basic so far, it certainly doesn't feel cheap or lazy. It comes across as a genuine meeting between the two franchises, one that benefits from an abundance of rich character-interaction, the best being the Doctor's brilliant exchanges with Captain Picard, Data, Worf, Guinan, Riker & Beverly; all of which range from deep respect & admiration, to hilarious! (Check out the Eleventh Doctor's interactions with Worf & Data, and you'll see what I mean!)

Out of the whole-cast, it's the moments between Captain Picard & the Doctor that receive the most focus, not only due to them being the main protagonists of their respective universes, but also because there's real chemistry between the pair. The dialogue is excellent, and their feelings of the other come across flawlessly. Jean-Luc in particular with his natural suspicions of the Time Lord (& his erratic behaviour), yet also accepting the mutual respect and comradeship that soon develops between them upon meeting.

All the other characters - Will Riker, Data, Lt. Worf, Dr. Beverly Crusher, Deanna Troi, Geordi La Forge, Amy Pond, Rory Williams - are given sufficient focus to shine and once again show what colourful characters they are. Truthfully, I'd like to have seen more interaction between the Ponds & the Enterprise's crew (it only really picks up in the last few pages), but hopefully they'll be more of that in the next volume.

This creative team have produced a nice piece of work, all-in-all. Scott & David Tipton (along with Tony Lee) have written this crossover most plausibly, acknowledging both universes as separate parallels, and infusing enough intrigue to reel the reader in. For example, how the Doctor can know who the Klingons are when he's never even heard of them before and how the Cybermen can be logged in the Enterprise's databanks, which leads into an absolutely fantastic flashback between the Fourth Doctor and the original Enterprise crew (Captain Kirk, Mister Spock & Scotty!) It's all so skilfully woven, and pays equal respect to both franchises & their fan-bases.

Of course, this is only the first volume (volume 2 collects the remaining four issues), so you'll have to wait to discover the answers to certain questions - like how the Doctor can cross over to the Star Trek universe when all parallel worlds were sealed off from him, and just how the Borg & the Cybermen came into contact. But all the fine pacing, rich-character, action, excitement & a surprise twist at the end will CERTAINLY make you want to catch the next part.

The greatest-asset of the book is truly the beautiful, gorgeous artwork by J.K. Woodward. His painted illustrations are stunning, vivid and capture the atmosphere of both TV shows. It's like you're watching an actual televised crossover, with so many likenesses captured perfectly. Expressions, gestures, mannerisms, the humanity of Star Trek & Doctor Who shines through on every page, most notably through the likenesses of Patrick Stewart & Matt Smith, and the excellent imagery of the Borg standing side-by-side with the Cybermen (watch out for the Cyber Controller infused with Borg technology!). It's breathtaking and it's contrasted nicely by the Sharp Bros. artwork for the Tom Baker/William Shatner portion of the crossover (which is bright and colourful).

But is Assimilation2 absolutely essential? Not really, there are more `perfect' crossovers out there, but this is still a very recommended read. If you're a fan of both Doctor Who & Star Trek, than this is for you. Even if you're a fan of only ONE of the franchises (I must confess I'm much more of a Whovian than a Trekkie), you'll still be very satisfied with Assimilation2, and you won't be sorry you bought it. Roll on Part 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make It So Number Eleven!, 14 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Star Trek The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I read a library copy of the paperback
This is a very good, entertaining adventure for both the Star Trek Next Generation crew and the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory.
Well written, well drawn/painted and very reverential to both products.
Approach this as a fan of either side and you should enjoy this collection, as a passing observer of both I certainly did.
It appears the characters of all the players have been captured very well alongside their photo-realistically painted appearances and I especially liked the clever relationship between Guinan and the Doctor that could only be established by someone with a good grasp of all the nuances of both franchises.
Annoyingly this is volume one only and ends on a cliffhanger but that's worth noting as I did expect this to be a complete story.
There is a treat within these pages - a flashback scene involving Captain Kirk's crew and the fourth Doctor which I would have much preferred to read and makes me hope for more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Assimilation Volume 1, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
On Delta IV, in the United Federation of Planets, Stardate 45635.2, there is an invasion - but this time, it's not just the Borg. But this time, a mysterious blue box has also appeared on the Enterprise - but has the Doctor been here before?

This is great stuff - the Star Trek universe has been captured perfectly, and the narrative and voices of the characters is spot on. The Doctor, with Amy and Rory are pretty good, and it seems right that they seem just a little out of step with the Star Trek universe they find themselves in. The storyline is great - with a backstory which features an earlier Doctor, and a cliffhanger which paves the way to the next instalment of the story.

Really, what more could anyone want? Star Trek, the Borg, Cybermen AND the Doctor! Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dream I Thought I Would Never See :), 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well lets gt one thing straight, I am still reading this quite literally 'EPIC' Sci-if Crossover of the century but I already love it!

It's just excellent seeing The Doctor & Captain Jean-Luc Picard interact, I hope 'Sir' Patrick Stewart & Matt Smith read this and enjoy it as much as me....better yet any of the cast of both these classicly brilliant TV Shows should read and smile with pride at what they themselves help creat. I knw I would be proud :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly incomplete tale, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a disappointingly incomplete tale, it is one part of a two part tale but this part seems somehow incomplete, its just the introduction at the very most.

There are a number of different styles employed in the artistry in this book, some more or less cartoonish or realist and a lot of it has impressive pen and inks, like a series of painted artworks.

The covers included at the finish are great but they dont all depict scenes which actually happen in the comic, or they depict scenes which dont happen as the covers suggest they do which is a little odd.

The action depicted in the book begins as two seperate tales, which then converge, in the Star Trek universe the Borg are attacking a planet under federation protection but appear to have allies unheard of or unseen before now, while the most recent Dr. with his companions Rory and Amy is battling through ancient Egypt and decides to travel some place for respite.

The characterisations are good, they have succeeded in transposing the most recent Dr. to the page very well, even some of the more cliched (by this point) and annoying dialogue (this is part of why I did not rate the book very highly). The same can be said for the Star Trek component too, it is very faithful to the source material too but also reproduces a lot of cliches.

The story of how the cybermen made first contact with the Borg or the Star Trek universe is not really developed, there is a flash back to an earlier (classic) Trek and earlier (Tom Baker) Dr. (roll the jelly baby cliche) but this is all mystery too, the Cybermen appear sort of weak, while they are an earlier incarnation they have no ability to kill with touch, do not appear to be very strong (Kirk bests one in a fist fight). All in all not making for a convincing context in which the cybermen have conquered the Borg and assumed the commanding position in the collective.

The story's cliff hanger lacks detail too, perhaps, along with the idea that the Dr. can simultaneously remember a past in which he visited the Star Trek universe and one in which he doesnt and knows he does not belong there, this will be explained in the next book.

I expected more of this book perhaps given that the Borg and the Cybermen share so many similarities, especially with the rewrite of the Cybermen's origins from being space pirates to a cybernetic "upgrade" on humankind or the Borg's evolution from collective to monarchical structure much like the Cybermen. In fact the Cybermen could be the Borg of the Dr Who universe and vice versa. I could have been better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, if you can suspend a few reservations, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Great artwork, slightly out of character phrases in places, but that's to be expected I suppose. Nice touch having the flash back to some original series/fourth doctor story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great mashup, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
A great mashup of two sci-fi greats. The Borg and Cybermen make the perfect foes together, and the story makes full use of the timey-wimey effects of Doctor Who`s storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy the crossover the doctor and the ponds and Starfleet versus the Borg and the cybermen from the alpha quadrant across space and time, who knows where the next part of the story will take us?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews